We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel with a great sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London NW10
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel with a great sea view”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed four days at this hotel, as part of a Shearing’s holiday.
Although parts of the hotel are looking a little tired (the lifts are particularly quint), the room was clean, comfortable with a great sea view.
The service was excellent and the food first class. Overall excellent stays offering a very good vale for a four-day weekend stay.

Room Tip: Front single rooms have a double bed and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    355
    148
    42
    33
See reviews for
108
486
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

T he hotel was comfortable and quite well appointed.All staff helpful and polite.Food okay but the whole hotel is a little tired.we found the main rooms rather chilly but our room-216 was impossibly hot.Despite it being the end of Feb we had the radiator off,the window wide open night and day and slept naked without even a sheet. We could not sleep as were so hot. Here at home the heating is on,the window closed,we had nightwear on and a 10.5 tog duvet! Clearly the room needs a thorough examination to find the cause of the heat.

Room Tip: ist floor front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

we have just returned from the Beresford we had 4 lovely days there the staff were very good the hotel was clean and very well laid out the food was well cooked and plenty of it the trips out were great fun and jason our driver was brilliant and very well informed he made the days out such fun i would like to thank you all and we will be coming back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Beresford 31st Jan to 5th Feb2012 we were on a Shearings break. 11 of us in all we had an absolutely brilliant time. The journey down was a safe and comfortable ride due to Jason our driver. The trips out were very good and Jason's knowledge of the area made them very interesting. On arrival we were met by the duty manager quickly checked in and in no time at all our luggage was brought to our rooms. The staff from then until the end of the break could not do enough for you especially our lovely waitress. On the Wednesday it was my 70th birthday and the staff allowed my friends to decorate the dining area where we were all sat and kept the birthday cake in the kitchen until asked to bring it. THey made my day very special. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no reservations about going back there again. Even a power cut for a couple of hours one evening didn't spoil anything we all saw it as quite amusing and in fairness to the hotel they did open the bar 1 hour earlier so thank you everyone at the Beresford for all youyr hard work.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sachadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that we were able to make your 70th Birthday special.
Jason is a very knowledgeable driver and always makes the trips out so interesting, and just seeing Cornwall from his perspective is good fun! Cornwall always looks beautiful, but in January it is not always at its best, especially with the cold weather. Maybe next time you come, you would consider April or May, which are just glorious.
Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nice location food very good hotel staff good apart from bar staff overall not bad entertainment so so

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
HI
Glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, it is great to get good feedback on trip advisor.

The All inclusive product has changed this week and the time restrictions have been removed, so whilst drinks are no longer unlimited, you can take advantage of them whenever you choose, this has only started this week, but the comments have been really good and bar staff are finding that they are having more time to talk to guests and provide a more relaxed service.

Thank you for commenting

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here 6th Feb -10 2012 . It was a very pleasant experience, Staff where fantastic. rooms clean and comfortable , Food was well presented and good portions. Our waitress Jenna , Did an excellent job. Thank you all for a memorable . week. As this was our Golden wedding Anniversary. A+B McKenna.

Room Tip: ask for room 3. overlloking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JETRINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi Mr and Mrs McKenna
Many congratulation on your Golden Wedding Anniversary, I was on holiday whilst you were here, but am delighted that our staff made your holiday memorable, Jenna was especially pleased to be personally mentioned.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor
Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at The Beresford Hotel in Newquay on a Shearings 5 day break from 13th February to 17th.
This was a return visit the last being a few years ago. We had a twin room and a single. The journey by coach went very smoothly with ample breaks on the long journey down. On arrival we were welcomed by the duty manager and our cases were swiftly brought to our rooms. Our rooms were on the first floor as requested, they were clean, and had all you would need for a short break, including hairdryers, hot drinks facilities and small flat screen tvs in the rooms.
The food was of a very good quality and servings were ample, with a variety of choice. We were served by Katie, who was very pleasant and friendly. She ensured a quick service for her tables in the restaurant and brought what you asked for.
The break included breakfast, evening meal, wine with your dinner and drinks from the bar from 7.30 -10.30.
We purchased lunch on our free at leisure day in the hotel. We ordered sandwiches, hot toasties and a bowl of chips. The food was of good quality, portions and service very good. The cost was similar to what you would pay in the local cafes in town.
The entertainment was good with the exception of one night were a stand in act came last minute due to illness.
Also included was 2 trips. A half day to treasure park, which was a jewellry centre. The other a full day out to Flambards, followed by a trip to a cider farm. These were very enjoyable days out. Flambards is excellent, but anyone going should be aware that only the exhibition cenre is open till March, and a little less time is required than that given.
The coach driver, Terry is very good and knowledgeable about his trips. All the staff in the hotel worked very well together and were happy to provide assistance if required.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tempo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi
Thank you for your very positive comments, I am sure it must help potential guests get an idea of what we are about it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves!
Katie is one of our most experienced waitresses and has worked for us for 3 years now, she is a lovely girl and a delight to work with. We all take our jobs very seriously and are so pleased when guests like yourselves actually take the time to mention us on Trip advisor.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of meeting you again, but if not, please checkout other Hotels in the Bay Group that offer the same great value for money.
Kind regards
Jackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing