We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints for the Eliot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No complaints for the Eliot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Please note - it is the ELIOT Hotel. Just drop the second 'L' !

Four of us from North Wales on an Alpha Coach Tip. The hotel is run very efficiently. Quick check in and good room key control for security. It is a little tired in places but for 2 star is more than acceptable. The food and service was spot on from ANNA the Polski waitress - dishy too! and almost perfect English after 5 years there. Wine waiter service superb.

The system for the bags to and from the rooms was very good.

The last time I was in Newquay was in 1947 aged 14 at the Hotel Victoria with Shearings ! They still have the lift that goes down through the rocks to the beach from their Lobby.

Entertainment was wonderful with Johnny Morse. Buy one of his CDs - well worth £5. As a special offer you can get the set of 2 for £10 ! Good humour and no swearing. Never knew someone could play 17 or so instruments and some most unusual. He started at age 5 years with a harmonica. Must be in his early 60's now but full of life.

You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Nothing known to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rippo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    96
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
105
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had an excellent holiday with Alfa Travel staying at this delightful hotel. Do not be put off with first impressions as a lick of paint here and there would help. All staff treated you extremely well. The hotel was very clean and plenty of choice for meals which were very satisfying. The hotel is near the town and there is a regular bus service and ofcourse these are free with your bus pass. I would definitely recommend this hotel and feel it deserves a 3 star rating. The only down side is there is only one lift that only holds four people and you sometimes have to wait.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JEAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Spent 2 nights at The Eliot whilst attending a wedding. The hotel is in need of a little TLC but we were very impressed by the staff particularly June on reception. She never seemed to be off-duty despite not being very well and her customer care was exemplary. She was friendly and helpful - a credit to the company.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Ive just returned from a 1 weeks holiday at the elliot hotel with alfa travel,i was a bit wary at 1st when i booked it with being a 2 star but what an excellent stay..hotel was very clean,comfortable and spacious,the manager David and receptionist June very friendly and helpful,excellent food with plenty of choice on the menu and served quickly by friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you..brought me extra desert sometimes,ha.room was clean,comfortable and serviced daily,entertainment great with something going on every night,excursions were great and a great value for money holiday with alfa,Thankyou..be back at the elliott next year..Peter m

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank petermakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our trip on 29th June with Alfa Travel was true value for money. From the pick up to the drop off points, everything went satisfactorily. Our driver BILL was totally committed to making our trips comfortable and interesting. He certainly went the 'extra' mile by pointing out the local points of interest and their history in a warm and relaxing manner. The hotel was comfortable, our room clean and comfortable, the food very good, the staff hardworking and all tried to assist in every way. The entertainment was quite limited, and although the artistes were committed it does cater for the more senior clientele. However, situated in a very convenient part of Newquay it was great for access to the town and beaches. Newquay has a good atmosphere, plenty of shops, points of interest and buses to the various tourist centres. A relaxed and ideal way of getting to see the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project! If the weather is also hot and sunny (as we experienced) then one can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Those rooms overlooking the road can be quite noisy when windows open - due to traffic etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margaret1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

just had a wonderful holiday at the elliot hotel staff were very good and so was the food and entertenment at night, we travelled with alfa coaches our drivers name was shaun a lovely driver and could not do enough for us he was always telling jokes and made us feel very special we would go again with this company and driver and to the elliot hotel
but i have to say the driver of the feeder coach on our return was the worst driver i have ever been with we were thrown around the coach as he raced through the steets of birmingham trying to turn the coach in a narrow street after he took the wrong road it was such a shame after such a lovely week we had to have this kind of thing, i should have ask his name but we were just glad to get off the coach

Room Tip: all rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paul142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Crosby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

It's hard to divorce a stay here from the Alfa Tour experience, so leaving aside the feeder coach infrastructure, the 'suitcase-outside-door-by-6.45am' on leaving day and the regimented day-trip timings all of which are part and parcel of a UK coach holiday, we concentrate on the Eliot itself. A large, practical place which serves its purpose and is certainly central for most of Newquay's facilities. "Cosy" isn't the word that springs to mind in the public areas although our room was better than many 'posher' hotels we've stayed in, being roomy, clean and comfortable and quite modern in decor.
To be honest we'd used this short Alfa tour to save driving the hundreds of miles to see the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan so the Eliot was a means to an end.
The food was quite good, and mainly down to earth in nature though there's a certain eerieness to think that in Leisureplex hotels from Cromer to Fort William, diners are looking at the same menu as oneself on any given morning and evening!
The dining room is spacious, service by the largely economic migrant staff efficient and courteous. The bar again is adequate but lacks any character though Ron, the Manager here is a likeable and friendly sort. This forms part of the enormous lounge where any pretence to friendly informality has been abandoned in favour of a total lack of atmosphere enhanced by functional side-bench and conference room seating. You like Bingo, Quizzes on a nightly basis? Welcome aboard.
Newquay has plenty to offer within a short walking distance if one feels the need to escape and discover. Most of our fellow travellers stayed put, maybe fearing the much-publicised Stags & Hens mayhem that can break out at weekends. To be fair the youthquake is mainly confined to the months of July and August when the town can be like Dodge City, so in May the environs were peaceful.
The Games room has table tennis, pool and a darts board. The swimming pool was still covered up from winter and the outside seating area of which it is a part, looked unkempt, grim and forbidding.
However, all staff were polite, helpful and approachable and to be honest we've stayed in far worse places than the Eliot. When one takes into consideration the room rack rate, breakfast and table d'hote prices, the cost of admissions to the 2 attractions we visited which were all included in the holiday price, and the non-layout for petrol, we figured we saved money - and motorway stress by 'going Alfa.' Actually I'm a little homesick for the place as I type this!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
23.0 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eliot Hotel - Newquay [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Very well situated, close to Great Western and Tolcarne beaches, only a few yards from the sea front and within easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. 76 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There are three lovely airy lounges in which to relax, plus a cocktail bar and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is also a games room and outdoor swimming pool (heated May through to September). The lift serves most rooms although all floors are split level with some immediate stairs. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliot Hotel Newquay
Eliot Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing