We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value..but........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here last month & had an excellent time.

Whilst the hotels lounges, dining room were very good, I thought our bedroom was the worst we have stayed in on a Shearings holiday. The room was a bit small & tad tatty on the edges, this was not a worry, but the en-suite was poor. The en-suite had a sliding door(because of the size of the room), the door & surrounds were in need of a refurbishment, as was the en-suite itself, it was shabby & the toilet was loose & when you sat on it it moved quite a lot.

This said we cannot fault the rest of our stay, from the food, the staff & the ok entertainment.
The trips out, one bad(Treasure Island) which was just a shopping place & 90% geared to the ladies, & one excellent( Flambards) which definitely made up for the shopping trip.

To summarise, excellent value, just a shame about the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Hi
Thank you for your very constructive comments here on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your holiday with us, but understand your concerns about your room.
Bay Hotels have an ongoing programme of refurbishment, but you can imagine that in a hotel of this size, it takes a long time to cover every room. At present we are a 2 star Hotel and the rooms do fall well within that category. Rooms that have been refurbished fit far more comfortably into a 3 star rating and this is obviously what we are aiming for. We are also looking forward to including superior rooms in the Hotel, whereby you can pay a supplement and be assured of an upgraded room.
Once again, thankyou for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and we hope that your experience will lead to you travelling to more of our 50 hotels!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

I must say when i booked this holiday i was concerned what i would get for the price
i payed.but the holiday was great .the hotel staff were all great and a free bar from
730 to 1030 i will be booking again in new year well done shearings

Room Tip: if you are not happy tell the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Hi thanks for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor, we are finding more and more people use this site to decide where to go, so it really helps to have as many responses from guests who have stayed as possible.
The Bay Inclusive package is really good value for money and is being continued in many of our Bay Hotels for the Spring and we are continuing in the Summer. Obviously you came in November, and although the weather wasn’t too bad, it is so beautiful in the Spring and Summer, a blue sea and sky make such a difference!
Thanks again for commenting and I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Had an excellent value holiday here staying on a Shearings Bay Inclusive package.
Hotel could hardly be better sited with excellent sea/coastal views.
Basic room had been redecorated and with new (small) bathroom, and was serviced very well daily. Food very good, for the price paid, very well cooked and with excellent service. Meal times are rather regimented and rushed though.
Good bar and entertainment suite plus plenty of public space.
Friendly staff through out.
You definately get your money's worth here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stonehengedeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Hi chris and Jess
I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves with us, our staff work so hard to try and please everyone and it is great when someone takes the time to mention them on trip advisor.
Have a great Christmas and see you in the New Year.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day break in the Hotel Beresford with shearings holidays.From beginning to end this holiday was superb and how they do it for the price I will never know. Travelled with Terry a polite, professional driver, a credit to shearings.
Hotel clean and nicely decorated stayed in room 34
.I do not understand the negative reports and can only think that I or they were at a different hotel. My standards are high but realistic for the cost of the holiday,and I was not disappointed.If you want 5* then I am afraid that you will have to pay 5* prices.
The food was plentiful,well cooked and presented,good choice of meals and our waiter Paul was excellent.
The evening entertainment was first class, Caroline was excellent and really funny without being offensive and Jason and all the bar staff were superb. There were never really any queues and the choice of drinks in the all inclusive bar was good.we had a special night for children in need and it was excellent.
The trips out were varied and added to the total holiday. we especially enjoyed Flambards and the cider farm and had a really nice cream tea for £3.50,all home made.
All in all superb value excellent staff and driver,we will return.
have booked for January.
we are aged 57 and 60 and very fit and young at heart.
Thank you
Chris and Jess

.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 12172013ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have just returned from a five day break at the Bay Beresford Newquay i was a little concerned at first on what we would be letting ourselves in for, but it was to say the least fantastic. Made all the better by the staff from the Manager down to the handyman, very professional in all matters the food was excellent and a varied choice each night breakfast again very good and the evening was passed in the capable hands of Jason the head barman whose polite manner and care towards his job and customers was second to none. We will return as soon as practicable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cal340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Hi

It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations, the Bay Inclusive is such a good deal and this shows in the full house that we had when you visited.

Many of our hotels run the Bay Inclusive throughout the winter and Spring, and some, including the Beresford carry on throughout the Summer, so even if you don’t get down to Newquay again, there is plenty of choice within the group.

Thanks again for mentioning so many of the staff, it definitely takes a team to keep us running smoothly and its such a boost to be recognised.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Having had to move our holiday to Scotland due to death in family Shearings found us an alternative holiday in Cornwall which was ironic as we lived there 12yrs ago. We paid extra for a ,seaview room which was very good. The staff so friendly and helpful.The food was very good with a good selection. The entertainment was excellent, probably the. best we have had in this type of hotel. If I had to find fault with anything, it would be the times of the meals, i.e. breakfast could be earlier, if only half an hour, to allow more time for the excursions, although we did not go on any of these, as we hired a car through the hotel, a local company which was excellent value 3 days for £75. Well done Beresford, keep it up.

Room Tip: Seaview room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsyj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the holiday. I think that Newquay is a perfect base for touring Cornwall, being centred in the middle of the County.
We did struggle with breakfast time when you were here and have now changed the times to try and make breakfast a little more relaxed – always a challenge when we are full with 200 guests!
We make sure that all our staff see the comments on Trip Advisor, they really appreciate that you have taken the time to mention them and our Chef is delighted that you enjoyed the food.
Perhaps now you have been back and re-discovered Cornwall you will come again!
Kind regards
Jackie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Loved it, staff good, position good...... entertainment ,well it was ok. Best beds we have slept in and found the standard of the room very clean.We had the low room 119 as it was for disabled,only thing was it was on the car park one side and and the entertainment room on the other,so inclined to be a bit noisy.Thought it needed a radiator in the bathroom tho as can imagine would get very cold in the winter,there was only a small towel rail,also the sink!!!!!! well if you are a carer you would have to sit down to get a wash, and beware of turning the tap on full.
But these were only little things,on the whole it was enjoyable.I took a wheelchair but you need to be fit to push it around Newquay, Flambards day out was lovely,so was the cider farm,need you wonder why! Cant say a thing wrong about the food....... loved it.

Room Tip: 119 disabled room,bit noisy, but noise stops at around 11....... take an i_pod and plug in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Hi

Thanks for your comments, it always helps us when constructive points are raised, and we will certainly look into the heating in that bathroom – I would agree that it is a big room to be heated by one towel rail!

We have just found a company in Newquay that hire out scooters at a very reasonable cost for the day or the week, so maybe next time you come, we could organise this for you and you wouldn’t have to push!

Our Chef and staff have read your review and are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel, the food and the beds!!

All of our Hotels have a disabled room to a similar standard – just go through to our help desk when you book and they will be able to give you all of the information.

Thanks again

Jackie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £44 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing