We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June on an experimental coach holiday, mainly to see the Eden Project.
The hotel is rather shabby as far as décor is concerned. Carpets are of the pick-and-mix variety and drab looking. Wall coverings fall into the same category. The Yale lock on our room door was wonky; there should be better quality locks. The room itself was very small and basic.
On our first evening we were seated in the dining room far away from everybody else and ignored by the waiting staff, except for the wine waiter. After 20 minutes I had to investigate and we were moved to our correct table - without an apology.
The dining room staff were pleasant and generally efficient; mostly eastern European I think. The food was very so-so. One thin slice of roast beef with a meal is not acceptable. The choice was just about passable. One diner left her trifle as it was still frozen when served to her. A lot of the food seemed to be processed rather than fresh.
The lounge areas were a bit bleak and not cosy or welcoming.
It seems that the Eliot Hotel operates to a price rather than to a standard. The price charged is not sufficient to cover meals, entertainment and upkeep of the décor, so they have obviously opted to keep both price and standards low.
We do seem to be in a minority with our views of this hotel so a lot of people are happy to get what they pay for.

Doug.
East Sussex.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglass S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Eliot hotel on an Alfa holiday, the sixth time we have used this company. We had previously travelled with Shearings in 2004 staying at the Marina Hotel just round the corner from the Eliot. As on our previous holidays with Alfa, we found this to be very good value for money, comparing very favourably with Shearings. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had a freeview television which we have not previously had in any other hotel. As the room was situated above the entertainment lounge, we were able to hear the music, but it wasn't over loud and didn't disturb us unduly. The food was plentiful and varied, with the option of a vegetarian choice or chef's special. We had fantastic service from our waitress Kristie and the other staff were very polite and helpful. We enjoyed some wonderful excursions, including trips to Truro cathedral and the Eden Project. This was another brilliant holiday with Alfa and Leisureplex, and we recommend them to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the entertainment lounge will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is the fourth Leisureplex Hotel that we have visited and we were not disappointed. From the welcome on arrival to the farewell at the end of the stay, the staff were very helpful, friendly and considerate. The food was excellent with the full breakfast really setting you up for the day. There was always a good choice at Dinner with the meals being hot and well presented. The service was very good especially from Filip .The rooms ware well maintained with all the facilities needed and were clean and warm. They even offered an excellent value packed lunch for the homeward return journey. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Wife and I Recently stayed at your Hotel starting 11th May until 19th May,
While the staff I/e reception,waiters,cleaning staff and manager are excellent,

The food to us let the Hotel downgrading a lot of processed food is served at evening dinner,
the fish and chips on Friday are a big let down the batter is not proper the fish is not fresh it is
like made up of fish sawdust compressed, the lemon meringue is a digestive biscuit with lemon
jelly topped up with whisked egg white uncooked,

At breakfast the fresh orange juice is diluted with so much water it is horrible,the Weetabix is
of a cheap kind like eating cardboard,

The chairs in the bedrooms are very uncomfortable and hard to sit on, If the rest of Leisureplex
Group of Hotels are the same we shall decline to come on any other holiday unless there is a
substantial upgrade in your Hotels after all said we pay good money for a good hotel.

It will be a good idea if I mentioned to Trading Standards as to the diluted fresh orange juice,

Edwin and Audrey Jackson Edwin.jackson9@btinternet.com

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in March, the accomodation included on an Alfa package tour When booking such a holiday the accommodation is often a bit of a "lucky bag" but this hotel was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food tasty with plenty of choices. The service at mealtimes was first class,but as this was "off season" there were only 36 guests staying in an Hotel capable of many more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank topman190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

i stayed at this hotle for the christmas hols 4 days had a great time loved it i had been there befor for christmas and iwould go again very clean and the food was excellent the staff were very good and helpful wills our driver was very good very helpful as well thanks wills came with my mother

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carol y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My partner and I have just had 5 smashing days here for Christmas on an Alfa coach holiday. Everything about this hotel made Christmas special. Very friendly staff and management, who couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent. Hot, well presented and plenty of it. Entertainment was in a very festive room with dance floor. The singers and comedian were top class. Fancy dress, quizzes, bingo and father Christmas with presents for everyone made this an Alfa tradition that we have taken part in many times on some of their other trips. The hotel is not on the sea front but just one corner away. The rooms are on 2 floors and there is a lift, but it only holds 4 people and it takes ages to call it and go up. There are 2 or 3 steps then to some bedrooms, so if stairs are a problem ask for a room on lift level. Come to this hotel anytime of the year and I'm sure you will get the same standard of care and friendliness that were given to us this holiday.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem ask for a room on lift level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
23 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
244 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £39 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eliot Hotel - Newquay [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Very well situated, close to Great Western and Tolcarne beaches, only a few yards from the sea front and within easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. 76 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There are three lovely airy lounges in which to relax, plus a cocktail bar and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is also a games room and outdoor swimming pool (heated May through to September). The lift serves most rooms although all floors are split level with some immediate stairs. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliot Hotel Newquay
Eliot Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing