We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite good experience for a first time with Shearings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A quite good experience for a first time with Shearings”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First time on a Shearings coach holiday staying from 22 October and impressed with coach organisation. Hotel is OK, clean and comfortable with efficient service.
We stayed on second floor with a room at the back. Room large and with adequate storage for belongings. Comfortable bed and had good night sleeps. Room and bathroom kept very clean and tidy daily, although we would have liked one with bath and shower not bath only. A good and working digital TV (that's a change from some hotels!). Plentiful supply on the refreshment tray. Room a little tired perhaps and maybe carpet is ready to be freshened up. We did not book a beach view room as we could not see the point of paying an extra £6 per person per night when we were only likely to be in the room very early morning and in the evening when it was dark at this time of year. So - no views of the shore. We did not miss that. We could see it quite happily from the hotel front anyway.
The dining facilities are fine - reasonable variety with a daily change of menu in the evenings and service very rapid. A most helpful waiter and we had same table each day. However Hotel sticks too rigidly to meal times - 8 am sharp to 9 am and 7 pm sharp to 8.30 pm. We would have liked more flexibilty to avoid a mass of people waiting for the opening. An earlier breakfast start would have been good in our case 7.30 to 9.00. Evenings to start at 6.30. Quality of food was good and nicely presented on the whole - although just one poor one - it was difficult to find the mushrooms in a mushroom stroganoff!!
Overall not a bad experience with the hotel, bearing in mind it is a 2 star one. Good value for money with coach fare included plus two excursions and some free drinks. Happy to recommend for a low priced short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for putting your first experience of shearings Holidays on Trip advisor, I think that anyone interested in taking one of our breaks will find your comments really useful.

Shearings have a good programme of refurbishment going on in their Hotels, and you can imagine this is quite a major operation. The new rooms look really modern and light and we are delighted with the results, and if you return, we hope you will be too.

I was a bit concerned that you felt you had to be in the restaurant at a certain time, our meal times are between 8 am and 9am for breakfast and dinner is between 6.30pm to 8pm and we welcome guests any time between those times. In fact it makes it quite difficult if everyone decides to come in at the same time, it makes it very rushed!

I hope that your first experience leads you to explore the country using Shearings and its 40 Bay Hotels that extend from St Ives in Conwall right up to Doornoch in the Scottish Highlands.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    360
    150
    43
    34
See reviews for
109
491
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Beresford whilst on a Shearings coach trip. What can I say, we paid £90 each for the transport, hotel with meals and this also included 4 drinks each per night.

The communal areas of the hotel were fine, our room was dated but very clean and well serviced daily. It a long time since I slept in sheets and blankets! Towels were changed daily and the refreshment tray in the room was well stocked and replenished daily.

The food was pleasant and whilst it may not be restaurant quality it certainly had something for everyone, the breakfasts were good.

We hired a car ( Cornwall car hire) for the 2 days we were there so we could explore at leisure, the service provided by them was very efficient. We also visited the Eden project was which
superb ( tesco club card vouchers can be exchanged for admission tickets making it excellent value)

The staff in all ares of the hotel were very warm, welcoming and very pleasant.

Would we go back or recommend this hotel?
YES but would perhaps recommend the room upgrade as I had a peep in the room opposite ours and it was much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbedqueen013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
hI

It was good to read your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your first "Shearings Experience" with us. I think that the way you planned your holiday gave you the maximum opportunity to explore Cornwall, and Newquay is pretty central to both the north and south coast.

Your comments about the bedrooms is fair, we are a typical seaside hotel, with lots of nooks and crannies, and different types and sizes of bedrooms. I do think that the sea view is worth the extra supplement, to wake up in the morning and see that view is just fabulous!

We are currently undergoing refurbishment of bedrooms and maybe if you came this way again you would see the difference in the areas that you had concerns in. If you are considering a similiar holiday, why not look at our other Bay Hotels, there are some stunning locations to explore.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Along with a couple of friends, we have Just returned from a very pleasant five day break at the Beresford Hotel, Newquay. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy throughout. We had rooms on the third floor which I would recommend for those without mobility problems as it tends to be very quiet having no guests above you. The staff were all very polite and friendly, it would be unfair to name any individuals because quite frankly they were all good. The menu was varied and the food was plentiful and of a good quality. The evening entertainment was quite outstanding - took us by surprise actually.
We went on a Shearings package deal which included coach travel and a couple of free excursions.
All in all good value for money and to be recommended.

Room Tip: Outstanding views from sea facing rooms. Suggest those with mobility problems request first or seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi Ron

Thank you for a very quck post on your recent stay at the Beresford.

We are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves and that you really liked the entertainment, it makes the evening doesnt it?

I have passed your comments about the food onto Phil, our Head Chef and Anya was delighted that you enjoyed her service.

It never fails to please us when we get comments like yours and I thank you for taking the time to use trip advisor.

Hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Bay Beresford Hotel is a 2 star Hotel owned by Shearings Tours.
Our room, 110, was on the second floor at the rear. The room was clean and tidy and well serviced by our Chambermaid, Tina. The bathroom window did not close and as a result the wind pulled it open during the night leaving leaving the bathroom quite chilly in the morning. We were informed that the maintenance man was on his honeymoon and so the problem could not be rectified. Decor was quite tired and sleep was interrupted by reversing alarms on coaches opposite and delivery lorries quite early in the morning.
The Restaurant food was varied and adequate although the "chef's special" one night was Sausage and Mash, rather a strange choice!
Our Restaurant attendant was Anya, a very pleasant and efficient young lady. On our first evening we asked for a jug of water for the table and it was there for us every night for the rest of our stay, efficient!
All the staff were helpful and accommodating throughout our holiday.
The Hotel has drink voucher scheme which allows each visitor four drinks per night, per person. This scheme is both welcome and good value.
All in all a pleasant stay for all concerned.
The Hotel is 2 star and thought this to be very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venture65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it really does help to know what aspects were good and which require attention.

I am sorry that your window wasnt fixed, yes, our Maintenance Man was on his honeymoon, but this should not have affected you.

If you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope that you will take the time to look at our other Bay Hotels, which are all in stunning locations and offer excelelnt value for money. If you go on our Shearings Website it does give lots of pictures and information.

Thank you again for taking the time to use Trip Advisor

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just got home from spending 7 nights self drive to the Beresford Hotel.The hotel is in a lovely location and very handy for the shops. The Hotel is old and tired looking in some of the rooms but on the whole very clean. Our room was on the second floor over looking another part of the Hotel. It was quite spacious but in need of the ceiling painting it had what looked like flood marks on.It was also very difficult to get a full nights sleep with the people on the 3rd floor with the noise. Late going to bed and getting up at 4.0am. You could hear every footstep. The food was ok with only the last day of running out of what was on the menu. Waitress service was excellent and the rest of the staff very obliging. There was entertainment on every evening although we didnt take part in the bingo or the quizzzes. The only downside was on talking to other self drive people they had got their holiday a whole lot cheaper than us as we had booked three months in advance plus we had to pay £5 per day for car parking. We will go there again but think the Hotel being a Shearings owned caters more for the coach parties than the odd self drive person. which is understandable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor with availability of a lift. A sea view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie01Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi Margaret and John

it is good to get a balanced view of the Hotel and your comments will help other potential guests decide for themselves, so thankyou.

We are a typical 2 star seaside hotel, we love providing a friendly, clean, warm environment that our guests can relax in and enjoy. The staff here have been with us for quite some time, and returning guests always feel like they are meeting old friends!

Newquay is a great place to see Cornwall, it is quite centrally situated and this helps if you are exploring in your own car, we do have several car parking spaces, and if you reserve these, you are assured of that space all week.

Thankyou again for your lovely comments

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The room was large, clean & well maintained
The food was of the usual high standard with excellent waitress service.
Entertainment was great
Yes the hotel is old but full of character, the staff very efficient and friendly
Wonderful location for town and lovely sea views
Would certainly recommend it, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Hi

its great to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us, and thanks for the lovely comments.

We hope you get the chance to come back and visiit us soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were 3 persons and stayed here in one room, from the 18 August 2012 for 7 days on a Shearings Coach Holiday.The hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the bay,had a great sea view room,which was well worth the extra payment.Room spacious with good seating,comfortable beds and tea/coffee facilities,nice roomy bathroom with lots of hot water and towels changed daily.Both breakfast and dinner were excellent with different special choices daily,in addition to the daily menues.All staff very friendly.There is a lovely long narrow front sea facing lounge where you can sit enjoying the sea view and sea front.Hotel is only a short walk from the town centre,which has lots of seating on the sea front side overlooking the harbour,and there are lots of nice walking areas adjacent to the hotel with seating.The hotel is a two star and you do get some creaking floor boards,but excellent value for money.Do not be put off by the previous negative reviews about the hotel and Newquay itself.We also had a great driver, Guy, who took us on some excellent tours,a very knowledgeable individual.We all enjoyed a superb Shearings Holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and enjoy the superb sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Hi

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, you are right, the Hotel is in an excellent location and the view is just stunning, no matter what weather conditions we have!

Guy has been a great courier this year, which, consdering that he is not local shows how hard he has worked to pick up the local knowledge and places of interest. Unfortunately he has had an accident and is now having to take time out to recover.

Hope to see you again soon, or maybe look at some of the other beautiful locations of our Bay Hotels.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing