We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Short Break”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A Great Short Break”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is the fourth Leisureplex Hotel that we have visited and we were not disappointed. From the welcome on arrival to the farewell at the end of the stay, the staff were very helpful, friendly and considerate. The food was excellent with the full breakfast really setting you up for the day. There was always a good choice at Dinner with the meals being hot and well presented. The service was very good especially from Filip .The rooms ware well maintained with all the facilities needed and were clean and warm. They even offered an excellent value packed lunch for the homeward return journey. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    97
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
105
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Wife and I Recently stayed at your Hotel starting 11th May until 19th May,
While the staff I/e reception,waiters,cleaning staff and manager are excellent,

The food to us let the Hotel downgrading a lot of processed food is served at evening dinner,
the fish and chips on Friday are a big let down the batter is not proper the fish is not fresh it is
like made up of fish sawdust compressed, the lemon meringue is a digestive biscuit with lemon
jelly topped up with whisked egg white uncooked,

At breakfast the fresh orange juice is diluted with so much water it is horrible,the Weetabix is
of a cheap kind like eating cardboard,

The chairs in the bedrooms are very uncomfortable and hard to sit on, If the rest of Leisureplex
Group of Hotels are the same we shall decline to come on any other holiday unless there is a
substantial upgrade in your Hotels after all said we pay good money for a good hotel.

It will be a good idea if I mentioned to Trading Standards as to the diluted fresh orange juice,

Edwin and Audrey Jackson Edwin.jackson9@btinternet.com

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in March, the accomodation included on an Alfa package tour When booking such a holiday the accommodation is often a bit of a "lucky bag" but this hotel was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food tasty with plenty of choices. The service at mealtimes was first class,but as this was "off season" there were only 36 guests staying in an Hotel capable of many more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank topman190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

i stayed at this hotle for the christmas hols 4 days had a great time loved it i had been there befor for christmas and iwould go again very clean and the food was excellent the staff were very good and helpful wills our driver was very good very helpful as well thanks wills came with my mother

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carol y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My partner and I have just had 5 smashing days here for Christmas on an Alfa coach holiday. Everything about this hotel made Christmas special. Very friendly staff and management, who couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent. Hot, well presented and plenty of it. Entertainment was in a very festive room with dance floor. The singers and comedian were top class. Fancy dress, quizzes, bingo and father Christmas with presents for everyone made this an Alfa tradition that we have taken part in many times on some of their other trips. The hotel is not on the sea front but just one corner away. The rooms are on 2 floors and there is a lift, but it only holds 4 people and it takes ages to call it and go up. There are 2 or 3 steps then to some bedrooms, so if stairs are a problem ask for a room on lift level. Come to this hotel anytime of the year and I'm sure you will get the same standard of care and friendliness that were given to us this holiday.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem ask for a room on lift level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in august with a coach trip with alfa and i have to say it was one of the best holidays i have had , the hotel was amazing it was central of newquay next to shops and right next to Tolcarne beach , The room was excellent and had a decent veiw from the room however my grandparents had an excellent veiw over looking the pool . My only dissapointment and a complaint was made about the Swimming pool , it is advertised to be heated but it actually isnt , the tiles on the bottom were slippery and went deep suddenly , the size of the pool was great but the heat was very poor , not much sunlight is easy to get onto it . The hotel was also great with its other facillities by the way there was a lounge with a tv a place to relax where you could watch the olympics :D the games room was great and on many nights i played pool and darts . The meals were excellent and if you ever wished for a change if there was somthing on the menu , you didnt like the chef made a special deal for you . I dont care about the 8hour journey this hotel and trip is a deffo for next year i made some amazing people on that journey and the driver was fantastic .

Room Tip: Dont pick anywhere else this hotel is deffinatly a good choice to choose , once your there you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just returned from a trip with Alfa to the Eliot Hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Shower was good although not much room. The food was good, hot and tasty with a variety to choose from. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. James, our waiter, was very efficient and quite amusing at times. The main reason for the holiday was to visit the Eden Project, which was excellent and not too far to travel to.
Our driver was, Bob, who was very informative on the area and very helpful, thanks, Bob.
Would recommend this hotel and trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank terrymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
23.0 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eliot Hotel - Newquay [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Very well situated, close to Great Western and Tolcarne beaches, only a few yards from the sea front and within easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. 76 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There are three lovely airy lounges in which to relax, plus a cocktail bar and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is also a games room and outdoor swimming pool (heated May through to September). The lift serves most rooms although all floors are split level with some immediate stairs. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliot Hotel Newquay
Eliot Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing