We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deep Green Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deep Green Lodge
Ranked #32 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have only just discovered that Deep Green Lodge has a review page here! My boyfriend and I have been staying at this beautiful bnb for the past three years. From long April weekends, enjoying a week of a September Indian summer to a fortnight in the height of July... Each time has been perfect. Run by a very welcoming and friendly family, it only takes one step through the door to instantly feel at home.

The bnb itself is decorated to accommodate the true Newquay feel, relaxed and down to earth. Everything from cultural souvenirs to the colours on the walls compliment Newquay's surfing ethos, creating the ultimate UK getaway.

I have stayed in two of the ensuite rooms available, both spacious and comforting. The breakfast room equally impresses with a range of breakfast items served each morning.

Mike and Lou who run Deep Green Lodge always go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, and I cannot thank them enough for the efforts they have put in during my stays - including waking up in the very early hours to accommodate my late arrival, receiving an Easter egg at Easter time and even allowing us to borrow a Playstation and films during our two week stay! I also appreciate their knowledge on the local area, having visited Newquay every year for 21 years I am pleased to discover new hidden treasures around the town, particularly when they allow me to avoid the loud party side of town.

Which brings me finally to praise the location, set back from the centre of town, you can enjoy quiet evenings and yet still walk to any of the beautiful beaches or shops/restaurants/pubs in a matter of minutes.

If anyone was to consider a stat in Newquay, I wouldn't hesitate at all to recommend this bnb, I have nothing at all to fault here, it's simply something special. Which is why I'll continue to stay here again and again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepgreenlodge, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write such a lovely review. We do appreciate it very much and we have to say that without such lovely guests our lives/jobs wouldn't be half as good.
Thank you so much x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A friend and I stayed at Deep Green Lodge for 2 nights while exploring the area. The room was spacious, clean and most comfortable. The dining/ communal area was very cosy, the breakfast good and Mike was very helpful with recommending places to see in the area. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniquevdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you so much Monique for taking he time to review us. It was great to have met you a maybe one day we'll see you out in SA....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in May for my 30th with my girlfriend and it was great.
The place itself is very clean with lots of character and we loved the furniture! Location is perfect being far enough away from the main strip to not be noisy, but close enough so that you were either at a beach or a bar within minutes of leaving! The only drawback was that the streets are narrow so if you are driving, parking can be difficult (although we found one more or less straight away) - but I think that would be the same for most places in Newquay!
The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and very relaxed. We loved the idea of this being a very eco-friendly guest house, kind to the environment, but not in a preachy or in your face way - all notices about waste etc were very well constructed and thoughtful. Breakfast had a good choice and included fairtrade cereal, toast, coffee etc.
Another couple who joined us for my birthday also stayed here and had the same great experience. And a great touch of our stay was that on the morning of my birthday, a card was waiting for me on the breakfast table signed by the whole family which I thought was fantastic!
All in all a great stay and we would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hi Jake. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review and for saying such kind words.
I didn't realise we could respond to reviews so now have a lot of responding to do. Many thanks again and you're welcome anytime... Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The owners of this B&B have a great job of creating a stylish, welcoming and relaxing place to stay. It had everything we needed and much more!!!
It's location is right near the gorgeous beaches, shops and places to eat and drink. A great base for anything you might want to do in Newquay.
We all enjoyed our breakfasting the interesting yet cozy breakfast room! I could have just stayed there for the day sampling the tea selection and reading my way through the fascinating book collections.
We loved our stay at the Deep Green Lodge and look forward to our next stay soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hi Jen, David & May.
It was great to have met you and your lovely family. We both thank you so much for taking the time to write a review...
Hope all is going well with you guys and Bristol is treating you good. Hopefully see you again soon.. Mike & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We booked Deep Green Lodge in Newquay because it sounded really earthy, relaxed, and we find that type of accommodation very unusual and appealing. We were not disappointed at all. Mike and Lou are such a lovely couple, very relaxed but super informative too. They are so knowledgeable about Newquay and Cornwall it was such a help for us unfamiliar with this area.

The breakfasts were great, heaps of choice, organic and fresh.

We would love to stay with the family again anytime. Thanks for your hospitality Mike, Lou and the girls!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Sorry it's taken us so long to reply to your lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to do so. It was lovely to have met you both and hope all is well back in Australia. If we ever get the time and money, expect a visit from us all!!!!!!!
Thank you so much again. Mike, Lou and the kids xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at Deep Green for the second time and will most definitey be coming back! The peacefull atmosphere and relaxed vibe is reflective of the loving energy that Mike and Lou put into this most tranquille bed and breakfast. Deep Green Lodge is the perfect retreat to unwind from a busy lifestyle. Lovely place - lovely people - customers for life.
Thanks guys
Phil and Saoirse from Bedforsdhire

Room Tip: Any room's a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipLeslie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hey Phil and Saoirse, hope you are both well and London isn't being too cruel to you both...
Thank you both so much for the review, we do appreciate the effort. We hope to see you both another time. Keep surfing!!
Mike, Lou and kids xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Deep Green is simply the loveliest b and b in newquay, it's easy going, friendly atmosphere induces complete relaxation. a great base to explore the town and beautiful coastline, we've stayed with Lou and Mike a few times now and are looking forward to our next visit already! Thanks Deep Green!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetBevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhbsurf, Owner at Deep Green Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hey Robbie and Ali. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review and writing such kind words. We hope you are both well and little dogger is ok!!
Lou, Mike and kids. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Pengilley Guest House
Pengilley Guest House
#62 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#16 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Waves
Lazy Waves
#34 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trevellis Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Green Lodge

Property: Deep Green Lodge
Address: 31 Trebarwith Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deep Green Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep Green Lodge is a small family run bed and continental breakfast style accommodation in a prime location, less than two minutes walk from Newquay's fabulous beaches.We are situated in Newquay Town centre close to all the shops and nightlife, yet away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We offer a high quality, bed and continental breakfast accommodation.We boast a clean, friendly, relaxed atmostphere where guests can leave all their troubles behind and fully enjoy their holiday. With our three double en-suite rooms we ideally cater towards couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Green Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing