We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freedom for youngsters but with no comfort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Reef Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Reef Lodge
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Freedom for youngsters but with no comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The atmosphere and staff are amazing there, that are also very helpful and teenage-friendly.
I would only recommend here for a short stay, people with a care free attitude and young people!
The security guards are relaxed and the no curfew is a great bonus here.
However, the £30 safety deposit is easily taken away from you, besides small accidents that aren't your fault- which is a pain.
We couldn't enter the room until 5pm, so that left us with a rather large amount of time to kill so we strolled into town as it has a great local location and then chilled in the modern and relaxing bar.
My friends and I (all girls) believed that we would be staying in Reef Island Surf Lodge as that's who we called for booking, but this clearly wasn't the case. We were told that we would have a 5person bedroom and with a double and single bunkbedplanking, however we were allocated to a six person bedroom with two three-tier bunk beds that were tight and not spacious at all (nobody could sit upright!) there was no floor space, so for 5 girls and their suitcases getting ready it was a nightmare! We were forced to relax in the hall, just to get ventilation and space!
The bathroom wasn't too bad, just a shame about the lack of window.
I wouldn't recommend here if you can't cope with a small amount of space!! The price was great, so I can't complain about that. However we all felt 'cheated' as in to where we booked and what we were actually paying for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
11
15
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

First thing to remember they don't tell you there is no parking ! The parking is on street parking only and could be streets away! Rooms were clean but tiny. We were a party of 5 girls in a 6 berth room which we had to pay the extra for. The room was not big enough to swing a cat in. the room must have been 7ft x 13ft at the most with 3 bunk beds. A bathroom that was so tiny would be classed as a tiny cloak room with a sink so small you could not get a foot in. We had to do everything in shifts as no room to move no hanging space and because there were only 5 of us not 6 we could use the spare bunk for some stuff. Knowledge of staff was poor. We had booked a spa and surfing. They did not seem to know where the spa was or what time the appointment and they booked it all. Surfing was held at Tolcarne beach but again quite hard to find out such information as to lockers etc. Surfing was a great experience but definitely not luxurious. No showers and no changing rooms to speak of. Just a barn where they keep surf boards to change in which was the guys office and store room and changing room all in one. All the surfing teachers were great very encouring and fun was had by all. The spa was great once we found it although would be some walk away from the lodge. We chose to get a taxi. The taxi guy was great and told us the best places to go. Overall a good weekend but lack of space and lack of knowledge was very poor.

Room Tip: Not sure any room is in my opinion great - we had a room for 6 which was like a cupboard -6 girls tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesssnuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I had never organised a hen do before, and the staff at the reef surf lodge were accommodating & helpful. The accommodation is clean and tidy and the room we had had 3 triple bunk beds which was perfect for our party.
The bar serves awesome reasonably priced food too.
Overall this was an AWESOME exeperience. I would definitely recommend the surf lessons and the karting that they can arrange for you as part of a package!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem-Gem2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We came here on a hen weekend, it was a total surprise for me and my bridesmaid had organised the whole thing, we stayed in the penthouse room which had a bunk bed room a living area (sofa bed) and a double bed with bathroom. 6 of us stayed in here and felt we had enough space to get changed and ready to go out. Our friends had a bedroom to sleep 9 with 3 high bunk beds, there was 6 beds in 1 room and 3 in a side room, bathrooms where really clean and almost new our penthouse had a steam room which we used and was also really clean. Reading some of these reviews some people say its small and cramped but there are 2 reef lodges 1 is next to the sea which is where we stayed and another 1 just up the hill which I think is a little more cramped. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful only think they didn't tell us was on our arrival each of us had to pay £30 cash as a deposit we would get back when we left. 1 of my friends arrived late and we were already out she had no cash on her and staff made her walk to a cash point down the road before she could check in. We had a great time here and felt safe, the door keys are cards and didn always work but there was staff around all the time to help or give a new key. I would come back for a weekend away!

Room Tip: I'd advise penthouse for 6 people as long as 2 people don't mind a sofa bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellshobly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed as part of a large hen group (35) for the weekend. Negatives - nowhere to sit in the rooms, noisy (designed for young groups) and no food/drink allowed in the rooms. However, central location (close to beach and town), cheap, clean and friendly service. I would recommend this hotel if you are fairly young or part of a group, looking for a good value place to stay that is well located.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for a weekend and found that's in a ideal place and not very far from anything. Right in town and 10 min walk to the beach. The service was really good and everyone was really friendly. I wud recommend staying here and will def b bk to stay again whn I come to Newquay :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodCritic1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is a perfect location for town! Close enough for us even in our stilettos! The staff are great, very helpful and the place is spotless. Didn't spend much time in the rooms as we were out and about and surfing most of the time! Board store is ideal too. This place is nothing like a hostel it's awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helengodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
17.2 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Reef Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

Property: Blue Reef Lodge
Address: 10-12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Reef Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Surf Newquay
Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing