We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pre xmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pre xmas break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

stayed here in july did not give it a good review.returned here before xmas,this time we had a lovely room,3 bed so paid a supplement. really comfy and warm. food was ok but not as good as in the summer,but for the price we paid,it was good value. entertainment good but as we have visited a few times before it was much the same.good for price we paid

Room Tip: we had a room on first floor 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Megan

It was great to read that you found the hotel warm, comfortable and actually, better than your visit in the summer.

We have great deals going on throughout the winter at all of our Bay Hotels, that all offer a similar standard of hospitality and comfort.

Happy New Year to you

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    346
    146
    42
    33
See reviews for
107
476
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just come back from a New Year break at The Beresford and had a really good time. The hotel needs some TLC in places especially the tiny,tiny lift but me and my friend had a lovely big room which was very clean. The complimentary bottles of wine and fruit was a lovely touch too. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, our waitress Laura was great and always had a smile on her face. Special mention too to Caroline who entertained us throughout with her jokes and bingo, great lady. Food was very good with a good choice, very much enjoyed it.Excellent location on the front too. Thank you to all involved, had a lovely time and would recommend The Bersesford to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Gaynor

thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your New Year Break with us, the Hotel is especially lively at New Year and Caroline, our Host, definitely keeps everyone going!

Laura will be pleased to have been mentioned by you, she works so hard, and is always smiling!

You mention the lift, and I agree it is small, but we are in the process of having a new one installed which is very exciting.

Hope to see you again, maybe in the summer, when the weather should be a little better than New Year!

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returned from another Shearings bargain holiday,this time to New Quay Cornwall.The Beresford Hotel is well located along the sea front and a short walk to town centre.Our room was basic but reasonably clean ,with a shower that had been interestingly modified several times ! We had a small tv but for the time spent it the room it was fine.Meals were very good and served efficiently by our lovely waitress Ernesta who was always smiling and pleasant.Our 4 free drinks were welcome and could be upgraded for a small fee.Entertainment was ok and as we expected -with bingo for those that wanted to play ,also a couple of quizzes.We went on the included trips to Truro and the treasure village which were good for shopping.Another good break at a bargain price.Right where to go next !!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you prefer a better room or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi

Thank you for commenting on trip advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have you looked at the special offers going on throughout January and February at both our Bay Hotels and Coast and Country, the locations are great and well worth a visit.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I've never known such a well organised hotel. From arrival to parting everything at this hotel it all runs like clockwork and if you ask for anything the staff are there with it before you take your next breath. The service in the restaurant is excellent and the rooms are spotless. Totally enjoyed staying here. Well done to all the staff can't praise them enough.

Room Tip: The front rooms with a sea view are lovely. You can watch surfers all times of day and still be warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustysmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate your comments.

Hope to see you again in Newquay

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have just spent 5 days at this great hotel. Excellent value. Lovely greeting from Reception when we arrived. Room very clean and well serviced. Food excellent. Entertainment great. Staff very courteous, especially Ernesta, our waitress, who couldn't do enough for you (you've got a very valuable member of staff there). Our driver, Roger, was a great guy with a great sense of humour. He really looked after us on our holiday. I enjoyed the excursions that we did to Portreath Treasure Park, Mevagissey and Truro. Also met up with three ladies who were also on their own and we had a great time and a good laugh. It was my first time in Cornwall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Kathy

I am so glad you enjoyed your first trip to Cornwall and your stay at the Beresford.

Cornwall has so much to offer, so I hope that we see you back again to explore further.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have recently returned from a Shearings' Bay Inclusive Break to the Beresford at Newquay. Yet again extremely good value for money with the added bonus of very good staff; from the way we were greeted when we arrived by Reception, to Nigel our courteous & very efficient waiter for the length of our stay, our maid and the bar staff. There was a bit of a mix up with our room, we should have been given a sea view, but ended up with one at the back on the third floor, however for this time of year when it is dark for two thirds of the day it didn't really matter. The room had recently been re-furbished and was very clean and comfortable, but with just a partition wall between us and next door, and a neighbour with a very loud voice, at times it was "uncomfortable"! With a good choice from the menu we enjoyed some very nice meals in the restaurant. We also enjoyed the entertainment each night, waiting until the obligatory games of bingo had finished. Chris our brilliant driver was a breath of fresh air, keeping us all entertained with his jokes; he was also very informative and had obviously done a lot of research of the area. There is not a great deal to do in Newquay at this time of year, however there is a very good local bus service and we went to Truro and Padstow by this means, upstairs on the double decker from where we could appreciate the fabulous views. All in all a really good five days in Cornwall, and we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Room 312 was very near the stairs & lift, and with just a partition wall between next door, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Beresford Hotel. I am so pleased that you found Nigel, your waiter, the bar staff and Chris your Courier to be friendly, funny and helpful.

It sounds like you made the most of the area as well, that double decker bus to Padstow swinging around the country lanes is quite an experience isn't it.

Shearings have some great deals out there at the moment and the web site is well worth a look!

Hope to see you again soon

Have a lovely Christmas

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel with my husband. Staff are very helpful and friendly and although the service in the resturant was good would have liked our waitress to have smiled occasionally.
We had a seaview room which was clean and comfortable, shower was good although it had a tendancy to go hot and cold at times. Fire alarm went off twice and being woken up at midnight for a false alarm was not good.Hotel is in a good location, close to town and a 10 minute walk to the zoo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Dorothy

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the Hotel, Shearings offer some great deals at the moment in fabulous locations, and the web site is well worth a visit.

The fire alarm you mention was activated by a guest smoking in a bedroom, this is actually illegal and appropriate action was taken, but I apologise to you for the inconvenience.

Hope you have a great Christmas

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing