We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Beresford Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$432
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
302
399
158
45
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
399
158
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach drivershearings hotelssea viewper person per daydrink vouchersself drivecider farmtolcarne beachentertainment roomrefurbished roomenjoyable holidaythird floorevening entertainmentbuffet breakfasthotel staffmeal times
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a memorable five day break, our fifth with Shearings this year. We drove from Peterborough to Coventry where we parked our car at Novotel and were picked up by Shearings shuttle coach precisely on time and taken to Corley Services,M6, to connect with coach to destination, then stress free travel with our excellent and knowledgeable driver, Darren. On arrival we found the welcome from Jason to be sincere and polite. The hotel is clean and very well appointed considering it is only rated two star. Our room, standard with no view, was very comfortable and had recently been refurbished, with comfortable twin beds. It was also extremely warm,even though radiator was turned off. It was cleaned daily and towels replaced as required. The menu was varied with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner and was very well cooked and presented by the staff. Even though the restaurant was totally full the service was exceptional and our regular waitress, Anya, was very hard working, efficient and cheerful. We went on a B.I. package and the four drinks each per day included were most welcome. The bar staff were all polite ,cheerful and efficient and made sure queueing was kept to a minimum. The entertainment with Caroline and other entertainers was very good and was on every night.Two excursions were included and we also booked the two optional excursions as we find that they are both interesting and value for money with commentary from very knowledgeable and friendly drivers. Will we go again? TOO TRUE!! Well done everybody concerned!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Gerard

Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively comment on your Shearings holiday at the Beresford Hotel. A review as detailed as yours gives potential guests a clear idea of what to expect when they use Shearings and the Hotel.

The Bay Inclusive is great value, and we operate this all year round with the exception of Christmas, New Year and Easter!

Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a lovely hotel, the staff a extremely helpful and cannot do enough to help you. This hotel is rated at only a 2 star so what a pleasant suprise when we arrived. Although our room was smallish and a bit dark the furnishings were lovely and extremely clean. The food was really good and I have never been served so fast before. the entertainment was also alot better than i expected so all in all what a enjoyable weekend we had. would definately go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view would be better and brighter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciasorsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hi Patricia

I am so pleased that the Beresford exceeded your expectations, and that you were pleasantly surprised with the staff and the facilities of the Hotel.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment and all of their hotels are in fantastic locations. I hope you get the chance to check out the new brochures.

Thank you again for your comments

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked self drive for my 60th birthday with friends. Hotel parking was first class. Your parking bay is marked up with your name and car reg, so no hassle if you took your car out for the day, your spot is still there when you return, unlike some hotels where I have stayed in the UK. I will say that the money we paid for our stay was the best value ever. All the staff are brilliant, nothing is to much trouble for them, and they always had a nice smile. The chef at this hotel deserves a mention, the food is cooked to perfection, and a very good selection. Our room was a seaview which was a stunning sight. On arrival we had champagne in our room, which my friends had booked for me by phoning the hotel in advance, the request was not forgotten. The whole hotel is lovely and warm, I wore a short sleeve shirt all weekend in the hotel. The hotel is really clean, and it was very good that our rooms had been cleaned by the time we finished breakfast. The hotel bar is well stocked, and the beer on draught was spot on. The entertainment at the hotel was good, and a special mention for Caroline ( one of the entertainers ) she added that little bit extra to the celebration of my birthday, what a lovely lady. Even managing to find Soltice Bells by Jethro Tull amongst her music selection, please pass on my thanks to Caroline from Ollie. So the bottom line is, would I stay here again YES, and will be in the future, only a longer stay next time. Could I find any fault with the hotel NO. Final word on the weekend break at the Beresford Hotel BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieDavies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hi Ollie

Wow, it sounds like you had a great holiday and I am so glad that we were able to help make it a bit special.

I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Phil, our Chef and, of course, Caroline. Our staff are great and its such a bonus when they are mentioned personally on trip advisor, it makes a huge difference, so thankyou.

Hope to see you on your 61st?

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my third stay Hotel has been refurbished and is great value for money. Service is excellent and staff are efficent and very friendly. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Hotel is ideally located on the sea front. Parking is a problem had tried to book a space at the hotel but couldn't as very limited but they do have an arrangement with car park next door so half price £5 for 24 hours. Food is good for the price you are paying and the rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped could do with upgrading a little but again for the price you pay it is excellent. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hi Geoff

I think that the fact you have stayed with us 3 times already speaks for itself!

Coming self drive is a great way to see Cornwall and having the car park next to us makes the parking situation a lot easier.

We are having another phase of bedrooms refurbished after Christmas, we are having wi fi installed next week, and plans to replace the lift are nearly complete, so the upgrading programme is well underway!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bay hotels are brilliant value for money, but the beresford was a cut above. Good location near the town centre, ideal for shops etc, marvelous views over the bay. excellent food with outstanding service. will go again. has been refurbished recently and is very good, apart from the lift, which only takes 2 people at a time and is bit rickety.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room. large and comfortable, with sea views. pay for the hotel parking, its way cheaper than the local car parks!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hi William

It was great to read your comments and know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Newquay is a great location to tour around Cornwall and Shearings offer some brilliant deals at the moment to come to the Beresford Hotel.

As you say, the views are amazing across the bay and well worth the extra supplement.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews