We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Bargin... Brillaint..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Croydon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Sun Bargin... Brillaint..”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of September, got a deal out the Sun Newspaper , not quite £9.50 ended up costing £80 but I was very impressed, was really good value.

We were allocated accommodation on arrival, and really didn’t know what to expect, but the caravan was brilliant.

We stayed in a Kelsey caravan. The caravan was very clean, It had 3 bedrooms, a shower room, separate toilet, a spacious living room, TV with freeview and fully equip kitchen, with all the utensils that you need.. Brilliant. Its says that it sleeps 6 to 8 people, I would say that at the most it will sleep 2 adults and 2 children comfortably but no more than that..

The holiday camp is small but is nice, and only a short walk to the beach. On the campsite there is a shop, games room, launderette, bar, pool table and a outside pool but this was closed when we were there.

The on site entertainment is rubbish but the team do try hard and some people do seem to enjoy it.

Holywell Bay is absolutely beautiful, the beach is amazing just a good as beaches abroad, and you are close to everything. Make sure you visit Newquay, Perranporth and the Cyder Farm they are really good, however make sure you take lots of change because parking charges apply everywhere and are at least £2.50.

All in all we had a brilliant time and will defiantly book a Sun bargin again, and would love to return to Holywell Bay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    153
    109
    42
    40
See reviews for
294
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just got back from a week's holiday at this holiday park. We booked last minute and hired 3 'Hayle' caravans, supposedly their more luxurious vans. Most of the other reviews have covered the basics for this park but I'll just add what I found.
Location is lovely, easy to get to and great beach with a couple of good pubs around.
The HP is small, has a pretty well equiped Costcutter shop, laundrette (£4 a wash detergent & softener included), arcades, take-away (great chips), couple of playparks, small indoor soft play area and surf shop.
Reception was brisk, efficient but not overly friendly, the outside pool was warm but really dirty, with lots of debris that just needed cleaning away. We ventured in once but just found it too grubby. We were a little bemused at the 3 lifeguards sitting/lounging around chatting covering their legs with blankets when they could have just cleaned the area up a bit.
The entertainment team, I think, tried their best and the kids did seem to enjoy the early disco and fun hour. THe adult entertainment later on left a bit to be desired.
The caravans were the biggest problem. On arrival we did not have enough bedsheets for our party and had to go the bar to get this sorted out as reception had shut. I discovered a whole drawer of men's dirty underwear that had been obviously left by the previous occupant but had not been found by the cleaner. There was a used dirty sheet left on the pull down bed in the lounge and the beds in the twin rooms are not singles but junior beds. The beds were so slim in width that my two and three year old were constantly falling out of them as one turn over and that was it - on the floor. We gave up after the first night and slept with them in the double and pull down bed (after changing the sheet!). Basically the vans are tired, old and grubby, the only decent thing was the shower which was surprisingly powerful and there was always loads of hot water.
I wouldn't go again nor would I recommend it but if you have two young children that never see any of the above flaws and the sun shines which thankfully it did you can still have a good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyMummy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Booked a Sennen caravan for £800 in August. Brochure and internet states modern caravan, this was probably true some years ago.

On driving to our caravan we started to have reservations since the caravan looked old and dirty from the outside. Pulled up alongside the caravan after an 8 hour drive and opened the caravan door and the first thing we noticed was a rusting radiator in the hallway, they say first impressions last and in this case it was just the start of the horrors that were awaiting us.

On further inspection we noticed that the caps to the toilet seat were missing and the casing to the seat was stained in old urine. Could it get worse oh yes a grease covered extraction unit to the cooker and could it get even worse, oh yes a sex stained stained double mattress. After these discoveries I went to reception to report the problems and they told me the manager would pop in to see the problems for himself.

Approx 2 hours later the manager arrived and to his credit he arranged to have these problems resolved. Although, should we have found this caravan in this state to start with, definetly not when you have travelled for 8 hours and paid £800 to stay in this so called modern accomodation.

After this we unpacked and tried to get on with our holiday until later in the holiday during Tuesday night when we awoke to our 3 year old son screaming in the other bedroom. He had fallen out of bed and hit his face on the metal frame of the other single bed. Luckily I am a first aider and was able to deal with the situation by using ice packs to reduce the swelling between his eyes. The next morning we inspected the childrens bedroom more closely and noticed that the frame he hit his face on had the wrong size mattress for the frame. The mattress was too small and thus the cause for his accident. If the mattress was the correct one for the bed he would have fallen out of bed and hit his face on the mattress instead of the frame.

Also, that morning I reported the incident to reception and they filled in an incident report. I requested the mattress be changed and the manager to call and see my sons injuries. By 4PM this had not happened so I went back to reception and eventually they changed the mattress for the correct one for the frame, but the manager did not show.

After the accident our son would not sleep in this room. Therefore, he slept in our room until the Friday morning of our holiday, by this time we were all very tired and decided to return home a day early.

Since returning I have been in correspondence with Parkdean holidays about the below par accomodation and my sons accident. This makes interesting reading since they claim my sons accident was not Parkdeans fault?

The brochure and internet caravan discription should read.

Sennen Caravan is a dirty modern caravan with sex stained mattress with urine stained toilet seats, plus beware it is not safe if your child falls out of bed and hits their face on a metal bed frame opposite because Parkdean forgot to ensure that the mattress to the frame he hit his face on was too small, if this happens remember it’s not Parkdean Holidays fault because we are not responsible for the upkeep of our holiday accommodation.

Beware this is our 3rd holiday with Parkdean in 12 months and have spent close to £2500 and this is how they treat return guests if they have a problem.

Sea Acres - Polbream 2007 model - excellent caravan
Ruda - Hartland luxury caravan - excellent

Therefore, my tip if you do decide to holiday with Parkdean book a new caravan model and bring along your own bottle of CIF and heaven forbid if you have a problem since they do not want to know.

Forgot to mention Holywell Bay is lovely.

Finally beware of Parkdean Customer Service Manager she treats you like a criminal for complaining about the sub standard / dangerous accomodation. Would I holiday with parkdean again, NEVER.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
62 Thank CALADOR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I have been visiting this site for 20 years and it has declined in standards of higene over the last 5 years. I visited in may and stayed in a portreath caravan that had a stained matress and carpet and squashed sweet on the sofa, my parents stayed in the disabled unit which the bed was urine soaked from the previous tennant it smelt of smoke and the carpet was filthy! the two caravans cost us over £1150.oo!! and i spent hours cleaning before i felt it fit to stay in!
we have just been back(location reasons only) and stayed in helford caravans which had faulty door locks (fire hazard as you couldnt get out quick) they where musty smelling with mould on matress and celiling, filthy walls skirting, mould in shower,bathroom smelt of urine, leaking kettle, threadbare carpet which had a trip hazard as it was kicked up! sharp edges to a table!! i reported these and it took from 6.30pm monday untill 3.30 tue to get sorted! meanwhile i fell over a sunken old doormat outside the chip shop and twisted my knee!
The club entertainment is awfull very amature thats if you can find a clean table to sit at! and you wont find a unstained seat i promise! My mum who is a pensioner tipped the barman a drink he took over £3!! be warned! she only had a sherry herself!
i have been to parkdeans crantock and sea acres which are lovely and clean and friendly so why not here ?? Holywell is a wonderfull location hence they can sell caravans without the effort! i would love to see kim and aggie at this place!
Complained to manager he was apologetic and didnt deny low standards just said they couldnt get the staff... am i missing something or isnt there supposed to be a few million unemployed out there.... if you pay peanuts...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shelly622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just got back from a long weekend at Holywell Bay. It was a cheap deal out of the Sun newspaper and we've gone to this site lots of times before on those deals. I have to say though I would never pay full price to stay here.

The site is small but lovely - a stream runs alongside it and leads all the way down to a spectacular beach - about 10 minutes walk. You'll see masses of wildlife while you're there. There are a couple of pubs in walking distance - one by the beach and one just up the hill. There's also a regular(ish) bus service into newquay if you fancy a few drinks somewhere a bit (lot) more lively. So the nightlife is quite close-by too.

HB is very peaceful and if you want a beach holiday with not much else going on then it's great but.... the caravans we've stayed in pretty much every time we've been there have been really shabby, tatty pillows, carpets and very old fashioned. The toilet smelled grim. We have complained before now and were moved to another caravan but only when we agreed to pay an upgrade fee as it was a newer van. I know if was a cheap holiday but still.... evening entertainment is terrible and the onsite facilities are poor but luckily we go cos we want the beach holiday with not much else going on : )

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goodwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Paid in excess of £700 for a caravan for the week and it was shabby with ripped seats and frayed carpets. Also hadnt been cleaned properly. We were offered another caravan but this was equally as dirty and next to water with a 'dangerous deep water' sign next to it (I had a 6 and a 2 year old with me). Very disappointed. The brochure over rated this site. However the reception staff especially the reception manager was very helpful and we were moved to the nearby Crantock Bay Holiday Park also run by Parkdene which was lovely. Slightly longer walk to beach and down steep slopes but you could drive and park at the bottom for £4 per day or for free if you are a national trust member. We would definately go to Crantock Bay site again. It was advertised as having less facilities as the Holywell Bay park but we felt they were of a much higher standard and will leave a separate review on this site.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candy6216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We have just returned from a two week stay here and what can I stay apart from fantastic! The weather was pretty bad with rain most days but this was soon made up for by fantastic evening entertainment and activities for the kids in the morning, this is what made the holiday for our kids who are 5 and 8, the entertainment team put 100% into entertaining the kids and it showed both to the children and us adults, having visited many a holiday park around Cornwall, we have had different experiences but never as positive as this, which is why I was prompted to write this, my first review.
The caravan we stayed in was one of the newer in the park it was clean and close to all amenities. The only fault we found was that there was no restaurant on site, only a take away which was a little expensive.
The location of the park was good with the beach only a short walk away, many visitor attractions are only a short drive away so for us it was a great base for exploring Cornwall.
Overall a fantastic holiday, so much so we had tears from the children when we had to leave, which made a change from their smiling faces! We will be returning later on this year and already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank very_happy_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.2 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
4.9 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
19.1 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
43.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing