We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Uk
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Good value for money for a short break”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Like the majority of reviewers we stayed at the Beresford on Shearings coach trip. We were hoping for a decent room with good food and evening entertainment and that is what we got. The staff were all welcoming, our waitress Jenna was efficient and friendly. The arrangements for drinks suited us, the voucher for four a day was more than enough. The drinks were good quality, branded spirits and the Stowells wine collected at the bar to have with dinner was quite drinkable. I would have prefered my after dinner brandy served in a brandy glass rather than a half pint but a minor critisism, it tasted ok and it was good to be able to use the voucher for coffee and soft drinks as well as alcohol. The entertainment room could do to have more comfortable seating and more heating. All the public rooms were too cold for comfort.
We had a sea view room which was adequate for a short stay. Plenty of hot water for the shower and towels changed daily. Very small old fashioned TV but not a problem, we dont go away to watch TV. Ample supplies of tea, coffee and milk. The suppy of milk was exceptional, usually we have to ask for more even in better rated hotels but no shortage here. The room was quite dated but clean. bed smaller than we are used to and not too keen on the sheets and blankets, prefer a quilt but managed ok. It was like going back to the 70s, but not necessarily in a bad way. We had a problem with the heated towel rail not working. We reported it to reception and they sent someone to fix it almost straight away. We couldn't fault the service in any way.

We enjoyed all the food apart from the fish and chips, too processed. The soups were all excellent and apple pie delicious. Breakfast would have been better served hotter and prefer thicker toast but for what we paid we were more than satisfied. I would say the hotel is nearer 3 star than the 2 star it is rated as. The included trips with Shearings were a bit disappointing. The half day to a jewellery shop in the middle of nowhere was a waste of time and a bit of a cheek to have to pay extra to go to Falmouth, it should have been included in the trip. We caught the local bus to Truro on our free day, despite the warning from our driver that it would take 2 hours, it was only 40 mins on the direct bus on the way back. On the way there we chose to go the long way stoping at all the villages, quite an experience. It did take a long time as the driver chatted to everyone as they boarded the bus. He called everyone me handsome and even stopped to get a cauliflower for his tea! Just like buses used to be years ago. The other day out with Shearings to Flambards was ok but too long at the museum, it would have been better to have gone to one of the many picturesque villages in the area for an hour instead of hanging around with nothing to do. If we return to cornwall on a coach holiday we would hire a car and not bother with the Shearings trips.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

You have put a great, comprehensive report in, which should help other potential travellers decide to come, so thank you.

We like the new voucher system also, it seems far more relaxed and flexible and you obviously found this to be the case. This system is now being carried on at the Beresford all Summer, and into the winter breaks.

Just to mention your more negative comments, some of the TV’S are still pre-digital and are on a replacement programme, so hopefully next time you come the flat screen will have reached your room! I completely accept that brandy tastes better in a good glass and am looking to ensure that we have a good stock of these in future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you at the Beresford again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    366
    151
    43
    36
See reviews for
111
503
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Although the rooms were clean and staff very friendly, this hotel did not meet our expectations. We have stayed at several other Bay hotels which have been better. The main meals were very bland, flavourless and often lukewarm. Portions were large but we would have preferred smaller amounts that were more appetising. Breakfast was ok and the porridge was good. We usually enjoy the entertainment but found it not so good this time, the exception being on the second night when Jez Luton filled in for an organist who couldn't make it at the last moment apparently. Jez was brilliant singing a good selection of songs to suit everyone, we especially enjoyed the country and Elvis ones. It seemed strange that we only had soap in our room as other Bay hotels supply more toiletries. We had to go out to buy shower gel. Our room was okay and the bathroom had a heated towel rail but my sister-in-law's room, no 210 had no heating in the shower room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

I am so sorry that we didn’t manage to meet your expectations, we do strive to give the service and facilities that you would expect from Bay Hotels and from a 2 star Hotel, and always take any criticism or complaint extremely seriously.

It is always a good idea to tell us of any issues whilst you are here, for instance, as a Bay Hotel we do not a generally provide any toiletries except for soap, but we always have a good supply behind Reception and would have been only to happy to let you have some.
I hope that your experience will not stop you from travelling with Shearings again, but why not look at the Coast and Country Hotels, they do provide that little bit extra, in terms of food and accommodation, just look at the Website and see the pictures!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here on 4 day Shearings break 2nd to 5th March 2012.
Parts of the hotel looked "lived in" but was more than compensated for by the cleanliness and service especially in the dining room.
Food choice and quality were excellent.
Not big drinkers so being able to use the vouchers at any time and also on tea and coffee was a bonus.

Room Tip: 215 does not have sea view but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shopegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

I am delighted that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed that service and the food. We hope to see you back in Newquay again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Beresford Hotel at Newquay on 27th Feb on a four night Shearings coach holiday which we thouroughly enjoyed. The hotel is in a good position and overlooks the sea. We were happy with our room which was clean, and had a comfortable bed. There was a hair dryer in the room, and Tea/coffee ect were replemished daily, as were the towels. The only thing wrong was that the toilet in our room sometimes took a long time before it would flush. Their was plenty of choice at breakfast with cerials, prunes, cooked breakfast, toast, jam and marmalade. There was a complementry drink to have with your three coarse evening meals, which were delicious every day, and tea/coffee afterwards, We were also given four drink vouchers per person per day which was ample for us. I did feel that it was slightly too compact in the dining room, but worth putting up with. The staff were exelent and went out their way to help and make your stay nice. The lift only took two people at a time but this was not a problem for us and we never had to wait very long for it. There was a sheltered outdoor smoking area, I would recomend this hotel to my family and friends and would gladly go back again. .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to comment on trip advisor. This Hotel is in a great central location for Newquay, but also for touring Cornwall, which is just beautiful at the moment.

The voucher system really seems to be a good step in the right direction and I hope that your comments will re-assure any potential guests with concerns that it is still an excellent deal!

We hope to see you in Newquay again in the future and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hello,i am coming on a shearings coach trip to the Beresford hotel at Newquay on 15th sept,ive been to newquay many many times over the years and have always wanted to stay at the beresford and admired it everytime ive been to newquay,each time ive been to newquay i keep saying il stay there one day,,my parents,grandparents and even great grandparents back in the 80s have stayed here n loved it and loved being with shearings.i know the drinks vouchers have gone from unlimited to 4 a day but im not a drinker so thats ok for me,the sea views from the hotel look fantastic and looking forward to the excursions shearings are providing us especially flambards..roll on september looking forward to coming..

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank petermakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at the Beresford before and found everything reasonably ok so we were quite happy to book again for 2nd March 2012 thinking that all the all inclusive bar would be open from 7.30 'til 10.30 pm and still meant the bar was available freely for drinks during this time.
Sadly we had a letter this morning ( 4 days before we were due to leave home for this break )
telling us of the change in policy re A I bar, it will now be a maximum of 4 drinks per person per day. What a rip off !!! This was never disclosed when we booked the break and this new policy only came into force in Feb and we booked the holiday in Jan. On complaining we were told this was in responce to customer 'feed back', how many guests book an A I holiday which only give them 4 drinks per day? not many I'm sure. We were not offered a refund and told that it was unfortunate that we did not feel happy about situation. If you are not happy with what is happening COMPLAIN. I was told customer feed back was in favour. Yes I'm sure.

Room Tip: Don't chose room 216
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London NW10
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed four days at this hotel, as part of a Shearing’s holiday.
Although parts of the hotel are looking a little tired (the lifts are particularly quint), the room was clean, comfortable with a great sea view.
The service was excellent and the food first class. Overall excellent stays offering a very good vale for a four-day weekend stay.

Room Tip: Front single rooms have a double bed and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
870 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing