We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, hopefully going again next year!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Lancashire
1 review
“Brilliant, hopefully going again next year!”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My partner, his 5 year old and i have just returned from 7 nights at Holywell Bay, run by Parkdean Holidays and its was our first family holiday and it was totally worth the travel and money. We stayed in a Trevose caravan, listed as 'new for 2009' and it was clean, spacious and everything we could ask for. It even had central heating and double glazing that wasn't listed in the description. Bonus!
The park itself was fairly small, with the outdoor pool, two arcades, small shop, entertainment facilities and a take-away. It did have two small adventure play areas which the 5 year old loved.
The beach is a stones throw away and is beautiful, and the pub which you walk past to get there does excellent pub food, reasonably priced too, which was good as the downfall of the caravan site was the fact that it only had a take-away and it was expensive! 2 pizzas, 2 chips n onion rings coming to over £22!
The entertainment for the 5 year old was excellent, the entertainers, namely Scott, was thoroughly entertaining and did a fantastic job of tiring the little man out most nights. Yes it was cheesy, but kids loved it. The later entertainment was what you expect from a holiday park but it did make us laugh.
The location for this park was excellent and there were at least six-to-eight, if not more, locations/attractions to visit within a 30 minute driving distance. We visited Dairyland Farm World, Holywell Bay Fun Park, Lappa Valley Railway, Newquay and Oasis water park, all of which were excellent, reasonably priced and within 20 minutes of the caravan park.
An excellent holiday was had by all and we hope to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    161
    112
    43
    40
See reviews for
308
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

this holiday was worth waiting for. this was our 1st time with park dean holidays. the beach was a short walk away. st pirran inn was lovely to go to-child and pet friendly(food was lovely). the caravan park was very nice. just the nightly entertainment was a bit boring for all my kids apart from my 1yo. the staff were very helpful and friendly. anything that hadn't been supplied in our caravan for us they would deliver to us on site.
the takeaway wasn't very nice-only used it twice.
will be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I would have really loved to give this caravan park a better rating than average, but the on site facilities and lack of entertainment really got in the way!

We booked this as another of our £9.50 Sun holidays but decided to try a Parkdean instead of our usual Haven sites. The check in was really quick and our caravan was ready when we got there at 2pm rather than the 4pm check in time. The caravan we were placed in was overlooking the childrens park which was really nice and the caravan itself was clean and had central heating.

The caravan park is small with a shop, take away and small club. That's about it really! Oh and an outside pool which we knew about anyway so wasn't a big shock to us that it was closed during our holiday. We got food from the takeaway twice during our stay and had no problems with it, but the big let down for us was the evening entertainment. If you're like us and enjoy a night out when you're away then this is not the place for you. It was absolutely dire!!! Not a patch on a Haven entertainment programme. Most of the night consisted of the "funstars" making crap jokes (no one laughing!) or making absolute jokes of themselves! The kids there didn't look happy at all. And when they started singing we left! they had 2 nights of "bought in" entertainment which were better but only on for an hour and half tops!

It's a shame really as the location is perfect for the great beach and a good base to see lovely Cornwall. I would suggest an indoor pool and better evening entertainment to make this site worth visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmis_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

we have been going to this park every summer for rhge past seven years the staff are freinds of ours now we send christmas cards its a great site with great staff they allways make our stay fun we travel 600 miles from scotland every year fatastic we are booked for 2009
see you soon guys
the richardsons from scotland

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at Holywell Bay for 10 nights commencing the end of May 2008. Although apprehensive because our last stay in a caravan park was a disaster we were encouraged by the reviews of this site. Although the site is small/medium in size it had everything we required for a great holiday. Our caravan (Sennen) overlooked the childrens play area so we could keep an eye on our 2 girls who loved playing there. The caravan was 50- 100 yards away from the shop and evening entertainment. The glorious beach is 5-10 minutes walk away with a pub ideally situated in between (St Pirans Inn...Fantastic food) On site is an outdoor pool with slide and a 5 a side football pitch/basketball court. Just off the site is a fun park with go-karts etc and 18 hole golf couse plus full size 18 hole pitch and putt. We had great days out in Padstow (Go to Rick Stein's Fish and Chip shop!!) and also St Michaels Mount. In 10 days we visited a variety of places and did not have 1 bad meal. Great place in a great location.

  • Liked — Comfort/Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maswai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Just back from a short stay at Holywell Bay Park. Arrived at 1pm but was told that we were early and to come back at 3.30pm. The caravan was quite dated and unfortunately for us was situated directly infront of the entertainment, had we been staying longer we would of asked to have been moved as the teenagers were up very late making lots of noise!(Thought they would of been at school?)

The shop closed early as well as over the lunchtime so be warned to get what u need whilst out!

There are a couple of pubs which did nice food accessible from the beach road, but there is no lighting so take a torch for the walk back.

The beach is lovely well worth the walk over the sanddune, which is the only place that we could get signalls on our mobile phones other than that you have to drive out of Holywell bay!

We would return but only in a more updated caravan and far away from the entertainment!

  • Liked — The beach close by
  • Disliked — The dated caravan
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MKCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We arrived at Holywell Bay 2 hours before our booking in time and was presented with the keys for the caraven, firstly the staff were very polite and friendly. We have stayed at Haven caravans for the last two years and found the caravan here far better, nothing missing, no bad smells. The club on site was brilliant with great entertainment for young and old, the pool is outside with a slide and was clean and warm, there is a short 10 minute walk to the beach but it is well worth it as it has everything a beach can offer, lifeguards are always watching, rockpools, surfing, lovely walks and sand dunes that kids were going down with sledges. For eating there are a number of pubs close to the site that we found very reasonable and enjoyable, as for what to do, there are a number of attractions near by and Newquay is only 15 mins away, St Ives took us 40 mins to get to, and Lands End took just over an hour, one bit of advice is when visiting St Ives, take the train from St Erth as parking in St Ives is terrible.
All in all a brilliant holiday and will be coming back next year.

  • Liked — cleanliness,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbobaggins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing