We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My friends & I have just spent 5 days at the Beresford, it will be a lovely Hotel when it's finished! We each had a bedroom of our own(3) & all the bathrooms were badly in need of updating, I appreciate they are in the process of trying to do this, but my room(bathroom wise) should not have been used for guests, you had to be very strong to turn the taps in the sink just to get a trickle out of the cold tap! The shower changed temperature constantly, without turning the knob, scalding hot at times, lots of pollyfilla used around the bathroom,badly, some painted over, some not, some trying to hide the mould! Also some of the bedroom furniture was broken & the TV was hit/miss & very old. Having said all that, the room was very clean, bedding/towels, general appearance. It was nice to have several sitting areas in the downstairs area, the wifi was a little hit/miss, but at least they had it! The food was basic but good, the entertainment was good, apart from far too much bingo! All the staff were excellent, helpful(especially the young chap behind the bar helping everyone get connected to the wifi!) I would go back again, after they have updated all the rooms. It's in a perfect position to explore Newquay & the surrounding area, & the staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Mary

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday.

The Beresford is a typical seaside hotel, built over 100 years ago and is constantly being refurbished to suit the modern day guest. Our investment programme is ongoing, but with 103 bedrooms, miles of corridors and an extensive reception area, this is never going to be easy. This year we have had one floor of rooms refurbished and a new lift, and are delighted with the results.

This investment is ongoing throughout Shearings Hotels and I hope that your experience with us will encourage you to book another holiday with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

third holiday with shearings in 6 weeks having been to torquay and strathpeffer in feburary and janaury.
what stop this being a 4 star stay was the size of my room.it was the smallest room i have ever had in 10 stays at various hotel on shearings holidays.instead of a chair they was a stool.the hot radiator was against the bed.the good point was that instead of 5 main channel on the tv their was freeview tv of the 5 channels plus the hour later channel.
the food was of very good quality and served quickly.the 4 drink voucher every day was good and a good tour driver.the hotel is a short walk from the town centre.a very good holiday apart from the very small bedroom

Room Tip: room 18 was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.

The Beresford is a typical seaside hotel, built at the turn of the last century and there is nothing uniform about it, all of the rooms are different sizes and shapes!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the size of the room, you obviously enjoy travelling with Shearings, and I hope that we see you again in Newquay sometime. There is so much to see in Cornwall, and of course, we have another Bay Hotel in St Ives that is well worth a visit.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

first time with shearings lucky enough to go to Beresford hotel room comfortable entertainment very good food superb our waitress Rachel very helpful and fun will return again when weather is better as rained most days

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Steve

I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself with us, despite the appalling weather.

Newquay woke up to sunshine this morning, and it is beautiful, and well worth another visit to see how amazing Cornwall is.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

On our first hotel break of the year we travelled by coach to the Beresford Hotel in Newquay. The hotel sits on the cliff top overlooking Tolcarne beach, and has an impressive first view.

We had a sea view room with a small seating area (table and two chairs), flat screen Television and en suite bathromm with good sized shower cubicle although the shower was rather weak.
The room was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff.

We had a good table in the restaurant, waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, the meals were very tasty, and the menu varied. Breakfasts were quite small, but were enough to last till lunchtime.

There are lots of seating areas around the hotel, but the entertainment lounge was very small and filled up early.

Apart from a slight mixup with a prebooked room which was sorted out amicably we had an excellent stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recomend a sea view room, as you can watch the surfers from your window and also the large w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Douglas

Thank you for your informative review on trip advisor.

I agree with you, the view from the bedroom windows is well worth the extra supplement, even in bad weather the sea is fascinating, and in good weather, the sunsets are unparalleled.

Shearings are offering some fantastic deals at the moment, why not take a look and treat yourself again.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

my wife and i ,stayed at the beresford hotel for a five day break with shearings holidays.we were in room 216, the room was a good size. the carpet was very shabby and very worn and badly stained..the whole hotel really needs a good makeover..the staff are very friendly, and helpful. the food was exelent, also the entertainment every night was very good.the hotel is a short walk to the town centre. and over looks the bay with good views.our trip with shearings was as good (as always) and our driver darren was very helpful and knew his stuff...

Room Tip: try and get a room with a sea view (at extra cost)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Allan

Thanks for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

Room 216 is a standard double room, that does have an older style tv in it, we are slowly replacing these with flat screen DTV's, but this does take time. Many of our Hotels have superior or premier rooms available and maybe this would be of benefit to you when travelling with Shearings in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great hotel, really good staff, good food, nice rooms and good entertainment. The only thing missing - guests. 28 people only on our Shearings 4 day break plus a few other guests. Felt really sorry for the entertainers who were very good. Perhaps we will try the 5 day break next time as we understand the hotel is busy.

Room Tip: We were in211 which suited us( at back of hotel )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulipLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi

Thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the lack of other guests. I think that the poor weather has slowed business down, our early season weekends are rarely full, but at the moment they are exceptionally quiet. However, today was our first beautiful Spring day, you could sit on the beach and sunbathe! so I am sure that this will soon change.

Hope to see you again in Newquay

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at Beresford Hotel with Shearing's. Had a great room overlooking beach. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Big thanks to Laura, our forever smiling waitress. Thanks to John, the coach driver, who helped solve a puzzle for us over a place called Porthleven and who's knowledge about Cornwall is so vast he should be on mastermind! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again.

Jean & Alan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Jean and Alan

Thanks for your review, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the view from your room, even though the weather wasn't brilliant.

John is a font of knowledge, he has lived in Cornwall forever, and is passionate about his county.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £44 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing