We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The camp is as best basic with communication to the outside world difficult mobile certainly don't work without a fair walk to the top end of the entrance.
The caravans although close to the amenity block health and safety becomes an issue as its via an almost unlit pathway.
The entertainment well don't expect much just two visiting acts during the week leaving the young troupers to do it all hardly fair on them.
The accommodation is at least tidy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    149
    107
    42
    41
See reviews for
289
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spent a week at Holywell Bay with wife and 3 year old. Lovely location, ten min walk to the beach. Clean holiday park but thats about it.
Requested new caravan, paid just over £1000 and got an older caravan but new to the site. Soiled underwear, newspapers, full of cobwebs, broken blinds and it had an unpleasant smell inside van.
Restuarant services were terrible. Used it twice and waited over two hours for our meals on both occasions.
Sorry Parkdean but this was poor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Growgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great holiday great park and facilities very child friendly. Pool great but lifeguards are a waste of space!!! Each one has a different rule to the other and to be honest its the reason we will not go bk there cos they annoyed so many families in different ways and due to the amount of time we spend at the pool because my kids are water mad I couldn't endure there crap again!!! The beach was beautiful, and wasnt far from Newquay town and other beautiful places. There was only one friendly bar staff ( mikey) and the rest were miserable. We stayed in a caravan one below the best grade and it was mouldy and stank of mould too which spolit the holiday esp on a night cos the beds stink if mould!!! Overall though it was a nice place just the caravan and lifeguards spoilt it for us

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been here for 7 years on the trot, the site is child friendly and I have noticed improvements each year, the best was altering the Clubhouse to enable meals to be served on a regular basis in 2012, they were of a wide selection but most of all priced to suit most pockets and extremely good qaulity. The heated Swimming Pool is open from 10 till 6 not closing for Dinner, a pleasant walk down to the Beach so no Parking fees to be Paid, Life guards on Patrol, Perfect waves for the Surfers.
Varied entertainment in the Clubhouse for young and old. The best part is no mobile signal so a peaceful time with no ringtones to annoy you. To get a signal you walk up the hill (called Mobile Hill). If you get desperate there is free Wi-Fi in the Club.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just got back from 7 days at Holywell. Overall, we and our 3 kids had a great time however, we left with the feeling it could have been so much better. I don't think I have ever stayed in a park with a better location, just 5 mins walk from the beach. In my opinion, Holywell Bay beach is one of the best in the UK, if not Europe. The sand, surf and the whole area is perfect, with lifeguards to ensure your safety.
Our main problem was the park itself. It has so much potential and with a little investment could be easily the best park in Cornwall. The facilities are just about adaquate. The entertainment was hit and miss, though the presenters always tried their best. The bar/entertainment area was always overcrowded we rarely got a table, when we did it was a 90 minute wait for food.
Such an amazing location, why won't they invest a few quid to make it as good as we know it could be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy7936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We travelled 11 hours as part of a family group to get here and the first view of Holywell Bay was a very welcoming sight. Check-in was straight forward and we were soon unpacking in our caravans which strangely didn't really seem to resemble the photo's on their web site(!) but at least were clean with plenty of crockery/cutlery although ours was lacking a frying pan (there was a lovely lady in Reception who was very helpful in providing one plus extra bed-linen when needed).
We then proceded to explore the park and wandered down to the beach (10mins walk, cross the road past St Pirans Inn and another 10mins walk through the dunes to finally get to the sea. It really is the redeeming factor of staying at the Park: the children absolutely loved it especially the stream which flows down from the land and was ideal for paddling in. Depending on the tide there are rock pools and side coves to explore and the Life-guards on duty keep a careful eye on the tides moving their flags accordingly - a simply wonderful place to spend time.
The Park has a launderette, Surf hire place and a small shop which does close early but there is a large Morrisons 5-10mins away for stocking up on essentials. The 2 play areas and ball court kept the children amused and the small indoor soft play one was great for the toddler. The outside heated pool with water slide was very nice but the kids were disappointed that so many of the machines in the small Arcade were consistantly breaking down.
The site isn't too big but it also has a touring park and therefore the Clubhouse is just too small to accomodate everyone - you had to arrive by 6:30pm if you wanted to have an inside table to eat or be near the stage area, we made the mistake on our first night of meandering across at 7:45pm and the place was jam-packed so we ended up sitting outside under the parasols in the rain eating our Pizzas which although were tasty and the best value food item on their menu was not an ideal start to our holiday!
Overall we really enjoyed our week in Cornwall going to the Eden Project, Newquay, perranporth and the local cider farm but back at the park apart from watching our Grandchildren enjoying the Starlanders evening entertainment - the young Lady who did this is brilliant we didn't bother with the adults version as it all seemed quite dated.
We thought the ground staff worked hard keeping the place tidy as did the repair man who made constant visits to my Sons Caravan to improve the TV reception and the Park is truly set in a wonderful part of Cornwall with so many interesting places to visit but I know that the money we paid for 1 week would have easily covered a fortnight s/c abroad so as much as I love caravan holidays I feel that Parkdean does not offer value for money - unless you were camping as then you get to use all the parks facilities.
We would certainly come back to Cornwall but would investigate other places to stay.

Room Tip: Caravans near the camp site are in a quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Family of 6 and a baby stayed for a week in one of the caravans on this site. On arrival the caravan was not the one that we had booked (we were given the name and description and a picture after booking) and were given a smaller caravan with less facilities we were expecting. Upon telling the reception this they refused to move us and insisted we were wrong. We then set about unpacking - where we discovered the dirt and filth in the caravan. The bin was filthy and the whole caravan smelt musty and mouldy.
The caravan we had been allocated was right next to the clubhouse. Imagine the noise coming from the clubhouse every night with a baby trying to get to sleep. When we asked them to shut the windows the security laughed and refused to help on many occasions, even after we spoke to reception and they said they would ensure the windows would be shut as the clubhouse was air conditioned (we later found out that in the height of summer and hot nights they refused to put on the air conditioning). The security even called mother in law a liar. They also parked their cars right next to our caravan (car park was literally a 2 minute walk from the club) and sat in it with engine revving and music on for ten minutes after their shift ended at half 11 at night. This just touches on the problems we had with various staff.
The whole week was ruined by the dirty caravan, the rudeness and unhelpfulness of staff and, as a result, a baby who cried all night every night due to noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank somojo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
19.1 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#7 of 73 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
43.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing