We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to 'crash'”
Review of Blue Reef Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Reef Lodge
Bristol,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to 'crash'”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Me and my friends (A group of 4 girls ranging from 18-25) stayed here for New Year. The lodge is perfectly situated and is only a short 'stumble' away from the bars and clubs of Newquay which was perfect for what we wanted it for.

We arrived at 13:00, however we didn't realise check in wasn't until 17:00 but we were let in by 16:00. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. After a bit of lunch we went back to the lodge and waited in the bar until our room was ready. After signing a lengthy agreement including no alcohol in room or fast food, and giving a £30.00 deposit per person we were let into the room.

The room itself was quite small, two bunk beds and a corner shower room.... however what did we expect for the cheap price we were playing. It did however come equipped with a CD player and widescreen TV which was great for chilling on new years eve morning :)! The only downside was the lack of plug sockets, four girls and 2 sockets= a lot of arguing over hair dryers/ straighteners! But this wasn't a huge problem. Bed's itself weren't too comfortable but it's somewhere to sleep! Only problem we had was that the shower leaked but we put the floor mat down to stop that.

We paid £60 p.p. for 2 nights so quiet cheap. the actual lodge is quite cool, mini TVs and music playing in the corridors and is lit up neon blue outside which makes it look quite impressive.

Just a warning parking is not provided and you park on the main street, as we found can be quite difficult. This isn't too much of an issue but you should be warned if you have a lot of luggage!

I would definitely stay here again, and would like to come back in the Summer to take advantage of the surf lesson offers.

All around good trip :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaBristol_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
11
15
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My son, brother in law and I fancied a bit of late season lads weekend away combined with some surfing. We booked a room here mainly because of the package offered £49 for two nights including two surf lessons and all the kit. For the cost we weren't expecting luxury so are expectations were low. What we got was a fairly good sized room with an ensuite and tv the rooms were clean as were the beds and the ensuite was immaculate. Being close to the nightlife and beaches it proved to be an excellent choice for somewhere to crash after a days surfing and a night at the clubs. The night we were due to arrive was the night of the terrible crash on the motorway and although we were due to arrive at about 9am Friday evening we didn't get there until 6.30 Saturday morning! The staff stayed late for us as we didn't know when we get there and kept in constant contact they even got out of bed to come and let us in when we finally arrived and were cheery and very helpful. Highly recommend the place for some where clean and warm to crash out.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are a trek up several flights of stairs but worth it for the view at the top. Pay a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Reef surf lodge on a mid week trip away with friends. We purchased a deal which included the surf lessons and the lodge.

The room was well priced and the staff were friendly.
£30 deposit per person for any damages in the room.

The rooms were very small - not enough room for four suitcases laid out in the room and no cupboard space. There were 2 bunk beds. Two out of four beds in our room were very uncomfortable.
Brand new television and music set. Modern bathroom, though, the shower was annoying as you had to hit a button every 20 seconds.

Great location - five to ten minute walk to town where the main restaurant and clubbing strip. 15 minute walk to Greater Western Beach where our surf lessons took place though there were other beaches in between.

It's good for a few nights with some friends for a party weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived from an overnight bus at 7am, and the security guy let us in to leave our luggage in the bar. Went for breakfast in the local wetherspoons (just down the road) and then when we returned at 9am reception was open, we were able to check into our room as it was ready even though we were expecting just to leave our bags and check in later!

We had to check an inventory and pay a bond each, which was a little hassle but understandable why they have to do it with the groups that may stay.

The room was on the small side for 6 people, but useable and as expected for a hostel accommodation. Beds were comfy and bathroom was good. TV and CD player was a nice touch. The bar downstairs was also handy.

The next morning we were due to check out but weren't leaving Newquay until 10pm, so asked again if we could leave our bags and if they could recommend anywhere to shower after our surf lessons. We were told by a really friendly receptionist that we could keep our room til 7pm to return and shower after our surf lesson, as it wasn't busy, which was so helpful.

Location was good, close to the beach (Great Western) and the town.

Over all, the room did the job, being clean and comfy, and the staff were friendly. Basically, as long as you're not a rowdy group out to make a mess, I think they're fair!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Reading the reviews me and a group of friends were not expecting much from the Reef Island Surf Lodge......Only paying £79 pounds we expecting the bare minimal a place to sleep and that is it.

When we arrived we were greeted by such friendly staff who answered every question we had. We knew check in was at 5pm but the rooms were ready by 3pm. Walking into the room of 9 with bunk beds a massive plasma screen clean en-suite and sofa (with floor space) we were all so pleased with the accommodation. The beds were extremely comfy, clean and genuinely perfect for a weeks stay.

Managed to get a surf lesson £25 for 3 hours equipment all included booked for the next day for 11 of us which was a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Staff were so laid back and friendly they take bond money which they rarely take off people. they have rules about no alcohol, food, loud noise in the hotel but the staff were so relaxed we could do what we wanted without taking the mick. One night didnt fancy going out a massive group of us rented a movie and the security guard happily allowed us to put it on in the bar area. Ordering chinese to the hotel as we were all on a budget.

So many bars, clubs, shops restaurants within minutes walking distance spent just over £100 within 5 days. Bond money was returned.

Amazing value an amazing place!! you do need the weather but you can still surf and body board in the rain there is a cinema within two minutes walk and really nice shops and lazy pubs you can spend a rainy afternoon in. all in all an amazing week defiantly going back next year.

:)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

After reading some of the reviews I was quite apprehensive about staying here, on arrival, we were pleased with the polite manner of the staff, they have great local knowlegde which there are very willing to share!

The rooms aren't the biggest in the world, however for the cost they are amazing!

Met some great people, who we are sharing a room that holds 8 in, I would strongly recommend staying. And we will be back in the near future!

This place is just brilliant, really made our holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay911999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Me and two friends drove down from Huddersfield and after reading reviews on here we were a bit anxious about what we would be stopping in. Upon arrival we were told we would be able to check in from 2 pm. We had a walk about and returned at 2 only for them to say it would not be ready till 5. Bare in mind we had drove through the night and were knackered not the best of starts. We came back at five and were told we would each be required to pay £30 in case anything was broken .. or there was if excessive sand in the room (sad i know). However this was given back at the end of the holiday.

The room could only be described as a shed with a wooden bunk bed and a shared bath room. To be fair the bathroom was cleaned but the girls we shared the bathroom with must of malted everyday in it. In the room there is a tiny tv and a stereo. Neither of which can be heard due to the rowdy guests in the surrounding rooms.

The surf lodge exclaims to be the best bar in Newquay. WHAT A JOKE !!!!!! The bar was shut at 9 every night and there was no one ever in it. This said your not allowed alcohol in your room or food ! However there is no food available from the surf lodge so you have to eat out.
There is no curfew and security guard patrols the area at night he was pretty sound.

Newquay in general has gone down hill big time. If you fit into the 18-25 bracket and you want a decent clubbing scene on your holiday dont bother coming here. For the money you pay you could go to magaluff kavos maila. Im not joking when i say lads out number girls 3-1. Its actually cringey seeing the girls in the clubs getting swarmed by lads as soon as they enter and getting pestered 24/7. Not comfortable for them either. Ibiza of england my ar5e!

The music played in the clubs is all cheese/rnb. However pukka up was on in one club on a saturday night which played some decent electro underground gear. The drinks are cheep and entry is never more than £8. Its busiest on a weekend lots of the locals come out then too. The clubs shut at 4 so if your used to having late nights this isn't for you at all.

Elsewhere in newquay there is nothing else to do except the beach and a few places out of town like go-karting. We found most are days sat in wetherspoons then out at night. No real decent places to eat out either all poor quality pub grub.

To sum the holiday up, we went down for a week in the so called ibiza of england. The surf lodge was poor the night-life dismal and the rest grim. We ended up cutting out holiday short and coming home a few days early and going out round near us instead which was more enjoyable.

Wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless your a girl that wants to get creeped on by grubby lads and loves throwing your arms in the air to beyonce.

Room Tip: None its like stopping in a shanty town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
17.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Reef Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

Property: Blue Reef Lodge
Address: 10-12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Reef Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Surf Newquay
Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing