We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWQUAY 2014”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NEWQUAY 2014”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Eliot Hotel Newquay from the 29th June 2014 for seven days on a Alfa coach holiday.The hotel is situated about 150 yards from the sea front and close to the shops and amenities leading to the town and harbour.The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful,the food was very good with a good variety on the menu.Our room was spacious and nipping clean.The entertainment in the ballroom was very good with a variety of singers.comedians and a fantastic instrumentalist called Johnnie Morse who played 20 different instruments.Carole our coach driver was very good and informative.All in all it was an excellent holiday with excursions to the Eden project,St Ives,Truro a cider farm and Padstow and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 114 on the first floor which was very clean and spacious with a large shower,3 sets of d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BONNYLAD641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    99
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
106
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we have just returned from a seven day tour to newquay travelliing on an alfa tour this has to be rated one of the best tours we have done a local pickup cases went in coach .next seen outside our rooms in hotel . driver carol brill the hotel in newquay was spot on no fuss at checking in staff there at all times for help the food was outstanding and our waiter philp was amazing talking at the end of tour no one could find fault with this hotel different entertainment every night maybe the pool could have been cleaner and a larger t,v in lounge which did not break down as often but on the whole a very enjoyable time with alfa and the eliot hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Eliot hotel is fine if you're on a coach tour - not sure I'd want to visit as an independent traveller.
It's a very tired looking hotel, but the lovely staff make it a pleasure to stay.
I didn't meet a member of staff who didn't go out of their way to make my stay pleasant.
The rooms aren't very attractive - but they are clean and well maintained. The shower in our room broke during our stay and someone arrived within minutes to check the problem - and it was fixed very quickly.
The staff in the dining room are a pleasure to meet.
They deal with the most awkward of people with a smile.
Sally was a delight - and James is a one man cabaret act who you can't watch without smiling.
The manager is very efficient and seems to run the hotel well.
I do prefer a more 'chatty' manager, but that's my problem - not his.
I do have one complaint about my room - number 207.
Unfortunately it is positioned right above the benches people use to smoke!
The smell at times is disgusting!
It was a very warm week and we couldn't have the windows open because of the smell.
I'm sure if we had complained the lovely staff would have moved us - but the room does have one of the better views.
We decided to put up with the smell because of this.
If you are prepared to take the rough with the smooth this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived in Newquay on 13th June round 1pm First of all my boyfriend and I had got there and they didn't have our booking so we sat there whilst they tried to sort another room. Their was only 1 room left for that night meaning that we would have to change rooms the next day to a different one which we accepted. we were sent to our room, when we got in there, the bed had been slept in, there were wet towels on the floor and empty bottles lying around so clearly WAS NOT ready for us! none the less we left our bags there, went back to reception and advised we didn't mind waiting whilst they cleaned out- an older woman scoffed at us and said she isn't cleaning it as they had a girl walk out that morning and she had loads of other rooms to clean- not really a very customer focused comment is it? Then again we waited for them to find ANOTHER room... they took ages and the older lady was more concerned with calling her manager to explain about that mornings dramas with the member of staff walking out (which we actually witnessed within 10 seconds of arriving) in the end we decided to enquire about another hotel and as we had already paid when we got there, I asked for a refund, they tried to get us to stay but by then I felt it had all been a complete joke.no customer service skills, absolute shambles! When we said we were leaving the older woman looked at us in disgust but why would we want to stay there after that? the room was a box room anyway- and the hotel would be suited to an older clientele. maybe they were just having a bad day but I would not recommend them at all. I can only rate them on face value but that was enough to have us running for the hills to the nearby Kilbirnie hotel which was far more hospitable with better rooms and much friendlier staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Chloe M

We really must apologise for the bad experience you had at the Eliot Hotel. Unfortunately due to a glitch in the email system, the email from Booking.com advising us of your booking did not arrive until after you had left the hotel. On that day there was also a problem in the Housekeeping Department with some staff not coming in due to illness. The “older lady” was the Housekeeper who, as I am sure you will appreciate, was in a bit of a fluster as she had to get the rooms cleaned whilst short of staff. The receptionist and Housekeeper have received many compliments about their excellent customer service skills so I was very surprised to read that you found these lacking. Yes they were having a very bad day but this would not normally have reflected on their relationships with the guests. Once again we apologise most sincerely and hope that one day in the future if visiting Newquay again, you will stay the Eliot Hotel where I can guarantee that you will be made to feel very welcome as do the guests who regularly stay there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel worked for us as it is very central just off the front but needs a make over as very dated - would probably try somewhere different next time in Newquay

The service was great but the rooms are not great

We only had breakfast but this was good

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa7 6nn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

just come back from a 5 day coach holiday with Alfa tours. From beginning to end this was a lovely holiday, the coach journey was smooth and plenty of stops on the way. The Eliot hotel is situated five minutes from the beach and a ten minute walk into town centre. The hotel was warm and welcoming the bedroom wasnt very big but it had everything we needed, the bathroom was decorated really nice and loads of hot water for baths or showers. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfortable, the meals in the dining room had to be the best we have had in a hotel plenty of choice and good portions. The waiters were lovely so pleasant and helpful nothing was too much trouble. the entertainment was fine a wonderful artiste on the last night he played so many different instruments. The beaches are lovely everytime you walked a bit further you came on a different beach. I would have no hesitation on recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank irenewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Fantastic hotel. Lovely helpful staff. Alfa tour. Best hotel we have stayed in. Worth every penny. Clean and comfortable. Just left the hotel after a five day stay. Sorry to leave. Great holiday. Would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel. Filipe our waiter was exeptional.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
837 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#21 of 38 in Newquay
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eliot Hotel - Newquay [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Very well situated, close to Great Western and Tolcarne beaches, only a few yards from the sea front and within easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. 76 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There are three lovely airy lounges in which to relax, plus a cocktail bar and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is also a games room and outdoor swimming pool (heated May through to September). The lift serves most rooms although all floors are split level with some immediate stairs. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliot Hotel Newquay
Eliot Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing