We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creaking Floorboards will keep you awake, heard people next door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Creaking Floorboards will keep you awake, heard people next door”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The floors creek a guy above 216 got up at 5 am and the boards creaked as he walked around, the carpets need changing dirty and old, and floors boards screwed down. Looks nice, lift not big enough.
Good food and nice staff but Bay Hotels/Shearings want to spend money on floors, the decorations are good but does not make up for a good night sleep.
Will not go again to that hotel.

Room Tip: Don’t go until more work done on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeterParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Peter

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am sorry that you didtnt sleep well whilst you were here.

I don't know if you told us of the problem, we may have been able to help, we did have some rooms free last week. Its always a good idea to speak to us, as it is our aim to try and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    363
    150
    43
    35
See reviews for
110
494
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely 4 day break last weekend by coach. Yes, parts of hotel need some tlc, but all very clean, and room immaculate and comfortable. Hotel location excellent, wonderful views from front and many lovely walks in the area. .Food good and plentiful, service friendly and efficient. Found tiny lift quite fun, but then I am only 5'2"tall and weigh 8 stone !!
Driver Trevor sadly not a good ambassador for Shearings,very uncommunicative. Return journey, after 2 hours our morning "comfort stop" was at garage side of Motorway services. As he refuelled, we had to scramble from coach and dodge between refuelling hgv's to access 2-cubicle garage toilets. Very dangerous,not impressed!!! However, would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezza730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to comment on trip advisor, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and loved the food and the room.

Hope to see you again sometime

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

had a 5 day break with shearings stayed in room 19 recently refurbished nice clean comfortable room.food was good and plenty of it.really enjoyed the entertainment and with 4 free drinks a day the holiday was excellent value for what we paid.excellent location and we loved exploring all the beaches.we would go back again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Sharon

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed Newquay and the Beresford Hotel.

As you found, the beaches are fantastic and I am sure you would enjoy coming back to see us and discovering more of our lovely area.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Back fro weekend at the Beresford Shearings trip.Hotel faces the beach but over 100 steps to get down to the beach 5 minute walk into Town 20 minute walk to the beaches of Porth and Lusty Bay,Newquay town itself in my opinion not even worth a visit the town is just full of run down bars packed with stag and hen parties very few shops the main building on the front is a massive Australian bar with side walls covered in graffiti,
However away from Newquay very pretty bays ,walks ,Watergate bay is only 4 miles away well worth a visit .
Finally the Hotel itself very dated like a scene from miss Marple set rooms tired staff seemed disalusioned as if they know something is about to change,however for the price charged it is fair value for the money,food very basic and small portions,bar prices expensive ,rooms were clean.

Room Tip: pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetherby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi

I am sorry that Newquay wasn't the destination for you.

Why not have a look at our Coast and Country Hotels, they offer a high level of comfort and surroundings in amazing locations. These hotels have premier and superior rooms and a la carte menus.

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on trip advisor

kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
678 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Another visit to the Beresford, where Jackie and her team looked after us again. Having read some of the negative reviews, I can only say don't pay budget prices and expect 5* quality. The hotel is basic, and in need of some maintenance, and it's nice to see they are upgrading the lift. For the price paid, the food is very good, the staff try their upmost to give you a good time and both times I have been recently, I cannot fault their service. It,s a good base to tour from, close to the Eden project, St Ives, St Michaels Mount, Port Isaac (Doc Martin fame) and Padstow and many others

Room Tip: Get an upgrade room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi

Thanks for the great review, although the best compliment you can pay us is to return to the Hotel, like you have.

The refurbishment is all in progress, and the new lift ready to go on Tuesday! The new bedrooms are looking great, and plans are already in progress for 2015.

Shearings do offer great value for money and I do believe the Beresford Hotel offers a degree of comfort and service that most guests appreciate. I think we will always be a traditional seaside Hotel and this is still what most of our guests come here for.

Thanks again for appreciating the Hotel and its staff, we really do love listening to your comments.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I booked for my Husband and I to stay here through laterooms.com.
The hotel had several bad reviews but I booked anyway.
On arrival there was absolutely nobody to be found, rang the bell and waited for 20 minutes before my husband went off to find a member of staff. When he came back there was absolutely no apology which I found poor.
There were people sat watching football in the reception area who said they hadnt seen the bar tender or any other staff member for over an hour, they were all waiting for drinks etc.
I found the member of staff quite rude he said he had no record of the booking. We left to find somewhere else to stay and then got a phone call saying the booking had now been found and if we didnt stay there they would still charge my card the full amount!
Room very dated bathroom had no hot water either.
In the morning we went to breakfast in the hotel. None of the many waitresses stood around bothered to greet us. Sat at an empty table, waitress watched us waited until we got a drink etc and then rudely demanded we move seats as someone else was wanting to sit there!! Can only assume they tipped well as no reserved sign and an elderly couple waltzed in after we had finished to sit there. If breakfast wasnt included I definately wouldn't have paid for it!
All in all terrible experience terrible customer service and can truly say the worst place ive ever stayed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank LoveSunInEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi

How sorry I was to read your comments on trip advisor, we do get guests who were looking for something different and are therefore not completely satisfied, but I have never seen a review that says our staff are rude and unhelpful.
Your comments have been thoroughly investigated and I can see that there were shortcomings on our side. When you arrived on Saturday morning, there was a major rugby match on tv, and many guests chose not to go on their scheduled coach trip, but to stay in enjoy the match. Unfortunately, we were unaware of this when sorting the rotas and had just one person on duty to cover the bar, coffee shop and reception, so when you arrived, he was in the kitchen preparing food.
Zolly was unable to find your booking, but was obviously under quite a lot of pressure and maybe this showed. He is a lovely young man, and I have never known anyone find him rude. He asked you to come back at check in time, we did not phone you at any time, and Jason happily checked you in to an upgraded sea view room at 3pm when you returned to the Hotel. During the evening, I understand that Jason, our Duty Manager talked with you and he said that you made no mention of any problems with the water or your room.
At breakfast each guest has a specific table, unfortunately we were not there to greet you at the door and you did sit on another guest's table. They came in and it was then that we had to ask you to move, I am sorry if this was handled badly, I can only assure you that Anya, who you spoke to is unaware that she was anything but polite, she did not want to have to move you and maybe this showed in her manner.
I am convinced that we can change your mind about our Hotel and its staff, I understand from Jason that you are looking to live in the area, and maybe if you are coming down again soon your could contact me, I would love to be able to offer you a room and to retrieve our reputation with you.
Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
01637 873238
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Despite reading a few negative reviews about the Beresford in Newquay we have just been on a 4 day weekend there and it was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was one of the newly refurbished and was fantastic - lovely comfy bed, great shower/bathroom. The food was excellent - good quality and plenty of it. The entertainment was excellent, very good singers and good fun quizzes. All in all we had a fantastic weekend there and cant fault the staff or hotel at all.

Room Tip: Our room was room 108 and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndag434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewquayBeresford, General Manager at Bay Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Lynda

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Jackie Cunliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing