We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault the place, everything we needed and was very clean and tidy to! Evening entertainment not my cuppa tea but our kids loved Hayley and Robyn and meeting Sid and Lizzie!

Would recommend to anyone looking a a nice relaxing break at a good price

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Woodwal1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at this park and, as we are a family of five, we booked an extra wide 3 bedroom caravan. Upon arrival found this to be clean but very well used i.e seating had thread, bare patches, carpet was frayed in several places, toilet roll holder was loose/broken.We got to the park about five in the afternoon (long drive down) and while we unpacked, sent the kids (17,13,10) to explore the park and the arcade. They returned less than 2 minutes later, saying that the "amusements" offered very little in the way of amusement. So I went to look for myself and I have to say this area needs some investment/work as if/when the weather is bad and you stay on park, the kids would get bored very quickly - especially during bingo (have stayed at other parks and the kids have spent hours in the arcade on the 2p machines etc).
After unpacking we decided to go to the Ellenglaze bar and grill to eat at about 7pm. Found it packed and we were told that there was to be no food until at least 9:30pm, and then only pizza. The bar staff seemed new to the job and unable to cope with the very heavy demand as there were long queues. This, I felt, was not their fault but that of management by not putting on enough staff as it was the Easter holidays and very busy, The entertainment staff consisted of two Parkdean troopers who did everything from tots club through to cabaret with only one day off a week. They put their all into this and cannot be faulted, but would benefit greatly from more support. The clubhouse was small and needs updating - some tables where dangerously unstable and the seats were "mix and match". The stage was only visible from half of the seating as it is an "L" shaped building. so if you want to see the entertainment then you need to get there early.
The park suffers from no mobile signal and the on-site WiFi is not too good either, but not a problem if you go out and about. It's a short drive to Newquay and is a great base to explore north Cornwall, or just to spend time on the lovely beach and dunes that are a short walk from the park. Or even hire a wet suit from the surf academy on site and ride the waves.
All in all Holywell Bay is a lovely place to holiday, it's a shame that the park facilities are inadequate and dated. This I feel is Parkdean`s fault and not the staff who do the best they can with what they have and are friendly and helpful in every manner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaurien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I go to this place every year atleast twice, camping and in a caravan. The local beach is amazing, there is lovely walks nearby on the cliff tops, the staff are always extremely helpful, the showers and toilets for camping are always clean! I love it and would recommend it to everyone! The caravans are a nice size and always clean and tidy.overall I have nothing to complain about! The fun park is always a good trip too!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jessicasmithxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from our third stay on this park, in a bungalow again as refuse to stay in caravans on any park again as too small and cold! Find the bungalows good, central heating and plenty of room. Ours this year was once again clean and perfectly adequate. As others have said there is no mobile or wifi signal but we tend not to stay there during the day so not really any problem and the free wifi in the club is no use whatsoever so didnt get much use from that.
As usual with all holiday parks the club house was woefully inadequate and the only way to guarantee a table was to get there by about 6.00 at the latest. We only tend to use it as we have a seven year old who loves the childrens entertainment otherwise we would go out to nearby pubs in the evenings to eat. We did go out one evening to the pub down on the beach which was okay. Food was quite nice and wasnt too busy.
Not much on the site in the way of entertainment other than an outdoor pool (which wasnt open yet, though we did know that beforehand) and a couple of climbing frames plus a small soft play room. But as we go out and about, this wasnt much of a problem.
All was clean and tidy and when we requested a mirror for the bathroom, one had been provided by the time we returned.
I have to say i felt really sorry for the staff, most of them were lovely, really helpful and friendly but they were really overstretched!
The entertainment 'team' was two girls who worked six days a week. They were on from the tots club in the morning and through the day to the kids entertainment, the bingo and even singing in the evening. They were very enthusiastic (thanks hayley and robyn) but must have been exhausted! The bar and food staff were understaffed too, the lady who did the gift shop was off sick so no gift shop unless one of the ladies managed to open it for ten minutes ( though that may be no bad thing!!)
The bar had queues, the food wait could be quite long but the staff were all lovely. One night the kitchen got so swamped they stopped food orders and there was a lot of complaining at the poor staff which was not their fault, there simply were not enough of them.
I could not believe the site was so understaffed given it was the easter holidays, and obviously busy, not off peak.
Will use again as long as we can get one of the bungalows as we know its good and bad points and it does have a lovely beach.
Have rated service as very good due to the helpful, friendly attitude of the staff
Have rated value as very good as booked ahead and got a good price and a bungalow not a caravan

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our particular caravan was a two berth. Very clean and located next to children's play area. Great to give grand daughter enough freedom but still be able to see her and her to see us! Security man was really friendly and chatty. Staff in the Nisa shop very friendly and informative about good deals at local attractions. (Check out local newspaper for deals, as well as picking up Cornwall information pack in reception area for discounts). Good value for money, the beach is a short walk away and is really clean. Area situated. About 15 or so minute drive from Newquay and a 40 minute drive from Eden project.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of five in the kelsey caravan. Great for what we wanted. A small site but has a well stocked shop. Food was good in the Ellenglaze bar and drinks reasonably priced. Entertainment could of been a bit better our daughters enjoyed the Tuesday night when there was a male entertainer he was funny and great with the kids! Bar staff were all new so a little slow and there were queues quite often to get a drink which was a little annoying. We walked to the beach from the park which was a nice 5 min walk. Slightly annoying that there was no phone signal on site and wifi was very slow but this didn't bother us to much. We spent a lot of time off site. Would possible cone again but would like to visit some of the other parkdean parks near by first! )

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our caravan was clean and nicely located near the touring site. Club house is small and we feel it would be quite cramped if the site is full. Ideally located near to the beach, plenty of good places to eat in the area.
Staff where very friendly and helpful, the grounds are well maintained.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 79 in Newquay
454 reviews
3.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing