We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Catterick Village
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just returned from a Shearings 7 night break.
We joined our coach at the interchange and were delighted to realise that our driver was Jason, who had already a glowing review on Trip advisor ! We have to say he lived up to the review ! He kept us very well informed throughout the holiday about Cornwall and its History, helpful with advice at all times, not forgetting his sense of humour...Shearings you have a Yorkshire Gem in Jason!
On arrival at the Beresford, we found the blind on our shower room was not working and the room overlooked the front and had clear glass.....we were immediately given another room.
A problem with the washbasin plug was also resolved immediately... the room was clean although shabby in places ie...divan base had holes and frayed...but mattress was very comfortable as were the pillows...linen was immaculate..as were the towels....There was evidence of damp on the walls and a fusty damp smell when entering our room...and the furniture chipped in places.. We had problems with reception on TV but this was resolved by Jason....?trainee manager. We realise the Hotel is only 2star....and overall value wise this was acceptable.
Dining room was light and airy...although it was difficult for staff to serve sometimes because of space between chairs....Staff were very efficient and helpful....just to mention Rachael who was our Waitress for the week...service with a smile !! Choice of meals and quality and portion size was good....Breakfast was the best cooked in the 4 coach holidays we have had this year!!!
Bar staff were quick, efficient and definitely service with a smile and a joke. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient also . The attitude and friendliness of all the staff at the Beresford make this a delightful place to stay.....I hope Shearings realise this and maybe will consider investing in renovating this Hotel !
We cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not participate, although fellow travellers seemed to enjoy it.
The trips included and the optional ones were all excellent and once again Jason was an excellent guide.....
Overall this was a very relaxing and pleasant holiday and very good value for money..we would visit the Beresford Hotel again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view...worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi

Thank you for your very balanced comments, which will really help people reading about the Beresford get a clear idea of the Hotel and the Shearings Package they may be considering.

I am delighted you mention Rachel, she is a new waitress and settling in very well, but your personal comment will really please her.

We hope you do decide to come back and see us in Newquay, Shearings are looking at changing some of the tours, so you would hopefully see different parts of our beautiful county.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    346
    146
    42
    33
See reviews for
107
477
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just had a week at this hotel. Yes, it is in need of a refurb but apart from the sqeaky floorboards above us we had a lovely time. Despite the odd rainy day! The meals were fine (veg a bit overdone, but ok). My only quibble - would prefer a duvet to a hairy blanket! Staff were all attentive, particularly the long haired lad in the bar, he made me laugh. The Jubilee celebrations on the Tuesday were fantastic and really made our day as it was also our wedding anniversary. Not too keen on the outing to Treasure Island, we felt it was rather a waste of time and the steam train was a bit of a dissappointment. Nothing to see through the windows but the embankment! We will definately be going on another Shearings holiday to Cornwall and would highly reccomend them for value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade, better views and accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Linda
I am so glad you enjoyed your break with us, especially the Jubilee celebrations. I was actually on holiday when you came and didn’t get to join in the party, but its great to hear that it all went well and you had a memorable wedding anniversary.

The steam train problem has been sorted out, and the journey now is through some beautiful Cornish countryside, which makes a huge difference.

I think you are right, our Hotel is situated right on the sea front and there is nothing better than watching the atlantic rollers coming in, paying that bit more the view is well worth it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor .

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just returned from an excellent value Shearings holiday at Bay Beresford Hotel. It's an old hotel so yes it has the odd squeaky floorboard but who cares? It is right opposite the most amazing beach a great view even on a wet and windy day -and we had a few of those last week. The meals were excellent. Choice was varied, food was hot,table service was excellent.
Rooms were clean, entertainment was fun. Reception was efficient ,friendly and helpful. The busy bar staff were always pleasant and welcoming. Very relaxing holiday, all in and the customer service standards at the Beresford were up there with some of the best I have experienced.
It's a proper lovely holiday hotel and has a friendly, homely feel to it . Well done to all at the Beresford and thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Jackie
Its great to hear that you had a good time with us, and thankyou for letting everyone know on trip advisor. We do try hard to please everyone and all the staff, from the Head Chef to the boys who take up the cases, takes a pride in their job, and as Manager, this makes the Hotel a great place to work.
I hope that you will get the chance to try other Bay Hotels, many of them are situated in fantastic locations and offer excellent value for money.
Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

spent 7 nights here from 26 may. In spite of being informed that we were both disabled, we were given a room on 3rd floor. Access up 7 steps through fire door, up 2 steps to room, 2 steps down into bathroom! Beds very uncomfortable springs gone in mattresses, room dirty needed a deeo clean. TV only received 4 channels (not even channel 5)! interference so bad it gave us a headache. Food generally cold or tepid and veg hard to eat, saw a lot of ffod go back. Staff OK but wouldn't stay there again.Entertainment reminiscent of a working men's club

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anne marie t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi
I was really concerned to read your comments, and am unable to respond fully to you as I would need to check your booking and I do not have that information. I do know that the week you stayed we had availability, and anyone of our Reception staff would have tried to ensure that you were comfortable. We certainly do not take pleasure in seeing anyone struggle and ultimately have an unenjoyable stay.
Our food wasn’t to your expectation and I am sorry for this, the comments you make are not ones that we experience regularly, our Chef takes great pride in his work and would have worked hard to satisfy your requirements had he known of them.
Please have a look at our Coast and Country Brand, which is still part of Shearings, but the Hotels are of a higher rating and may suit you better, but be sure to let our Special Helpline know of your mobility requirements.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor.
Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Never been on a Shearing coach holiday before, didn't really know what to expect, only booked on the Wednesday afternoon and traveled on the Sunday. The set up and organisation of Shearing's is amazing. Our driver from Yorkshire to Newquay, and while we were there, for day trips was really friendly and supplied plenty of useful information, he has worked this hotel for 6 years, well done Jason. When we arrived what was a really nice touch, the hotel manager came onto the coach to welcome us and explain the check-in. First impressions were promising,but my room- 315??, it was clean, had TV, T making facilities, soft fluffy white towels, comfy bed, BUT REALLY IS IN NEED OF A REFURB. No I didn't complain As a late booking there was a huge reduction, had I have paid the full price I would have been disappointed and expected a better standard.I found ALL the staff to be very friendly.MEALS- Breakfast--cereals,fruit juices,yoghurt, prunes, grapefruit,porridge,followed by a good choice all served hot, slight wait for grilled kippers, but worth it. Evening dinner-Starter- fruit juice,soup plus 1 other,Main-chefs special or 2 other choices + veggie choice or assorted salads, 3 desserts or cheese/biscuits/grapes & celery, tea or coffee. I found the portions to be just right, but some might have wanted more. The evening entertainment, Bingo, quiz , singer.Taking everything into consideration ,I would return to this hotel,you make your own mind up !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank moje048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor, its a really good way for us to know what we are getting right (and sometimes wrong!)

Room 315 is one of our more “tired rooms”, and although it is fully fitted and equipped, it is ready for refurbishment. We have a full refurbishment plan in place, but it is a mammouth task, with 103 bedrooms and miles of corridor. I am glad that you found the room to be clean and the bed comfortable.

You obviously enjoyed the other parts of your holiday, including the food and the entertainment and this is what we enjoy hearing.

Thank you again for commenting
Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

just returned from a 6 night stay.nice hotel,good food,great entertainment.Staff all really friendly and helpful.Jenna our waitress was very pleasant. marvelous value for money would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Brian
Jenna will be delighted to see your comment, she really enjoys her job and it makes her day to get mentions like yours.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here in Newquay again soon.
Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on a Shearings coach holiday. Typical old seaside hotel,but clean and tidy,also lovely sea views from front bay windows. Staff are very friendly and efficient from management down to housekeeping. Nightly entertainment was good. The menu choice and food were excellent. My husband is a coeliac and diabetic and he was very well catered for.
Would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Have a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi
Thank you for comments, you are right about the sea view, it is fantastic, and even though we see it every day, we do not get tired of it, its just a pity every room hasn’t got the view!
So glad you enjoyed the food and service, we do try to please everyone and get a great sense of satisfaction when it is mentioned on trip advisor.

Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing