We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Beresford Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Western Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$50
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
302
399
158
45
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
399
158
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach drivershearings hotelssea viewper person per daydrink vouchersself drivecider farmtolcarne beachentertainment roomrefurbished roomenjoyable holidaythird floorevening entertainmentbuffet breakfasthotel staffmeal times
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have just spent three nights at the Beresford Hotel with Shearing Holidays. My husband and I paid extra for a sea view and our room was fine. We requested for lift access for my Mum and my Father in law but on arrival were told that the lift for our rooms was out of order. We explained that both parents couldn't manage the stairs that was the reason for the lift access, so good enough they changed their rooms to the second floor that was accessed by a lift. My Father in law's room was adequate if a little dated but my Mum's room number 39 was in a worse state. The carpet was baggy and could have been quite dangerous for anyone bad on their feet. (Mum is 79 and quite fit) Both the single beds had mattressess that had seen better days with the springs sticking out on both of them. I told her that I would ask for a mattress to be replaced but she said she would sleep on top of one of the duvets. The door knob was loose and very awkward to lock and she had to let the water run in the shower or sink for over 5 minutes to get any hot water which was very wasteful. I have had to rate the rooms as poor because of my Mum's room. We had an extra single bed in a joining room where we found a sock on the floor at the end of the bed which makes you wonder if the floor had been vaccumed after the last people. We had no problem with the water pressure in the shower and we were on the 3rd floor. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful, the food was very good and the service was excellent. Knowing what we know now we would have used public transport to see more of Cornwall and not bothered with the Shearing trips. Our driver Mike was quite a comedian and had us all laughing, making the trip very pleasant. I would go with Shearings again but would check the reviews more thoroughly next time.

Room Tip: Do not have room number 39. Room 301 has a good sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Hi Thank you for your comments, I can understand that if you were in room 301, which was refurbished this winter and has amazing views, that room 39 would seem dissapointing for your parents. I wish you had told us about the uncomfortable bed, we have spare mattresses and would have been only to happy to change a poor one.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the area, Cornwall is so beautiful at the moment!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

On arrival room allocation didn't match our names so had to show booking invoice, our room was No 52 the case outside was for room 32, plus no key in the door as expected, the ceiling and walls to our room were in poor condition. Things happen in three's, it did! that night a very apologetic barman dropped a glass that shattered on the back of my chair peppering my jumper which proved more entertaining than the bingo. That night my wife removed a piece of glass still in my jumper which we gave next morning to the lovely maid Malina., Ok! now the good, the Hotel overlooks a lovely beach, you get a mouth watering full English breakfast, good evening meals, 4 drinks PPPD and attentive waiter service plus an informative happy Shearings tour driver.

Room Tip: Avoid room 52 and upgrade to a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Hi

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor and I am sorry that you had a bad start to your holiday with us. We do try to make arrival as smooth as possible, but sometimes we do make mistakes.

I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the view!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is my third Shearings holiday and it definitely comes in at third place. My heart sank when our coach pulled up outside the Beresford Hotel. It looked old and tired and worn-out. However, my sea-view room was comfortable and clean apart from the carpet that looked as though it hadn’t been vacuumed for some time. The communal rooms were clean to strike the right first impression but over the course of four days the stair carpets became more and more grubby. We never once saw anyone using a vacuum cleaner in any area of the hotel.
The showers had very little water pressure and the basin hot water taps belched and spluttered.
There are two lifts, each serving one half of the Beresford. The lift for our use had broken down before we arrived and was not due to be repaired until after our departure, this meant we had fifty two steps to climb to our rooms on the third floor. It seems that these lifts are a nightmare even when they are working. Isn’t it time Shearings showed some consideration for their many loyal guests, and hard-working staff, and had these ancient lifts replaced.
For guests seated near the front of the dining room the buffet breakfast arrangements are sloppy. There are no croissants or fresh fruit but I did enjoy having kippers.
The food in general is very basic but at dinner there is something for everyone and our waitress was helpful. The dining tables are too small for four people, but they are necessary to fit in as many diners as possible. My friend and I had to share a table with two others and one of them knocked over a glass of red wine because the table was so cluttered. It’s just as well that there are complimentary drinks. We didn’t like the dining arrangements at all. If you should decide to have lunch at the Beresford I must say that it is excellent value for money and better quality than the food served in the dining room.
Even though our driver was pretty good and knowledgeable of the area, the included Shearings trip ‘along the Atlantic coast’ is a waste of precious time. It’s a trip to a bling store. The optional trips to Mevagissey and Falmouth did not allow enough time to see everything we would have liked to. With only three full days in Cornwall we now know we should have made more use of the local buses to see the real Cornwall. A bus stops only two minutes away from the Beresford and goes to The Eden Project and our bus ticket gave us a further reduction off the entry price. The hotel reception staff have information on bus timetables to Eden and other parts of Cornwall but this information wasn’t volunteered, we had to ask for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmaggieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and I am glad to hear that some parts of your stay met your expectations.

We are having problems with the lift on one side of the hotel and, you are right, it is old, however these few weeks are proving that it is far better to have an old lift than none at all. Plans are in place for a new lift on that side of the Hotel, which will be fabulous, but would involve closing the hotel for structural alterations, so this will be done off season.

We cater for 200 guests within 1.5 hours, and this can be very busy, especially when everyone decides to eat at the same time. I watch service regularly and feel that we do deliver a good standard of food and service, but appreciate that it is not to everyone's taste.

Shearings have 48 hotels in their group that are divided between Bay Hotels and Coast and Country Hotels. Why not give Coast and Country a look, they are geared to a more relaxed holiday, with opportunities to dine a la carte and upgrade your room.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights on the may bank holiday weekend. The location is great a short walk into town and opposite a beach. I upgraded to a sea view which was very nice. The staff were great and the food was good. I stayed in room 305 which was nice apart from problems with the water pressure in the shower and lack of hot water in the morning which was very frustrating. Would go back again but stay on a lower floor due to the shower problem.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mancsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Hi

thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself and liked your room.

I am sorry that you had a problem with the shower in your room, but hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We've just spent four nights at the Beresford on a Shearings holiday. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were obviously motivated by the management who were all 'hands on'. Waching them they all appeared to enjoy their work. The food was plentiful with a good selection and the entertainment was very good. The sea views from our bedroom were superb and well worth the extra we paid. The bathroom was scrupulously cleaned every day - as was the whole room - and the only downside was the size of the shower which was just the basic square shape but his didn't spoil what was overall all a wonderful visit. As the title says 'WE'LL BE BACK'

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are well worth the extra cost although they can be a little noisy with the windows open.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves with us and that you intend to come back, that is always the best compliment you can pay us.

I will ensure that the staff see your comments as they are proud of the service they offer and it is great to see that it is appreciated.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews