We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent break at the Beresford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Norton Canes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent break at the Beresford”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We went to the Beresford on 4th November for 4 nights break. We found the hotel excellent
value for money although our room was in need of refurbishment. Apart from that the food was very good, better than some of the far more expensive hotels we have stayed in. The staff were
brilliant and the entertainment was good. All in all a wonderful break and excellent value for money. This is our third Shearings break this year and are due to go on another one in January.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Jean

Thanks for your lovely comments, it's always great to hear that that staff looked after you well, and that you enjoyed the food.

You are obviously a regular traveller with Shearings, which is the best commendation that you can give to us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    346
    146
    42
    33
See reviews for
107
477
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bideford devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went by coach with Shearing's for 5 days the hotel was very good the beds very comfortable it was kept clean the meals were fair we have had worse It is only a 2 star but better than some 3 star's we have stayed in all the staff was very good and the entertainment was brill the acts were all good we met some great people we realy had a great time.

Room Tip: The room we were in was a double sea view the only sound we heard was the sea very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in Newquay

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Before I start it must be pointed out that this hotel is not a five star hotel, it is only apparently a two star, so there is no point thinking that you will be staying in a five star hotel at the price you have paid.
The hotel is basically for those on Shearing’s Coach holiday’s, in saying that look at the total price you have paid, and ask what type of Hotel experience do you expect.
Curb Appeal: The hotel looks like it is an older type of hotel on the English Cornish Coast, the frontage whilst not over powering, is more than acceptable, however my one complaint is that at a previous time the building next door was demolished, the Beresford had protective black plastic put up to cover the gable end to the left, it is now in need of attention. For that and only that I will only give the curb appeal 4 out of 5
Reception, Bar and Ballroom: All clean and well maintained, the ceiling ligts are extremely attractive. Staff in Reception and the Bar are good at their jobs, and do appear to care about the customer. There is plenty of space with enough chairs for all guests. 5 out of 5
Bedroom: I can only report on my room which whilst quite spacious, was in need of some TLC, in fact H&E must have suggested that the wardrobe be attached to the wall at some stage for safety reasons, whoever did it the job was not at all subtle. The bathroom again was in need of work, whoever thought that painted wallpaper would work in a shower room was sadly mistaken. The bed was comfortable, and the maid service was excellent. Because of the bathroom I can only give 3 out of 5.
Restaurant: Well it is not cordon bleu but I cannot fault the food and presentation. Breakfast is juice, fruit, cereal, and 4 choices of cooked breakfast with choice of tea and coffee which was not bad. The evening meal again could not be faulted for content or presentation, three starters, three cooked main courses, a chefs special each night, with three choices of chefs salad. Sweet was again three choices, a chefs special, or a cheese board. Coffee and tea is served in reception after the meal. Speed of service you will either love or hate, some people want to get in eat then get out into the ballroom for the evening entertainment, others like me like to take our time, however this was not possible as the waiters seem to be on one speed fast. I will not take the speed into account so 5 out of 5
Entertainment: This is pretty basic, the evening seems to be laid out with all the entertainers as bingo followed by a little singing joke telling (they are not good jokes) quizzes and then music to dance to. I can only give this 3 out of 5 in comparison to a previous Shearing’s holidays.
Overall this is an older hotel that has seen better days, as the star rating shows, however inside the staff are definitely 4 star.
Oh and why the title, well the digital clock in my room seemed to think that minute comprised of only 30 seconds, so time was passing twice as fast as it should have.

Room Tip: To get a better room there is a surcharge, I would not bother the room is only for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Alan

Thank you for your very comprehensive comments on your stay at the Beresford.

I am pleased that you enjoyed it and that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

The Beresford is a typical seaside hotel, that has been added to and altered over the years to suit the customers' needs. Shearings are refurbishing and updating all of the time and we are looking forward to seeing more and more bedrooms decorated to a very high standard, which we are proud of.

We have Bay Hotels in some fantastic locations, all offering a similar standard of care and comfort, why not check out the latest brochure.

We hope to see you again in Newquay and will endeavour to ensure that you have clock that tells the right time, not Cornish Time!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a memorable five day break, our fifth with Shearings this year. We drove from Peterborough to Coventry where we parked our car at Novotel and were picked up by Shearings shuttle coach precisely on time and taken to Corley Services,M6, to connect with coach to destination, then stress free travel with our excellent and knowledgeable driver, Darren. On arrival we found the welcome from Jason to be sincere and polite. The hotel is clean and very well appointed considering it is only rated two star. Our room, standard with no view, was very comfortable and had recently been refurbished, with comfortable twin beds. It was also extremely warm,even though radiator was turned off. It was cleaned daily and towels replaced as required. The menu was varied with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner and was very well cooked and presented by the staff. Even though the restaurant was totally full the service was exceptional and our regular waitress, Anya, was very hard working, efficient and cheerful. We went on a B.I. package and the four drinks each per day included were most welcome. The bar staff were all polite ,cheerful and efficient and made sure queueing was kept to a minimum. The entertainment with Caroline and other entertainers was very good and was on every night.Two excursions were included and we also booked the two optional excursions as we find that they are both interesting and value for money with commentary from very knowledgeable and friendly drivers. Will we go again? TOO TRUE!! Well done everybody concerned!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Gerard

Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively comment on your Shearings holiday at the Beresford Hotel. A review as detailed as yours gives potential guests a clear idea of what to expect when they use Shearings and the Hotel.

The Bay Inclusive is great value, and we operate this all year round with the exception of Christmas, New Year and Easter!

Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a lovely hotel, the staff a extremely helpful and cannot do enough to help you. This hotel is rated at only a 2 star so what a pleasant suprise when we arrived. Although our room was smallish and a bit dark the furnishings were lovely and extremely clean. The food was really good and I have never been served so fast before. the entertainment was also alot better than i expected so all in all what a enjoyable weekend we had. would definately go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view would be better and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciasorsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Patricia

I am so pleased that the Beresford exceeded your expectations, and that you were pleasantly surprised with the staff and the facilities of the Hotel.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment and all of their hotels are in fantastic locations. I hope you get the chance to check out the new brochures.

Thank you again for your comments

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked self drive for my 60th birthday with friends. Hotel parking was first class. Your parking bay is marked up with your name and car reg, so no hassle if you took your car out for the day, your spot is still there when you return, unlike some hotels where I have stayed in the UK. I will say that the money we paid for our stay was the best value ever. All the staff are brilliant, nothing is to much trouble for them, and they always had a nice smile. The chef at this hotel deserves a mention, the food is cooked to perfection, and a very good selection. Our room was a seaview which was a stunning sight. On arrival we had champagne in our room, which my friends had booked for me by phoning the hotel in advance, the request was not forgotten. The whole hotel is lovely and warm, I wore a short sleeve shirt all weekend in the hotel. The hotel is really clean, and it was very good that our rooms had been cleaned by the time we finished breakfast. The hotel bar is well stocked, and the beer on draught was spot on. The entertainment at the hotel was good, and a special mention for Caroline ( one of the entertainers ) she added that little bit extra to the celebration of my birthday, what a lovely lady. Even managing to find Soltice Bells by Jethro Tull amongst her music selection, please pass on my thanks to Caroline from Ollie. So the bottom line is, would I stay here again YES, and will be in the future, only a longer stay next time. Could I find any fault with the hotel NO. Final word on the weekend break at the Beresford Hotel BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieDavies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Ollie

Wow, it sounds like you had a great holiday and I am so glad that we were able to help make it a bit special.

I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Phil, our Chef and, of course, Caroline. Our staff are great and its such a bonus when they are mentioned personally on trip advisor, it makes a huge difference, so thankyou.

Hope to see you on your 61st?

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my third stay Hotel has been refurbished and is great value for money. Service is excellent and staff are efficent and very friendly. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Hotel is ideally located on the sea front. Parking is a problem had tried to book a space at the hotel but couldn't as very limited but they do have an arrangement with car park next door so half price £5 for 24 hours. Food is good for the price you are paying and the rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped could do with upgrading a little but again for the price you pay it is excellent. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Geoff

I think that the fact you have stayed with us 3 times already speaks for itself!

Coming self drive is a great way to see Cornwall and having the car park next to us makes the parking situation a lot easier.

We are having another phase of bedrooms refurbished after Christmas, we are having wi fi installed next week, and plans to replace the lift are nearly complete, so the upgrading programme is well underway!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing