We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were 3 persons and stayed here in one room, from the 18 August 2012 for 7 days on a Shearings Coach Holiday.The hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the bay,had a great sea view room,which was well worth the extra payment.Room spacious with good seating,comfortable beds and tea/coffee facilities,nice roomy bathroom with lots of hot water and towels changed daily.Both breakfast and dinner were excellent with different special choices daily,in addition to the daily menues.All staff very friendly.There is a lovely long narrow front sea facing lounge where you can sit enjoying the sea view and sea front.Hotel is only a short walk from the town centre,which has lots of seating on the sea front side overlooking the harbour,and there are lots of nice walking areas adjacent to the hotel with seating.The hotel is a two star and you do get some creaking floor boards,but excellent value for money.Do not be put off by the previous negative reviews about the hotel and Newquay itself.We also had a great driver, Guy, who took us on some excellent tours,a very knowledgeable individual.We all enjoyed a superb Shearings Holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and enjoy the superb sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Hi

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, you are right, the Hotel is in an excellent location and the view is just stunning, no matter what weather conditions we have!

Guy has been a great courier this year, which, consdering that he is not local shows how hard he has worked to pick up the local knowledge and places of interest. Unfortunately he has had an accident and is now having to take time out to recover.

Hope to see you again soon, or maybe look at some of the other beautiful locations of our Bay Hotels.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned fon 8 days holiday at the Beresford hotel and we had a fantastic time. The rooma are basic and do need updating but were clean and towel changes every day. We paid extra for a sea view room[room 49] and were glad we did as the views were fabulous and we spent hours watching the surfers.The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Rachel our waitress she was really lovely.The entertainment was the best we have ever had on a coach holiday,bingo every night,we won 4 times,quizzes most nights,we had 2 comedians which had us in stitches,singers who were also good,brilliant.Now for the downside,the dining room was really hot and stuffy as tables were too close together and the ceiling fans were useless,everybody compained of the intense heat.
Our coach driver Dennis was useless,he didn't speak to us or tell us where we were going until we got there and even then he didn't explain just to say how long we had in each place so once we got off the coach we didn't know where to go and had to keep asking the local people.Ther was no banter or background music at all and he got lost on several occasions.
But overall I would go back to this hotel as we had a really lovely time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Lynn

Thank you for your comments, which are constructive and helpful.

We were aware that the driver you had that week was unfamiliar with Newquay and that this was causing a problem. It has now been resolved, we have a local courier being transferred to us this week and it will make all of the difference.

Rachel will be pleased to be mentioned by you, she is one of our newer waitresses and proving to be an asset.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment and we would love to see you back in Newquay again.

Kind regards


Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and i have just stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We could not fault the service we received. Our double room was very clean and tidy each day due to the hard working chambermaid.The choice of food (which was hot & tasty ) and service each day was fantastic !!! Entertainment was ok.
We really enjoyed the bingo each night.The location was brilliant and enjoyed watching the sunset over the sea-view each night.
The only snag regarding the hotel was the creaking floorboards but then i guess it is an old building. Would we stay there again....YES... in fact i cant wait for my next visit..fingers crossed we shall have a sea-view next time..
Thankyou to all the staff especially the receptionist Jackie and waitress Jenna who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenandchris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Jean and Chris
Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, its great to hear that you had such a good time, and the weather wasn’t too bad either, was it? Those sunsets really are fabulous at this time of the year.
Maybe when you come again request a high floor room and then the only noise you should get are the seagulls pattering about, and yes, I do think that sea views are worth the extra supplement, even on a dull day the ocean looks magnificent.
I will make sure Jenna knows that you enjoyed her service, she will be delighted.
Thanks again

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently returned from a Shearings coach holiday, and having read some some dire reports regarding the Beresford Hotel prior to going, I was expecting the worse, I was pleasantly surprised. The position of the hotel is superb with great views and easy walking to the town, cliff walks, or the beach. Or local buses to other parts of Cornwall. I am not pretending it was 5 star standard, after all it is a 2 star hotel and quite an old one at that. But the room was clean and well maintained every day. The shower was weak but no major problem. The meals relative to the package price of the holiday were very good value, reaonable variety and quite sufficient quantity. Add to that the complimentary wine with dinner plus four more complimentary drinks each day and you could hardly say you were short changed! The entertainment in the evening was good and quite suitable for the age group of the majority of residents and a welcome relief from the usual ear shattering disco. The one thing that was 5 star was the pleasant attitude and service from the staff inspired by the personal involvement of the General Manager, Jackie Cunliffe. The other half of the package relates to the coach tour which covered a variety of attractive locations around Cornwall, and I might also add that our driver, Guy, had the same 'aim to please' attitude and gave the same personal service as the hotel manager.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Steve

Thank you so much for your comments, it shows that trip advisor works well and I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations, even though you have been realisitic in your comments about the Hotel.

I hope that now you will feel confident to visit some of our other Bay Hotels, which are in fantastic locations, or our Coast and Country Brand, which is just a little bit special. Shearings Website gives some great pictures of all of its Hotels that would help you decide.

It was really nice to meet you and your brother in law and thankyou again for your comments.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Beresford which we have been to for many years.Shearing could do with spending money on this hotel it is in a great spot but the building is looking very tired. Our room was comfortable and clean.
Our coach driver Darren did agood job and the excursions were ideal for people who wanted to see lots of Cornwall.
The service in the restaurant was first class by our waitress Katy.There was a good choice of food.
We enjoyed all the entertainment.
All the staff in the hotel were very helpful and polite. Hope to see them again next year.
Judy and family

Room Tip: Seaview are always worth the extra and higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Judy

Thank your for your realistic comments about your Holiday at the Beresford Hotel. You are right, the Hotel is in a fantastic spot and a good position to visit Cornwall.

Shearings are investing in the Hotels but this takes time in such a large hotel, and is not always evident to every guest.

Katy will be pleased to be mentioned, she is a great waitress and always eager to please.

Thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed a week on Shearing coach tour, room was dated, beds hard and noisy when turning over,
hot water tap on bath and hand basin failed to deliver any water at all on more than one occasion.
fire doors to other rooms close with an allmighty bang when late comers enter their rooms.
breakfast not bad,allthough they cant make toast, evening dinner not good at all we ate out on three nights which added to the cost of our holiday, waiting staff were very good.
would we stay there again NO .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank spikeEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Hi
Thank you for your comments, I am unable to look into the water issue you mention as I do not have your booking details, but had the problem been mentioned to us we would have endeavoured to sort it out.

Generally our food acceptance rate is pretty high and I am concerned that you say you had to eat out. Phil our Head Chef takes great pride in his work and tries to accommodate different tastes and diets, what a pity that you did not come to speak to us as we may have been able to help you.

Have you looked at our Coast and Country Hotels, they have a more varied menu with lots of different supplement dishes . These Hotels are based in stunning locations and have more options on Superior and Premier rooms.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I travelled from Canada to stay at this hotel with my sister. I would not even give it a 1 star. We stayed in room 4 on the first floor, thank goodness we could walk up the stairs to that. The room was old, the carpets were badly stained and there was a hole in the ceiling above the window where the rain had come in. EVERYONE was complaining about the elevatoe, it only held two people at a push and was very slow, sometimes it never came at all. Keep in mind that most of these people who go on these holidays are elderly and have mobility problems. The stairs are narrow, steep and dangerous.
My sister has been on lots of Shearings holidays before and she says it is the worst 8 day package she has ever been on.
The food was very basic as was the entertainment, in fact we only stayed one night for the entertainment, the second night was a comedian and his jokes were over the top and we walked out.
We took several day outings and they were very good. Our driver was excellent, he apologised as it was his first trip to Cornwall with Shearings and did not know the area very well, but he did very well.
The change over station at the Cowley services was a nightmare, it was cold and raining and we had to wait in the services to change over from the feeder coach. Then walk to our coach at a certain time after the luggage had been tranferred. The changover manager a very miserable lady authoratarian who was trying to herd us up like cattle going to the market.We had to wait outside in the rain, as the luggage had not been transferred and we were not allowed on the coach until it was.
The date of our trip was the 9th July and on reflection it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
I hope this helps other travellers on deciding whether to book with Shearings, all of their hotels are old and run down and we paid nearly £500 for this trip and it was not worth it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Hi

Thank you for your comments that we take very seriously and have checked out room 4 for the maintenance issues you have raised. It always helps if you report faults at the time of the stay in order that we have a chance to rectify the problem.

I agree, our lift is small, we have 2 and they only take 2 people each, guests with mobility difficulties are always advised of this on booking in order that they can make their own judgement on whether the Hotel will be suitable for them, this is the case with every Hotel owned by Shearings.

You travelled a long way to be with your family and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £44 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing