We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Blue Reef Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Reef Lodge
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Firsty.. Lets address the negative comments of others (cramped rooms, unhelpful staff, mounted TVs, small bathroom) - Ridiculous comments, Not sure if these people think they are going to be staying at the Ritz but the tripe below is laughable.

We paid £60 for 3 nights per person and upon arrival was greeted by Charlie who was different league all weekend, she allowed us the opportunity to note any issues with the room before signing in etc and changed the TV remote that didnt work for one that did. She clearly works very hard and baring in mind has to probably put up with such an array of whiney customers (see reviews) she has zero faults.

The room admittedly was small but again lets be realistic you are not going to Nequay to sit in your room so there should be no fuss about that - it was clean and comfortable.

Whilst Charlie was amazing it didnt stop with her, Arthur the security guard was a great laugh too - despite telling us off for the noise (rightly so) he was welcoming and calm and accepted that at 4-5am after a few drinks we were going to be abit loud so he didnt give it the biggen like other security guards. Upon departure another lady signed us out and checked our room before giving back the £30 deposit each (again seen a lot of complaints that people didnt get these back - just put your rubbish away or in a bag.. dont take the mick and you wont have an issue)

Bathroom was fine, baring in mind we had a shared one it was imaculate and not once did we have to wait to get in. No Worries.

To sum it up the lodge was ideal for us and we had a great time! Should I/We have a reason to go newquay again we will be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
11
15
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here over the weekend of boardmasters and originally booked for 9 people. Had to cancel 2 and they failed to mention when booking that if we cancel anyone we would only get 50% of the price per person back but ONLY if all the bed spaces were filled!!!

Well to my surpise (or not) there was 1 free. only found out 2 weeks later after calling everyother day!

We had an extra 2 people in our room from a different group who also had cancellations.
When asking staff if they could move as we were to roudy for them staff said there were no beds available anywhere.... so they got a total of 4 extra spaces of free money.

Rooms were cramped, 9 beds crambed into a small box room with only one toilet. The size of a downstairs loo!

Resturant does some good food. Thats the only thing about this place!

Wouldn't bother staying here again!

Room Tip: go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrichards2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Fleet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Visited REEF SURF LODGE as part of a stag party. Organising the stay was easy, with great communication from the lodge. As we had such a big group we stayed in both of their lodges which are only a few minutes walk apart. We were made aware of the bond money that would be required when arriving so this was no issue when we turned up. We had a fantastic stay, with staff being very friendly and helpful. We made great use of the bars which are modern and serve well priced beer. We had no problems checking out with the whole group getting their bond money back. A must for any group visiting Newquay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I was a bit wary about staying at a "surf lodge" having seen the reviews for some of them in Newquay and being used to staying at hotels but I tried to come to Reef with an open mind but I'm not going to lie...I had visions of grimy dirty rooms with no space and mouldy bathrooms. I was pleasantly surprised-it was clean, modern and a refreshing change. The staff were really friendly and helpful and sorted us out with some really cheap deals like breakfast every morning (really good!) and they got us set up with their surf school-having never surfed before we were apprehensive but loved it so much we upgraded our package and surfed every day! The lodge is located right in town too which is a big plus but security were really great and we didnt have any problems with drunken yobs like we had expected! Definitely give reef a shot-we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

i go to newquay at least 2 times a year to surf and i picked reef surf lodge for the first time as the prices were good. ive stayed in plenty of different lodges in and around newquay and they dont compare to reef for the money they are charging.as for the bad reviews people have got to realise that it is infact NEWQUAY and not PARIS!! and also it is a SURF LODGE....! NOT the ritz........ if you want silver service in newquay then id advice trying the hotel victoria which is 175 pound a night!!!!! otherwise if your looking for a good priced easy get away for a week or a few days id definately recommend reef surf lodge! also i was really happy with the attitude of the staff and the way they helped with any problems i had. being a surfer i was really pleased that they had facilities such as the board store where i could keep my gear when i wasnt using it which was locked away securely. overall was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having deciding to get some fresh sea air and relax at a beach, myself and the gang from work decided a trip to Newquay for a couple of days would be perfect. We were looking for a no-thrills, cheap roof over our heads. For what we paid I was expecting a shack, however when we got there I was amazed by the incredible modern decor, fresh and youthful feeling that spread its way through all the hallways. The actual room itself wasn't really impressive and if I had to make a criticism it would be the shoving of too many bunk beds in a single room but this really didn't matter when you’re paying pennies. The bathroom was very clean and even after 5 other people had used the shower, for quite I while, I was pleasantly surprised that it was still hot and powerful.
There was also a small bar downstairs which was very reasonable priced and offered a really good cooked breakfast in the morning. It too was filled with funky decor and was a very nice place to sit and relax. The location was also brilliant, being a minuets walk from supermarkets, the local high street and all the various, gorgeous beaches Newquay has too offer.
Although it's not a hotel, meaning extras like a laundry service are not included, the Reef Surf lodge was an excellent, pound saving adventure - perfect for large groups of friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Congratulations to the marketing company - a job well done!
But thats where the congratulations end.
Parking - non existent!
Wifi - off more than it was on!
Rooms tiny (about 8 foot square with two sets of bun beds in it!)
Tv mounted above the doorway??
Tv remotes didnt work.
No other furniture, chairs, tables, wardrobe in the rooms (it wouldnt fit!!)
Bar cafe - never open past breakfast!

Its certainly not worth the £25 per night - for £30 we moved out a day early and into a 3 star hotel (that had lights, tv, kettle etc).

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di5appointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
17.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Reef Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

Property: Blue Reef Lodge
Address: 10-12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Reef Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Surf Newquay
Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing