We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sept 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sept 2013”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my third stay Hotel has been refurbished and is great value for money. Service is excellent and staff are efficent and very friendly. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Hotel is ideally located on the sea front. Parking is a problem had tried to book a space at the hotel but couldn't as very limited but they do have an arrangement with car park next door so half price £5 for 24 hours. Food is good for the price you are paying and the rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped could do with upgrading a little but again for the price you pay it is excellent. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Geoff

I think that the fact you have stayed with us 3 times already speaks for itself!

Coming self drive is a great way to see Cornwall and having the car park next to us makes the parking situation a lot easier.

We are having another phase of bedrooms refurbished after Christmas, we are having wi fi installed next week, and plans to replace the lift are nearly complete, so the upgrading programme is well underway!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    356
    148
    43
    34
See reviews for
108
487
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bay hotels are brilliant value for money, but the beresford was a cut above. Good location near the town centre, ideal for shops etc, marvelous views over the bay. excellent food with outstanding service. will go again. has been refurbished recently and is very good, apart from the lift, which only takes 2 people at a time and is bit rickety.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room. large and comfortable, with sea views. pay for the hotel parking, its wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi William

It was great to read your comments and know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Newquay is a great location to tour around Cornwall and Shearings offer some brilliant deals at the moment to come to the Beresford Hotel.

As you say, the views are amazing across the bay and well worth the extra supplement.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. We were on a self drive weekend break.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young man who arranged for us to park at the nearby Marina Hotel . It is well worth the £5 per day parking as it costs £10 for 24hrs at closest car park.
We had Room 306 which has been refurbished to a high standard. Lovely soft furnishings, comfy bed, new furniture and a good shower room. The one thing that hasn't changed are the views over Tolcarne Beach. Stunning !!
The food was excellent. Plenty of choice, well cooked and beautifully presented. Well done chef !
The staff are all very hard working, well mannered and friendly. Our waiter Yene was very polite and good at his job. Little Tina who served our coffee and cleaned our room is fantastic. She always on the go but finds time for a friendly chat.
The entertainment was good . Bingo and a singer on Friday, Singer on Saturday and a quiz and a singer on Sunday. They all did very well at entertaining us.
There's a lovely TV lounge for those who want it and quiet areas where you can read the free newspapers. There's also boxed games, books and a pool table.
We had the BI which meant 4 drinks each per day. Fantastic value ! Great bar service too.
There is a bus stop near the hotel where you can catch a bus to Truro, Perranporth, Padstow and other destinations and of course into the Town centre and the bus station if you need to.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel . We will certainly be visiting it again.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a standard plus room with a seaview. These rooms have been beautifully refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hi June

It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to put this on trip advisor.

The newly refurbished rooms are lovely and we are having another phase done straight after Christmas, so more and more guests can benefit from the upgrades. You are right, the view from the Hotel of Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean is amazing and well worth the extra supplement.

I will pass your comments onto Chef who will be delighted that you enjoyed the food, and that you had great service from Yene.

Shearings are running some great deals at the moment, but I still think that the most popular is the Bay Inclusive, those 4 drinks each per day really enhance the holiday!

Thank you again for your great comments

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from a week at The Beresford Hotel in Newquay. Hotel was a bit tired looking and could do with an update especially the pillows. The Staff was really helpful nothing was too much trouble. Our waitress Anya was always there with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea where we could watch the surfers in the eveing. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyBeachbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hi

Thank you for your comments, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider coming back again.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment, so maybe its the time to get the brochures out.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a week at The Beresford Hotel in Newquay. As most reviews agree the hotel is a little tired and could really do with an update especially the beds. Other than that the staff are so helpful and friendly. Our waitress Susi was always ready with a smile and nothing was to much trouble. We saw the sun when we arrived for our holiday and we saw it again when our holiday ended, but it didn't stop us enjoying our time in Newquay at the Beresford

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hi Pip

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself in Newquay, despite the weather!

I will make sure that Susi knows that you mentioned her personally, she will be delighted.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I checked out the Hotel after booking my Shearing's holiday and read the reviews both good and bad .

The Beresford is the typical traditional "2star" seaside hotel . Yes the room was a little tired but very clean. The staff service were all lovely and very helpful.

The menu held a choice of plain food which was well cooked and presented and again the staff were happy to "mix and match"set dishes to suit you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cookie169755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hi

Thanks for your comments, trip advisor is a great medium for being able to check out your destination and you obviously did this and came to our Hotel knowing what to expect.

However, I am glad that we managed to exceed your expectations on the menu, our Chef does work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the food, and is proud of his achievements.

Now that you have stayed with us I hope that you will look at more Shearings Hotels, there are 48 in total, in Scotland, England and Wales.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a 7 night break here. Hotel location is fabulous looking straight down onto Tolcarn Bay which throughout our stay was full of surfers from early morning 'til late evening. As with so many of Shearings hotels there is much need for a heavy injection of cash to update the premises, but having said that it was clean and warm with good food. The staff were, as always, brilliant...we had a broken toilet and a very draughty window both of which were fixed as soon as a tradesman could be located. The entertainment was well above the average once the obligatory bingo was over and we stayed up to enjoy it on most evenings. In the dining room our waitress Katie was a superstar remembering straight away that my partner likes 2 teabags in his teapot and that I prefer my eggs poached. Thanks to all the staff for their good attitude and smiling faces.
I realise that it is nothing to do with the hotel but I do feel that some of the trips should be flagged up more prominently as unsuitable for those with mobility problems. Yes there is a shuttle bus in St Ives which takes you from the coach park down into the centre but there is still quite a long steep road to negotiate down to the seafront from where you are dropped off. The river cruise was almost a disaster...it was low tide and we had to leave the coach and be taken further downstream on a double decker before being offloaded and having to walk down to and through the boatyard and then negotiate a very steep, long and slippery wooden walkway down onto the boat at the Truro end of the cruise and a flight of steep narrow steps at St. Mawes harbour...had we been told just how difficult this was we would not have even attempted it.
Having said that, and despite the awful weather for most of the week, we had a lovely time thanks mainly to the hotel and its lovely staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hi Pat

Thank you for your detailed review on trip advisor, and I am so pleased that you had a good holiday with us. Shearings offer great value for money and I think that this is evident in the fact that we are full virtually all of the year round!

I agree that watching the surfers riding the waves is a wonderful sight, and they do this all year, even when it snows, which doesnt sound fun to me!

I will pass your comments on to Katie, who will be delighted to have a personal mention, she is a great waiter and always gives good service.

Thanks again for commenting and we hope to see you in Newquay again.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing