We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newquay in November”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Newquay in November”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We got what we expected, for the most part, and it was good value.

When the coach driver tells you to expect peeling wallpaper, before you arrive, then your expectations are going to be more realistic. It is an old building with lots of stairs, and a tiny lift, but in a great position overlooking Tolcarne beach, and an easy walk into town.

Good points -

the great value, and the excellent staff. Service was pretty good.

Food was acceptable, but not very exciting. We ate out once for a change.

Not so good points -

No heating in our room on arrival. A call to reception, and they said that someone would have a look, but soon someone arrived with 2 portable heaters, saying that a plumber had been called for the next day to repair the heater. They obviously knew that heater was broken so could have left portable heaters in the room for arrival, and the plumber never arrived on Tues, Weds or Thurs. There was no need to tell porkys!

Shower was pathetic, at any time of day, so not easy to wash, although there was always hot water, the flow was just a dribble.

Room was pretty clean apart from thick dust over bathroom door.

TV was an ancient portable with a tiny screen, but still managed to give 5 channels. Only problem was that sound kept breaking up, and getting radio sound over TV pictures, even though no radio stations available?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Beresford Hotel, and I am pleased that you felt the holiday was good value for money.

It sounds like you did have a few problems, and I am aware of the issue with your radiator, a plumber did come, but was unable to carry out the repairs until we could turn the water off, which was when the hotel was empty.

Hope to see you again sometime

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    354
    148
    42
    33
See reviews for
108
485
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Beresford Hotel Newquay. We had a great time. The value was really amazing, we paid £154 each, this included return travel from Grimsby, full English breakfast each morning, three course evening meal each night and 4 vouchers each every day to purchase drinks from the bar. One voucher bought a pint of beer or lager or a spirit and a mixer!! There was entertainment every night as well. The rooms were more than adequate and all of the staff went the extra mile to ensure a good time was had by everybody. Well done to all at the Beresford Hotel.

Room Tip: I think the lower floors are better simply because the lifts are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
HI

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves with us.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment that make the holiday fantastic value for money, and the drinks vouchers are a really popular choice.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beresford hotel, Newquay is a very friendly lower end hotel but for what we paid, inclusive of a shearing's coach holiday, I thought was good value...Rooms well equipped and well serviced as was all facilities available. Washing facilities were basic and in need of upgrade, but clean and TV only had basic 5 channels.
Overall the views and setting were ideal and surroundings far outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be on the first floor so not ideal for people with disabilities but there is a lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAsh1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Brett

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
670 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with some friends in November, had a great 4 nights. The food, although basic was good, great breakfast. Upgraded to sea view rooms, well worth it. Included in the price are 4 drinks per person per night, fantastic value. Brilliant entertainment. Very friendly and helpful staff. Jackie and her team did everything to make your stay enjoyable

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi

It sounds like you had a lovely time, and I agree, the sea view rooms are well worth that bit extra!

We offer the drinks vouchers all year round, except for Xmas, New year and Easter, and they do make a great value option.

Hope to see you again soon

Take Care

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton Canes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We went to the Beresford on 4th November for 4 nights break. We found the hotel excellent
value for money although our room was in need of refurbishment. Apart from that the food was very good, better than some of the far more expensive hotels we have stayed in. The staff were
brilliant and the entertainment was good. All in all a wonderful break and excellent value for money. This is our third Shearings break this year and are due to go on another one in January.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Jean

Thanks for your lovely comments, it's always great to hear that that staff looked after you well, and that you enjoyed the food.

You are obviously a regular traveller with Shearings, which is the best commendation that you can give to us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bideford devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went by coach with Shearing's for 5 days the hotel was very good the beds very comfortable it was kept clean the meals were fair we have had worse It is only a 2 star but better than some 3 star's we have stayed in all the staff was very good and the entertainment was brill the acts were all good we met some great people we realy had a great time.

Room Tip: The room we were in was a double sea view the only sound we heard was the sea very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in Newquay

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Before I start it must be pointed out that this hotel is not a five star hotel, it is only apparently a two star, so there is no point thinking that you will be staying in a five star hotel at the price you have paid.
The hotel is basically for those on Shearing’s Coach holiday’s, in saying that look at the total price you have paid, and ask what type of Hotel experience do you expect.
Curb Appeal: The hotel looks like it is an older type of hotel on the English Cornish Coast, the frontage whilst not over powering, is more than acceptable, however my one complaint is that at a previous time the building next door was demolished, the Beresford had protective black plastic put up to cover the gable end to the left, it is now in need of attention. For that and only that I will only give the curb appeal 4 out of 5
Reception, Bar and Ballroom: All clean and well maintained, the ceiling ligts are extremely attractive. Staff in Reception and the Bar are good at their jobs, and do appear to care about the customer. There is plenty of space with enough chairs for all guests. 5 out of 5
Bedroom: I can only report on my room which whilst quite spacious, was in need of some TLC, in fact H&E must have suggested that the wardrobe be attached to the wall at some stage for safety reasons, whoever did it the job was not at all subtle. The bathroom again was in need of work, whoever thought that painted wallpaper would work in a shower room was sadly mistaken. The bed was comfortable, and the maid service was excellent. Because of the bathroom I can only give 3 out of 5.
Restaurant: Well it is not cordon bleu but I cannot fault the food and presentation. Breakfast is juice, fruit, cereal, and 4 choices of cooked breakfast with choice of tea and coffee which was not bad. The evening meal again could not be faulted for content or presentation, three starters, three cooked main courses, a chefs special each night, with three choices of chefs salad. Sweet was again three choices, a chefs special, or a cheese board. Coffee and tea is served in reception after the meal. Speed of service you will either love or hate, some people want to get in eat then get out into the ballroom for the evening entertainment, others like me like to take our time, however this was not possible as the waiters seem to be on one speed fast. I will not take the speed into account so 5 out of 5
Entertainment: This is pretty basic, the evening seems to be laid out with all the entertainers as bingo followed by a little singing joke telling (they are not good jokes) quizzes and then music to dance to. I can only give this 3 out of 5 in comparison to a previous Shearing’s holidays.
Overall this is an older hotel that has seen better days, as the star rating shows, however inside the staff are definitely 4 star.
Oh and why the title, well the digital clock in my room seemed to think that minute comprised of only 30 seconds, so time was passing twice as fast as it should have.

Room Tip: To get a better room there is a surcharge, I would not bother the room is only for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Alan

Thank you for your very comprehensive comments on your stay at the Beresford.

I am pleased that you enjoyed it and that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

The Beresford is a typical seaside hotel, that has been added to and altered over the years to suit the customers' needs. Shearings are refurbishing and updating all of the time and we are looking forward to seeing more and more bedrooms decorated to a very high standard, which we are proud of.

We have Bay Hotels in some fantastic locations, all offering a similar standard of care and comfort, why not check out the latest brochure.

We hope to see you again in Newquay and will endeavour to ensure that you have clock that tells the right time, not Cornish Time!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing