We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel with my husband. Staff are very helpful and friendly and although the service in the resturant was good would have liked our waitress to have smiled occasionally.
We had a seaview room which was clean and comfortable, shower was good although it had a tendancy to go hot and cold at times. Fire alarm went off twice and being woken up at midnight for a false alarm was not good.Hotel is in a good location, close to town and a 10 minute walk to the zoo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Dorothy

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the Hotel, Shearings offer some great deals at the moment in fabulous locations, and the web site is well worth a visit.

The fire alarm you mention was activated by a guest smoking in a bedroom, this is actually illegal and appropriate action was taken, but I apologise to you for the inconvenience.

Hope you have a great Christmas

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    355
    148
    42
    33
See reviews for
108
486
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have just spent five days at Beresford hotel we found it to be very clean and staff friendly Food very good we had plenty of choice , nothing was to much trouble only downside was the lift , you could get two people in at a push, Room comfy and clean not a good view in room 1 but did not matter as we were out all day if you want room with view then best you upgrade, all in all a very nice hotel .

Room Tip: quiet room at back, upgrade for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi

Thanks for your comments on trip advisor.

Its great to hear that you had a good time, and you may be interested to know that the lift you mentioned in being renewed in January.

Kind regards and Merry Christmas

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We live in the South West so always go self drive to the Shearing Hotels in this area. We have stayed at this hotel many times and if we didn't like it we wouldn't keep coming back. On our last visit we got an obvious impression that this hotel is in the process of being upgraded bit by bit and wi-fi connection had just been introduced as a free extra. It's always warm here and the staff friendly and welcoming. The lounge and dining room overlook the sea and the views are fabulous. Food ample in quantity and well presented. Rooms basic but clean. We were given a sea view on our last stay in a room which had been recently decorated and renovated. A table with lounge chairs in the bay window overlooking the beach was a perfect addition and much appreciated. We really like the TV lounge area downstairs where you can sit and enjoy a drink and a chat or read the newspapers before going on to watch the entertainment in the bar lounge later in the evening - a definite improvement in quality of show than on previous visits and very enjoyable. Newquay is a great place for walking since the roads seem to hug the coast line. There is a fairly flat and easy approach to the shops and bars which are a short distance from the hotel but we prefer to enjoy a walk to the town centre via the clean sandy beaches and harbour below. Buses run regularly to Truro and Padstow and the bus stops are situated almost directly outside the hotel. We look forward to our next return visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Susan

I am so pleased that you keep returning to the Beresford, I think that is the highest compliment that you can pay us.

Newquay is a great, central location to explore Cornwall, and does have some amazing hidden gems itself. Walking along the beach at low tide right to the harbour is just lovely, and the coastal walks are incomparable.

We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, and more is taking place in January, with bedrooms and, very excitingly, a new lift to one side of the Hotel.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We got what we expected, for the most part, and it was good value.

When the coach driver tells you to expect peeling wallpaper, before you arrive, then your expectations are going to be more realistic. It is an old building with lots of stairs, and a tiny lift, but in a great position overlooking Tolcarne beach, and an easy walk into town.

Good points -

the great value, and the excellent staff. Service was pretty good.

Food was acceptable, but not very exciting. We ate out once for a change.

Not so good points -

No heating in our room on arrival. A call to reception, and they said that someone would have a look, but soon someone arrived with 2 portable heaters, saying that a plumber had been called for the next day to repair the heater. They obviously knew that heater was broken so could have left portable heaters in the room for arrival, and the plumber never arrived on Tues, Weds or Thurs. There was no need to tell porkys!

Shower was pathetic, at any time of day, so not easy to wash, although there was always hot water, the flow was just a dribble.

Room was pretty clean apart from thick dust over bathroom door.

TV was an ancient portable with a tiny screen, but still managed to give 5 channels. Only problem was that sound kept breaking up, and getting radio sound over TV pictures, even though no radio stations available?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Beresford Hotel, and I am pleased that you felt the holiday was good value for money.

It sounds like you did have a few problems, and I am aware of the issue with your radiator, a plumber did come, but was unable to carry out the repairs until we could turn the water off, which was when the hotel was empty.

Hope to see you again sometime

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Beresford Hotel Newquay. We had a great time. The value was really amazing, we paid £154 each, this included return travel from Grimsby, full English breakfast each morning, three course evening meal each night and 4 vouchers each every day to purchase drinks from the bar. One voucher bought a pint of beer or lager or a spirit and a mixer!! There was entertainment every night as well. The rooms were more than adequate and all of the staff went the extra mile to ensure a good time was had by everybody. Well done to all at the Beresford Hotel.

Room Tip: I think the lower floors are better simply because the lifts are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
HI

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves with us.

Shearings are offering some great deals at the moment that make the holiday fantastic value for money, and the drinks vouchers are a really popular choice.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beresford hotel, Newquay is a very friendly lower end hotel but for what we paid, inclusive of a shearing's coach holiday, I thought was good value...Rooms well equipped and well serviced as was all facilities available. Washing facilities were basic and in need of upgrade, but clean and TV only had basic 5 channels.
Overall the views and setting were ideal and surroundings far outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be on the first floor so not ideal for people with disabilities but there is a lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAsh1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Brett

Thanks for commenting on trip advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
671 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with some friends in November, had a great 4 nights. The food, although basic was good, great breakfast. Upgraded to sea view rooms, well worth it. Included in the price are 4 drinks per person per night, fantastic value. Brilliant entertainment. Very friendly and helpful staff. Jackie and her team did everything to make your stay enjoyable

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi

It sounds like you had a lovely time, and I agree, the sea view rooms are well worth that bit extra!

We offer the drinks vouchers all year round, except for Xmas, New year and Easter, and they do make a great value option.

Hope to see you again soon

Take Care

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing