We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept animals”
Review of Newquay Zoo

Newquay Zoo
Ranked #9 of 62 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in lush sub-tropical gardens, Newquay Zoo is home to more than 1,000 of the world's rare and exciting creatures. Just a short walk from Newquay's town centre and world famous surfing beaches, the Zoo is both one of Cornwall's most exciting visitor attractions and a leading conservation charity. It's the only place in Cornwall where you can see lions devour their lunch before taking a leisurely stroll through a tropical rainforest, surrounded by free flying birds. Keeper talks and animal feeds take place throughout the day but if you fancy an even closer animal encounter we offer visitors the chance to meet and feed our cheeky lemurs, friendly penguins and impossibly cute meerkats! See wildebeest, waterbuck, nyala antelope and zebra roaming in our African Savannah and enjoy some familiar faces in The Village Farm - one of our most popular exhibits which includes many children's favourites such as pot-bellied pigs, African pygmy goats, turkeys and striped squirrels. And if all that isn't enough to keep the kids amused, we also have activity trails, face painting, a children's play area, dragon maze...and much more. Besides enjoying a great family day out, when you visit Newquay Zoo you'll also be supporting our vital education, research and conservation work, all designed to protect endangered animals from extinction. We're playing a key role in the international effort to save animals through conservation breeding.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well kept animals”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The zoo is very clean animals are very well kept . Once you pay you can go as many times as you like with in that week rain or shine good day by all

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    661
    339
    114
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just the right size with some unusual guests.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Plenty of helpful staff which was good for the visitor but also suggested a high level of animal care.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank neilmorris838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“natural relaxing zoo shame about the price”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is our second visit to this zoo with the kids while on holiday although the park is small it is set in a great natural environment and not just cages everywhere
a very relaxed visit compared to other zoos like paignton
also its never crowded which enhances the relaxed wander around
[ our last visit was 4 years ago ]
a couple of bad bits this time was the maize [which i promised the kids could go through] was closed for hedge cutting !!!! why this couldn't of been done when closed i dont understand
also the bbq grill which is advertised as being the best place to get food [where we have got our food from before] and very good and not badly priced food either is now closed down and you are left with the overpriced boring food which didnt look or sound appetizing from the restaurant or the take away which sells very basic food but done well but with the overpriced tag on as well £28 for 3 burgers 3 chips and 4 drinks ? we don't usually live on junk food but do like to have good fast food while on holiday
after paying £35 to enter on a family ticket which i didn't think was too bad until i remember you could go around slowly in an hour and don't for get the zoo hasn't got there own car park so you will have to pay £5 to park for 4 hrs in the council run car park beside the zoo
a very expensive day out in the end and we only spent 3 hrs in there after going round a few times so not impressed compared to the previous visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place to visit, kids loved it, plenty to see and do inc live feeding and talks. Only disappointment was the tropical house mostly birds and frogs NO lizards/reptiles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kes r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

There is not a huge amount of animals but there is a relaxed atmosphere and if you join in with all of the talks etc you will be able to spend a few hours here. The Armadillo was brought out for the public to meet and this was fascinating. We also bought special experiences in advance and these were both excellent. We fed Lemurs and Penguins. The keepers were lovely and very knowledgeable and it was great getting so close to the animals.

Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newquay Zoo also viewed

 
 

Been to Newquay Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing