We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't you beleive it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't you beleive it!!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

He just returned from an 8 day holiday at the Beresford and was most disappointed. We were told that this hotel was ideal for a disabled person, don't you believe it!!!
There was no downstairs disabled toilet. The lift was so small that 2 people struggled to get in it, let alone a disabled person with a walking frame and a carer. The room I was in was very dark and jaded. Once we got up to our floor, there were more steps to get to our room. The lift was broken down some of the time which meant a real struggle for us.
On a positive note, the staff were, on the whole, very good. Had a great waitress called Suzy in the dining room who was the most attentive and pleasant waitress you can imagine, she was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Sue

I have read your comments with concern regarding the disabled facilities at the Beresford Hotel. I cannot understand why you did not know these details before you came. However you book with Shearings to come to any of its Hotels you are asked to contact the helpline if you have any disabilities, and they will go through all of the faciliities, or lack of them, in that specific hotel that will affect you.

Obviously we want to see you enjoy your stay and we have many disabled and mobility impaired guests who do this on a regular basis, knowing the limitations of the building and the facilities that we provide.

I strongly urge you to ensure that you go through the helpline next time you book a shearings holiday and they will be only to happy to help you.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    363
    150
    43
    35
See reviews for
110
495
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice we self drove to Newquay and our stay was great we managed to park our car outside too
!! The only downfall was the entertainment on an evening it was very dated and it does not cater for younger guests its more geared for the older people

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintsfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Newquay is a great place for touring all of Cornwall and it looks like you have taken advantage of that.

We dont have a lot of car park space at the Hotel, so the reserved spaces at the front are well worth the extra £5 per night, but we have a big public car park next door, so this is a great bonus.

The entertainment is always going to be a topic of conversation, with 200 to please, but we do try to accommodate every age and to change routines according to the audience, and although you didnt enjoy it, I hope that you could see others appreciating the evening entertainers.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a hotel that doesn't pretend to be a four star , it's a little tired in parts , but don't be put off by that, the staff are very welcoming (Jason ) at reception, the public rooms are adequate but to say you can watch the surf from the conservatory room ( you can see the wall that stops you falling over the cliff edge) our room 12 was tidy and had 2 windows plenty of space, nice double bed, however the bathroom left a lot to be desired, the shower had been adapted from a door cubicle (it had been removed) and a shower curtain to allow you to enter. the food served (we were on table 10) was much better than we expected, and our waiter Yene was super efficient and he seemed to enjoy his work , not just going through the motions, the entertainment was average and unfortunatly our last evening the star cabetet was late, we stayed at the Berisford last week , and I hope that this review hasn't put anybody off, as the price if all taken into consideration really was value for money. and the last point THE LIFT , my wife wouldn't use it so thank god we were only on the first floor

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12, the only issue the bathroon(size)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Ron

Thankyou for your comments about your holiday at the Beresford Hotel, and I am glad that you found much of to enjoy. I can honestly say that every member of our team works hard to give good service and it was therefore nice to hear your personal recommendation of Jason, our Trainee Manager and Yene, your waiter.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Shearings offer great value, with a good price which includes coach travel to destination, good English breakfast and three course evening meal, all with several choices, plus 4 drink vouchers per day each. The hotel was quite dated, as we expected, but our room was adequate and clean, and overlooking the lovely beach. The staff are helpful and good waitress service. However, the drinks at dinner had to be ordered from the "wine waiter" who was hardly to be seen, so we had to go from the dining room to the bar at the other end of the hotel every evening to order and bring our own drinks back to the table. We thought that the tours included were really a waste of time and visited theme parks and visitor centres, whereas we preferred to see the beaches, fishing villages and towns. Cornwall is a long way to go and we wanted to see the real Cornwall. After the first day's tours, we did not go on the organised coach tours but made our own way to local places on the local buses, which were very good. There was an optional coach trip to Falmouth, which we did go on and loved, but only had 1.5 hours there, so not really enough time to see much. Our coach driver was not a Shearings driver, but had been subcontracted, and we understood from regular Shearings customers that we missed out, because the Shearings drivers knew the area well and gave a lot of information and were entertaining, whereas our driver obviously did not know the area well, and even got lost a few times. However, overall had a very enjoyable few days - helped by the beautiful weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and no higher than the second floor, because the lift is so small it only fits 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freyda36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi

Thank you for commenting on trip advisor

I love the pictures you have taken from your room, but the beach looks empty, was it early in the morning?

Its great to hear that you made the most of your visit by seeing as much of Cornwall as you can, but I am sorry that you felt the tour driver was not as knowledgable as the local ones. We do occasionally have to replace a driver due to sickness or holiday and we only then understand how valuable their knowledge is to our guests.

thanks again for your comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed room only last minute.

Reasonable value at £60 but whole place is very tired. Full of senior citizens.

Staff very friendly and helpful - top marks to them.

Fab sea views but rooms very dated and needs dragging (kicking and screaming) up-to-date. Even if that date is 1990 it'd be better!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molino_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi

thank you for your comments on trip advisor.

The location of the Hotel is great for seiing both Newquay and Cornwall, and the view of the ocean across the road cannot be beaten on a nice day!

Shearings have a structured refubishment programme that is ongoing in the Hotel, but with 103 bedrooms, miles of corridors and huge public rooms, you will appreciate that this takes time.

As you say £60 in the middle of August is great value for money and I am glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is located across the road from a really pretty beach.

The rooms are in need of updating.

The entertainment lounge got really hot an uncomfortable, and would benefit from better ceiling fans or air conditioning.

The entertainers are different every night, two were very good, but the others need to be told that guests find it really boring to be asked every night, where are you from, we wanted to be entertained not chatted to.

The food was good, quite a good selection. Pity the waitress service was so slow. No matter what time we went for our meals, we had to be prepared for a long wait. We were ignored so long on once occasion, we actually left the dining room and returned later. The waitress could do with some basic training... ie dont return to kitchen unless carrying something. Acknowledge the customers quickly and ensure they at least get their starters to keep them busy, while attending other tables.

The bar staff were all very good, and polite.

We did enjoy the break, but it could have been a lot better.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you dont like small lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.

I have listened to your issues with our Entertainers and discussed it with them, basically they do like to get to know the audience and asking where you are from is a conversation opener, I think that you have a point and we need to change some of the "patter", but when we have an entertainer in who doesnt try and engage the audience, they always fall flat!

I am sorry that you had slow service, and have discussed this with the restaurant manager, we serve 200 people within 1.5 hours for dinner, which in itself is quite a challenge every day and we take care that the food is cooked and presented well, which means that we batch cook and this sometimes means delays whilst the fresh food is being prepared. We dont always get it right, and sometimes problems do occur. The majority of our guests praise our restaurant and bar staff highly, and we do get comments to say that they are sometimes too quick!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that being the case, why not look at other Shearings Hotels, they are all in great locations and quite a few offer entertainment nightly.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice although it could be a bit more moden.The rooms were ok but our view could have been better. The staff were very nice& helpfull. The meals were good. The hotel is just across from the beach. i enjoyed my stay and would come again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redgreenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi

thanks for your comments on trip advisor.

The Hotel is in a great position isnt it, I never get tired of the view of the ocean when I come to work!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you continue to use Shearings Hotels, they are based in some fantastic locations.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing