We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Jim”
Review of Blue Reef Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Reef Lodge
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jungle Jim”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A group of me and my mates were meant to be doing a hardcore event which got cancelled, at last minute we booked this hotel as our trains n flights had already been booked. We were amazed to see the set out of the rooms, one of the rooms slept 10 which had 3 bunkbeds in been on a level on 3 n bottom one been a double, we called in the jungle Jim room. All the staff were lovely and really helpful. The hotel is based in the center of all the shops, pubs, club n beach. There's an asda about 5min walk away. Sailers nightclub was bouncing on the Saturday making the weekend even better. Iwould highly recommend this hotel to everyone :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stesha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
11
15
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a brilliant weekend at this establishment and the staff are willing and friendley and are always available to help out where they can weather it be help with where the nightlife is, surf areas bars and clubs shopping takeaways they are really good.
Only thing that was a let down the reefsurf bar was not open while we were there but everything apart from this was awwsome..

I would highly recomend this place fro backpackers, stags and hens, birthday weekends away big groups over all an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If you have big groups from 7 plus then ask for room 17 which sleeps 10 and room 11 which sleeps 7 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Centred around the town not to far from the shops and not far to the blue reef aquarium about 10min walk! Very cheap rooms can sleep up to four people in one room very tidy they do a breakfast in the next door cafe but not included in the room price! Internet as a bit unreliable at the time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewHolmes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We arrived slightly later than planned and hadn't realised the office was about to close! Although the staff were rightly annoyed, they were very understanding and stayed a few minutes later to show us up to our room. There was 2 of us and we booked a private room and were given a 9 bed dorm to ourselves, which was great! The room was clean, tidy and spacious, the only problem being the shower was abit temperamental. The hostel itself seemed to have recently had a refurb, it was very fresh and modern. Visiting in February meant it was obviously out of season so it was very quiet and the bar and cafe attached were both closed. As we were visiting a friend who lived in Newquay this wasn't a problem and the hostel was a perfect place to stay for what we wanted.
Having to pay the £30 deposit was a little annoying as we'd already paid in full, but it was understandable with it being a hostel prone to groups on party weekends who might cause damage, they're only covering their backs.
Overall, it was a lot nicer than what you would expect for a hostel! I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeaJane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I had a fantastic weekend for my friends 30th birthday, the lodge was very clean and tidy ( apart from the hair extension we found). We were lucky with our room as there were 4 of us in a 9 person room and the beds were round the edge of the room which gave us floor space where as next door had no space to move between beds. I would stay here again as it is cheap comfertable accomadation,however, i would only ever stay for a parting weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdarabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Reef over New Years eve. We had a fantastic time, the rooms were clean and ideal for what we wanted. The staff were extremely helpful and couldnt do enough for us. We were only a few minutes walk from the town centre which was handy when walking home after a night out, already planning to come back in the summer, Thanks REEF!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I organised this trip for my pal. Was so easy to do, just phoned and booked, gave us great rooms, to be honest we weren't in the rooms for long anyway. But this trip was the best stag do I've been on (not just because I organised it) the staff there were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were clean and modern, so no complaints really. Over all just a great atmosphere and a great stay and you get what you pay for here.

The only thing I would say is that it was quiet, but it was to be expected for the time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
17.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Reef Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Lodge

Property: Blue Reef Lodge
Address: 10-12 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AR, England (Formerly Newquay Surf B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Reef Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Reef Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Surf Newquay
Blue Reef Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing