We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the holiday was great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
leeds
1 review
“the holiday was great”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

this holiday was worth waiting for. this was our 1st time with park dean holidays. the beach was a short walk away. st pirran inn was lovely to go to-child and pet friendly(food was lovely). the caravan park was very nice. just the nightly entertainment was a bit boring for all my kids apart from my 1yo. the staff were very helpful and friendly. anything that hadn't been supplied in our caravan for us they would deliver to us on site.
the takeaway wasn't very nice-only used it twice.
will be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    152
    109
    42
    40
See reviews for
293
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I would have really loved to give this caravan park a better rating than average, but the on site facilities and lack of entertainment really got in the way!

We booked this as another of our £9.50 Sun holidays but decided to try a Parkdean instead of our usual Haven sites. The check in was really quick and our caravan was ready when we got there at 2pm rather than the 4pm check in time. The caravan we were placed in was overlooking the childrens park which was really nice and the caravan itself was clean and had central heating.

The caravan park is small with a shop, take away and small club. That's about it really! Oh and an outside pool which we knew about anyway so wasn't a big shock to us that it was closed during our holiday. We got food from the takeaway twice during our stay and had no problems with it, but the big let down for us was the evening entertainment. If you're like us and enjoy a night out when you're away then this is not the place for you. It was absolutely dire!!! Not a patch on a Haven entertainment programme. Most of the night consisted of the "funstars" making crap jokes (no one laughing!) or making absolute jokes of themselves! The kids there didn't look happy at all. And when they started singing we left! they had 2 nights of "bought in" entertainment which were better but only on for an hour and half tops!

It's a shame really as the location is perfect for the great beach and a good base to see lovely Cornwall. I would suggest an indoor pool and better evening entertainment to make this site worth visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmis_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

we have been going to this park every summer for rhge past seven years the staff are freinds of ours now we send christmas cards its a great site with great staff they allways make our stay fun we travel 600 miles from scotland every year fatastic we are booked for 2009
see you soon guys
the richardsons from scotland

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at Holywell Bay for 10 nights commencing the end of May 2008. Although apprehensive because our last stay in a caravan park was a disaster we were encouraged by the reviews of this site. Although the site is small/medium in size it had everything we required for a great holiday. Our caravan (Sennen) overlooked the childrens play area so we could keep an eye on our 2 girls who loved playing there. The caravan was 50- 100 yards away from the shop and evening entertainment. The glorious beach is 5-10 minutes walk away with a pub ideally situated in between (St Pirans Inn...Fantastic food) On site is an outdoor pool with slide and a 5 a side football pitch/basketball court. Just off the site is a fun park with go-karts etc and 18 hole golf couse plus full size 18 hole pitch and putt. We had great days out in Padstow (Go to Rick Stein's Fish and Chip shop!!) and also St Michaels Mount. In 10 days we visited a variety of places and did not have 1 bad meal. Great place in a great location.

  • Liked — Comfort/Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maswai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Just back from a short stay at Holywell Bay Park. Arrived at 1pm but was told that we were early and to come back at 3.30pm. The caravan was quite dated and unfortunately for us was situated directly infront of the entertainment, had we been staying longer we would of asked to have been moved as the teenagers were up very late making lots of noise!(Thought they would of been at school?)

The shop closed early as well as over the lunchtime so be warned to get what u need whilst out!

There are a couple of pubs which did nice food accessible from the beach road, but there is no lighting so take a torch for the walk back.

The beach is lovely well worth the walk over the sanddune, which is the only place that we could get signalls on our mobile phones other than that you have to drive out of Holywell bay!

We would return but only in a more updated caravan and far away from the entertainment!

  • Liked — The beach close by
  • Disliked — The dated caravan
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MKCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We arrived at Holywell Bay 2 hours before our booking in time and was presented with the keys for the caraven, firstly the staff were very polite and friendly. We have stayed at Haven caravans for the last two years and found the caravan here far better, nothing missing, no bad smells. The club on site was brilliant with great entertainment for young and old, the pool is outside with a slide and was clean and warm, there is a short 10 minute walk to the beach but it is well worth it as it has everything a beach can offer, lifeguards are always watching, rockpools, surfing, lovely walks and sand dunes that kids were going down with sledges. For eating there are a number of pubs close to the site that we found very reasonable and enjoyable, as for what to do, there are a number of attractions near by and Newquay is only 15 mins away, St Ives took us 40 mins to get to, and Lands End took just over an hour, one bit of advice is when visiting St Ives, take the train from St Erth as parking in St Ives is terrible.
All in all a brilliant holiday and will be coming back next year.

  • Liked — cleanliness,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbobaggins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

It was our first time staying on a Park Dean Holiday Park having stayed with Haven Holidays in North Wales in the past we didn't know what to expect and was happily surprised. I went with my mother and two children aged 3 1/2 and 2 years 4 months for one week . The site is small, and though there is no indoor swimming pool they do have an outside pool and slide (we didn't experience this as it opened as we were leaving) and also there is a swimming pool located at Hendra Holiday Park where you can pay to enter and was only £10.00 for all of us all day with a lovely childrens pool, we did try the Water World though this was closed when we went for school lessons.

We had requested a Delabole caravan so that the bedrooms were heated which was great as it got quite cold on the night. The caravans are what they are, clean though used. We were told that this was one of the better caravans. All caravans are quite close with parking along side, there are 2 small parks one outside the bar and one in the middle of the caravans our kids used both and loved to climb them.

One small note of caution, there is a stream that runs behind the out skirts of the caravans very idyllic , we were placed in one of these caravans and at first thought wow lovely spot great for the kids to play outside the caravan and just by the park, however we then noticed a sign saying "danger deep water" and though fenced off at the back of the caravan our little boy would have just climbed through it to explore and we were later told that in heavy rain the water rises quite rapidly. Anyway I decided it best that we moved not wanting to risk accidents and they obliged moving us closer to the club which was fine though on a bend! the little ones never went out of the van without us anyway.

There is a beach only 10 minutes walk if that through the park past the pub and you are there! we only went once due to the weather but what a beautiful place, sand and very fine shingle with dunes and a sea brook so the kids can paddle when the sea is out, My daughter loved it and cried when it was time to go!.

The club entertainers where brilliant and tried there best to please everyone and were very good for a small site infact the best I have seen so well done to them. They had outside entertainers also for the adults later on. Get your young ones there early for the dancing and such around 6.30 pm.

There is a small shop which was well stocked and friendly and not expensive, a surf shop. A very small arcade and the ball park isn't worth mentioning so forget that. The staff in reception were helpful and gave us lots of tips to travel out.

For small and younger ones go to the Dairy Land Farm - Brilliant and you get a return trip free if you pay the full day and not with a money off voucher. There are sand pits, trampolines, everything it says in the leaflet also Cows! and you get to see them being milked an eye opening for us all.

The site is a great base for exploring and there are lots of bays and little villages but don't forget the beach on the doorstep it is lovely and the pub has its own sand pit too so you can have a drink, bite to eat whilst the little ones play.
As the sitet is quite small I would be interested to know what it would be like later on in the season and if it got quite load. It isn't good for teenagers only if wanting it as a base. Hope this helps, we would go back and are trying Challaborough Bay, Devon in June with the same company.

  • Liked — Clean, warm.
  • Disliked — On a Bend
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smilersu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
19.1 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
43.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing