We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff made this a fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff made this a fantastic break”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The long weekend we had at this Bay hotel was fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the welcome we received on arrival was second to none. Our room was very spacious and clean, with superb bedding. The dining room was also spacious with plenty of room and not elbow to elbow like some other Bay hotels. The new system of drink tokens works so well, it's a pity this was not introduced a long time ago, whoever thought this up should get some recognition!! I will recommend this hotel and the wonderful staff to all my friends. Just like to add, on getting home I thought I had lost a gold bracelet, I called the hotel straight away and was told the chambermaid would move all the furniture and search the room, embarrassingly I found the missing bracelet the next day, on telephoning the hotel, they had indeed carried out a complete search as promised and were just pleased I had found the "missing" bracelet. How many other hotels would go to this bother?

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview room, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17Coachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hello,
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we love pleasing our guests, it really brightens our day! I agree that the new voucher system is so much better, everyone seems more relaxed, which is just what a holiday should be.

WE hope to see you again soon and thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    365
    151
    43
    36
See reviews for
110
502
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a selfdrive 4 night break on all inclusive deal which represented good value for money. Staff helpful, food good and service quick and efficient. Inclusive drinks all day policy now much better than previously limited to evenings. Good size double room with bath and plenty of very hot water.
However, the Hotel seemed rather tired and worn. The lifts only took 2 'smallish' people huddled together at any one time! Bar area seemed small at peak times. The bedroom although a good size again seemed tired and in need of refurbishment. It was very disappointing to find that there was still a small 14" analogue portable tv with only 4 channels and no text or freeview in the room, nor any wifi. These days we would expect to find flat screen freeview tvs and free wifi as standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greypowerKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi
You have mentioned some of the issues that are slowly being resolved, whilst an ongoing refurbishment programme is in place, we agree that some of the rooms are ready for an update! The TV’s are getting replaced quite rapidly now and hopefully, if you decide to visit us again, a flat screen freeview TV will be in place. As far as I am aware there are no plans to put Wifi in as
Thankyou for your comments

Kind regards
standard at the moment.

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My group came (and are still here!) on a long weekend stay from Bristol. Overall, everything was fine and the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us, especially in the dining room where the service was faster than a MacDonalds restaurant! Katie was a little brusque when telling people they had to sit in the same seats each day, but she more than made up for this with her caring attention to detail when looking after her diners(which is so often lacking in hotels in this country), especially when I was late breakfast this morning!
Upstairs, the rooms were clean and warm with fresh towels provided daily. The bed was comfortable and the bed linen fresh and clean.
In the evenings the entertainment provided was average in my opinion but seemed to be appreciated by most who partook.
We were disappointed with the decision
to replace the free bar(sold to us at booking) with 4 drinks vouchers per night, but I won't harp on about it as it will affect who we book through next year. We were also limited to 1 lager and one smooth-type bitter which was vile - I would encourage the hotel to include Guinness in its free offering. Spirits and a mixer were included though thank goodness.
My overall impression is that hotel management listen to customer feedback and have made substantial improvements in recent years - especially when I read reviews from 2009/10 on this site. A few people in my party raised issues with Reception about their rooms on day 1 and as far as I'm aware these were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner to the satisfaction of both sides.
Don't expect luxury when you come here, but do expect value for money and a basic standard of comfort.
I thank the staff and management for their attentiveness and would even venture a "well done".
<D Guyot>

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frango6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi
Thankyou for putting in such a comprehensive and fair assessment of your stay with us. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the overall holiday, and I understand some of your reservations.
Katie is generally a great waitress and deals so well with every type of guest, she must have been having a bad moment when she was brusque with you, but from what you say, she did make up for it during your stay.
In the bar, we have actually gone back to using well named brands for the sprits, and this is a good step forward, the problem with guiness is that we don’t sell enough to warrant getting a keg of it in, and we therefore use the “surger system” and this is not a cheap option. We have included it on the “upgrades” and this does in some way go to trying to resolve the problem.
I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves, you were certainly a lively bunch, and I hope that you will consider using Shearings again next year.
Kind regards
Jackie Culiffe
General
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just back from a long weekend break..... Rooms nice and clean and cosy. We had room204. We had requested sea facing room (cost extra) but it was worth it. Fantastic view of Tolcarne beach. Food okay but could be a little warmer. - waitresses work very hard as do the cleaners etc, well done!!! For the price we paid aprox £ 119.00 each good value. Caroline the Friday entertainer was excellent. We had sandwiches in the afternoon for which we paid extra they were very good value and came with side salad etc.
We will probably try another oneofthese hotels now. We did not come by coach but travelled by car

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brayonie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

Thank you for your comments, its great to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the service. I was a bit concerned that the food wasn’t hot enough for you, and Chef and I have had a look at ways to overcome this, its always helpful to get constructive feedback to help us improve.

I hope you do get to try more of our Hotels, there is a great choice of hotel and location, and the web site shows some fabulous pictures of them. Have you looked at the Coast and Country Hotels as well, they are still part of the group, but just a bit more special.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Uk
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Like the majority of reviewers we stayed at the Beresford on Shearings coach trip. We were hoping for a decent room with good food and evening entertainment and that is what we got. The staff were all welcoming, our waitress Jenna was efficient and friendly. The arrangements for drinks suited us, the voucher for four a day was more than enough. The drinks were good quality, branded spirits and the Stowells wine collected at the bar to have with dinner was quite drinkable. I would have prefered my after dinner brandy served in a brandy glass rather than a half pint but a minor critisism, it tasted ok and it was good to be able to use the voucher for coffee and soft drinks as well as alcohol. The entertainment room could do to have more comfortable seating and more heating. All the public rooms were too cold for comfort.
We had a sea view room which was adequate for a short stay. Plenty of hot water for the shower and towels changed daily. Very small old fashioned TV but not a problem, we dont go away to watch TV. Ample supplies of tea, coffee and milk. The suppy of milk was exceptional, usually we have to ask for more even in better rated hotels but no shortage here. The room was quite dated but clean. bed smaller than we are used to and not too keen on the sheets and blankets, prefer a quilt but managed ok. It was like going back to the 70s, but not necessarily in a bad way. We had a problem with the heated towel rail not working. We reported it to reception and they sent someone to fix it almost straight away. We couldn't fault the service in any way.

We enjoyed all the food apart from the fish and chips, too processed. The soups were all excellent and apple pie delicious. Breakfast would have been better served hotter and prefer thicker toast but for what we paid we were more than satisfied. I would say the hotel is nearer 3 star than the 2 star it is rated as. The included trips with Shearings were a bit disappointing. The half day to a jewellery shop in the middle of nowhere was a waste of time and a bit of a cheek to have to pay extra to go to Falmouth, it should have been included in the trip. We caught the local bus to Truro on our free day, despite the warning from our driver that it would take 2 hours, it was only 40 mins on the direct bus on the way back. On the way there we chose to go the long way stoping at all the villages, quite an experience. It did take a long time as the driver chatted to everyone as they boarded the bus. He called everyone me handsome and even stopped to get a cauliflower for his tea! Just like buses used to be years ago. The other day out with Shearings to Flambards was ok but too long at the museum, it would have been better to have gone to one of the many picturesque villages in the area for an hour instead of hanging around with nothing to do. If we return to cornwall on a coach holiday we would hire a car and not bother with the Shearings trips.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

You have put a great, comprehensive report in, which should help other potential travellers decide to come, so thank you.

We like the new voucher system also, it seems far more relaxed and flexible and you obviously found this to be the case. This system is now being carried on at the Beresford all Summer, and into the winter breaks.

Just to mention your more negative comments, some of the TV’S are still pre-digital and are on a replacement programme, so hopefully next time you come the flat screen will have reached your room! I completely accept that brandy tastes better in a good glass and am looking to ensure that we have a good stock of these in future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you at the Beresford again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Although the rooms were clean and staff very friendly, this hotel did not meet our expectations. We have stayed at several other Bay hotels which have been better. The main meals were very bland, flavourless and often lukewarm. Portions were large but we would have preferred smaller amounts that were more appetising. Breakfast was ok and the porridge was good. We usually enjoy the entertainment but found it not so good this time, the exception being on the second night when Jez Luton filled in for an organist who couldn't make it at the last moment apparently. Jez was brilliant singing a good selection of songs to suit everyone, we especially enjoyed the country and Elvis ones. It seemed strange that we only had soap in our room as other Bay hotels supply more toiletries. We had to go out to buy shower gel. Our room was okay and the bathroom had a heated towel rail but my sister-in-law's room, no 210 had no heating in the shower room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

I am so sorry that we didn’t manage to meet your expectations, we do strive to give the service and facilities that you would expect from Bay Hotels and from a 2 star Hotel, and always take any criticism or complaint extremely seriously.

It is always a good idea to tell us of any issues whilst you are here, for instance, as a Bay Hotel we do not a generally provide any toiletries except for soap, but we always have a good supply behind Reception and would have been only to happy to let you have some.
I hope that your experience will not stop you from travelling with Shearings again, but why not look at the Coast and Country Hotels, they do provide that little bit extra, in terms of food and accommodation, just look at the Website and see the pictures!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here on 4 day Shearings break 2nd to 5th March 2012.
Parts of the hotel looked "lived in" but was more than compensated for by the cleanliness and service especially in the dining room.
Food choice and quality were excellent.
Not big drinkers so being able to use the vouchers at any time and also on tea and coffee was a bonus.

Room Tip: 215 does not have sea view but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shopegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hi

I am delighted that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed that service and the food. We hope to see you back in Newquay again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing