We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last minute”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at the Beresford Hotel last night, It was booked through Laterooms.com and it was in an ideal location. The room was Clean and Modern, looked recently decorated and the staff were nice and welcoming. Not much of a car park but there was 24 hour parking just a minute walk away charging £5 for 24 hours. Breakfast was ok but nothing special sorry but then for what we paid and what we wanted it was ideal. Would definitely stay there again. oh and the view Amazing...... Its surprising how noisy the sea is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blondie1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi

Thank you for your comments, i am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you lilked the newly refurbished room that you had.

Shearings have an ongoing refurbishment programme and we are seeing improvements everywhere, but, with 103 bedrooms, this will always be a mamouth task.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    367
    151
    44
    36
See reviews for
112
504
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just returned back from a 5day stay at the Beresford hotel, we did a shearings holiday and it was our first. The hotel was very dated and our room was average, the beds were small and the shower very narrow and struggled to move around in there, my husband had to back out of it to get out!!! We didn,t even have a radiator that worked just a little heater which gave off no heat so on the first night we were freezing! After complaining we were told that they would put in another heater as the radiator wasn,t getting fixed till a weeks time and the extra heater did help so we left it at that. The meals were ok but very small and the toast at breakfast was always cold. The staff though were very friendly especially in the restaurant and the staff behind the bar. I wouldn,t come back to this hotel however for the price we payed it was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiss277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
hI

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, and I am very sorry that we didnt meet your expectations. We do work hard to ensure that everyone has a good stay, but have to acknowledge that we dont always get it right. Some of the comments you have made are not ones that we usually see on this site and I have investigated them thoroughly.

Its good to know that despite your reservations, you did see the Hotel as good value for money. Maybe one of our Coast and Country Hotels would be more suited to you, as they have a little more luxury than Bay Hotels and uprgades are avaialble which include larger showers.

Kind regards
Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Recently stayed here on a Shearings holiday with a group of walking friends. The hotel staff couldn't do more to make our stay first class but unfortunately the hotel itself is creaking with old age and things like lifts failed, hot towel rails worked for 2 hours only during the week's stay. The food was OK but firmly in the class of canteen dinners for the evening meal. No complaints at breakfast.

All in all it was value for money, the position of the hotel was superb with local shops nearby and bus stop within 60 yds from hotel door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, I do appreciate the comments you made about the dining area, we have been looking at ways to give a more relaxed experience in the restaurant and have now created an extra dining area and this has been really succesful.

The towel rails are on a timer, which need to be reset after 2 hours if you require them for longer.

Shearings Holidays have 50 hotels across the Country, split into Bay Hotels and Coast and Country Hotels. Most of these locations are great for walking, so I hope you will choose to use us again in the future.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just back from a 5 day stay, 4 sort of, gotta say the food was spot on, 3 courses breakfast and evening meal and plenty of choice!!! The bed was 5 star, so comfy. The shower left somethine to be desired, but the place was spotless!!! The management team were super friendly and always willing to help. The lift is tiny and temperamental, but helped being on the top floor!! John the Coach driver was Great and went out of his way to show us the less 'travelled' route.And Ernesta was a super star at meal times!! the 4 drinks vouchers meant I didn't buy a drink all week!! the little local bus company and the day-rider £10 a ticket for use all day on all buses and trains in Cornwall is brilliant and the scenery is Stunning!!!the bit i disliked the most was the 6am start on the day back, bit of a shock to the system. If you're of the older generation, you may like the entertainment, I could take it or leave it, so left it. 7/10 I'd say overall would go again, worth the price price of the holiday :-) Thank you Jackie and team

Room Tip: 3rd floor is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieanne1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi

Its great to read your comments and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Bay Inclusive deal is excellent value for money, and it makes budgetting so much easier when you know that everything is taken care of!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Jackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just back from a 5 day stay. The hotel has 2 main faults. The first to hit you is the lift it's only about three foot square a bit like an upright coffin, I panicked the moment the doors opened and refused to go in which meant walking up (and down)6 flights of stairs as we were on the 3rd floor.

If you want to be albe to have a shower don't accept room 47. The room is lovely and comfortable and appears to have been recently decorated even the seagulls welcome you by sitting on the window ledge and tapping on the window, they gave us quite a laugh. However open the bathroom door and things are different with old and tired fittings(and very cold). But saying that is was spotless. The problem started when I wanted a shower before going down for the evening meal, My husband managed but said it was very slow, no sooner than I had got in that shower cut out so no shower for me. The next next night the same problem tho neither of us managed a shower. The problem was reported on both nights if it improved I don't know as we resorted to getting up early to enable us to have a shower. The water pressure needs sorting so that people can shower at their leisure. I do know this was not just a problem with our room. The lack of a decent shower did spoil our hotel stay.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly, especially Indre our waitress in the dining room. The food is always hot and tasty but not large portions (acceptable for price paid). Apart from one night the entertainment was very good. The cleanliness of the hotel is spot on. Would have given the hotel 5 stars had it not been for the shower and the lift but it lost one for each of these.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and for giving a comprehensive and fair assessment of your holiday.

I am sorry that there were aspects of your holiday that impaired your full enjoyment. Whilst the lift is small, it is in good working order and does serve a purpose. I know on occassions when it is being serviced or out of order, we realise that a small lift is certainly better than no lift!

We are investigating the problems with the water pressure to room 47.

I sincerely hope that the issues you had with the Hotel do not prevent you from using Shearings Holidays again, there are some fantastic deals out at the moment. You may also consider looking at our Coast and Country Hotels, these offer a little more luxury than the Bay Hotels and supplements are available to upgrade in many areas.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at the Bay Beresford hotel for a few days on a Shearings holiday. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. At mealtimes, our waiter Paul was really good. The 4 drinks per night really helped as well. The only downside was the changeover at Stretton Interchange which was abysmal. No hot meal since breakfast and we were feeling a bit peckish by 3.30 pm and then the bus to bring us the rest of the way home didn't leave till 5.30 pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey2dumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Hi

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked Paul in the restaurant, he is a great waiter and a lovely chap and I know he will be delighted to see your comments.

Thanks for taking the time to comment

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

after reading other reviews, we were disapointed with the Beresford Hotel, yes all the staff were were superb, (bar one who was slow and miserable in the dining room) our bedroom was nice the bed comfortable, but the carpet was stained, and the room a little chilly, felt the room needed a bit of TLC. in fact the whole hotel was a little tired, and the food was not up to shearings usual standard.
But after saying all that we enjoyed our Holiday, the hotel is in a good position, accross the road from the beach, and a short walk to the town, the entertainment in the evening was good, & it was nice to have newspapers in the lounge to read after breakfast.
all in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and I am sorry that you were disappointed, we work hard to try and make everyone's stay as enjoyable as we can but understand that sometimes we dont get it quite right.

The Beresford is a traditional seaside hotel, built at the turn of the last century and has been altered many times to meet the requirements of the modern day traveller, and this is an ongoing project.

We have had many bedrooms refurbished this year and this investment will continue, however, with 103 bedrooms and a huge front of house area, it is never going to be a quick fix!

I hope that you consider using Shearings Holidays again, but maybe look at our Coast and Country Hotels, which offer a little more luxury and more supplemented choice.

Thankyou again for your comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing