We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, downstairs fine, upstairs be very careful of what you might find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear, downstairs fine, upstairs be very careful of what you might find”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We spent a 8 day all inclusive holiday at the Beresford travelling with Shearings. We did have a nice holiday, but.
The bedroom was very poor, tiny in fact. The bathroom was worse, paper falling off the walls with black mould underneath, water from the tiny shower enclosure did not drain away very easily, you had to be careful not to shower for too long as it would probably have caused a flood. At one point the water from upstairs was coming down the walls in our room. If you can pay the additional for a sea view because I think those rooms are much better. Despite that we did have a good holiday, food (so long as you dont look too hard at the waitress), entertainment, and trips were very good. the next question, Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? the holiday was good, if we had had a better room I would say yes. but with the room we had I would say no

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joystobehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    363
    150
    43
    35
See reviews for
110
494
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

An all inclusive hotel, but the free drinks don't start until 6pm and end at 11pm. The staff are fantastic and the hotel is well placed on the sea front and only a few yards away from everything you need. The problem for some people might be the small two person lift and lots of staircases. The hotel has a lot of older people staying in it and could do with a lick of paint, but it's well worth the money and i would enjoy having another holiday at the Beresford hotel in Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CastlefordCasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed here in November 2008 with a friend for 5 days on an all inclusive basis with Shearings and had a lovely time and would recommend it to anybody who considering visiting Newquay.

The location of the Beresford is brilliant, on the sea front a very short easy walk in to the centre of Newquay. I am a regular visitor to Cornwall and this is easily the best location of all the hotels i have stayed in in Newquay. Newquay isn't the best resort, especially at weekends when its taken over by stag/hen parties and there are many prettier places near by (St Ives, Padstow etc) but you can't beat it as a base to explore.

The room we had was a twin with a sea view , the view was amazing and you couldn't fault it in any way, it really is worth paying the extra for. The room was large but it does need to be updated as it looked very old fashioned however it was clean and comfortable. We had a shower which was great, but not very powerful so this could be improved on.

The food in the restaurant was pleasant and we didn't have to wait long, however the quality of some of the ingredients were a little poor but in general the food was nice in the evening with plenty of choice (inc cheese and biscuits for desert), breakfast was a little small though and we ended up going to the weatherspoons up road (max 5 min walk away) once! We did have sandwiches from here for lunch twice and although they charge extra they were very nice good value for the price but I feel they should be included on an all inclusive holiday.

Like many others have said the lift is tiny, and can only fit two people in comfortably so I believe that Shearings should consider improving this, we were on the top floor and were fine to manage the MANY winding stairs but some of the other guests were elderly/not in the best health and needed the lift so there were occasionally long queues.

The all inclusive element is good as you have your trips, room, travel, breakfast and a daily paper however it isn't really all inclusive as you don't get a proper lunch (we had a little pack that was child size) including a small drink, savoury snack (crisps) and a sweet snack (small chocolate bar) and although it was a nice touch they really needed a sandwich/roll and drink to really improve this as for drinks they're only free for a few hours in the evening so you have to buy your own most of the day and it is on a limited, but good, selection.

All in all this is a good hotel, with nice staff, great location and I cant wait to go back again, hopefully in summer to really enjoy all that cornwall has on offer. I thoroughly recommend this to anyone but due to the lift situation it may not be suitable for all.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Are_We_There_Yet__25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I have just returned from a mystery trip booked with Shearings we went to this hotel . I feel it was alot of travel for a weekend as you spend a day s travel each way to reach the destination. However Ian our driver did give us a few comfort stops along the way which broke up the travel. the luggage service was very good we didnt have to move our cases once on the coach from arriving to comming back home
The Hotel
in prime position over looking the lovely bay, if you are in any rooms to the right of the reception desk as you enter the hotel the lift is STILL not fixed and the stairs are quite steep so if not very fit you will struggle. the rooms are small but clean and nicely decorated and lovely and warm.
The Food The portions are small and depending on your waitress some had more than others , our waitress I wont mention names was quite surly and a bit abrupt at times .
Entertainment
It seems is better mon- fri Caroline the hostess is very friendly and is a better comedianne than singer in my opinion There was a guitar vocalist on the SATURDAY WHO WAS GOOD BUT OH DEAR SUNDAY! NONE at all no music a quiz is left out for you to do your selves then someone brings out sheets of answers at 10 pm what a washout Shearing should be ashamed surely they can afford a guest artist for 1 night it is still part of the weekend after all,
TOURS OUT
Falmouth 1 day nice place lots of shops Took the 2 hr river cruise £7 each broke up the day and the young man narrating was very well informed about the harbour, fishing ships ,wildlife river etc.
Padstow 2 hr trip a lovely little harbour qiant shops did not have enough time here to explore, Rick Stien(famous chef) as a chippy to name but one, but as it didnt open till 12 mid day and we were getting on the coach then so pointless trip really
Newquay
a bit dead this time of year not a lot of shops or pubs open so once back at hotel nothing to do on the Sunday oh and the bar is only open from 11-45 am to 1 -15 pm so no afternoon tipple unless you venture out up the hill and find the nearest Weather spoons. I would go with Shearings again but pick my own destination in the future

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My parents stayed in this hotel on an all inclusive basis and couldn't praise it enough. The food, the staff, the entertainment were all top class and the hotel room itself was clean, and well looked after. Staff were really obliging and even the Shearings coach drivers (Ken in particular) was fantastic being really informative and friendly ! Any negative would be that my parents were given a room with a bath rather than shower and this caused some problems as they have mobility issues. The other bugbear is that they were expected to share a table with other guests in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.A separate table would be preferred. I can guarantee though that my parents will return to this FAB hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Stayed at the beresford as part of an all inclusive breakIt was our first coach tour We were very happy with the hotel We enjoyed the food ,the entertainment and drinks As long as you can walk up and down stairs or you are not very over weight because of the size of the shower unit in the room you will be okayThanks to all the shearings staff from the drivers to the waiters and entertainment team all excellent We will be booking with shearings again in the near future You cant say much more than that

  • Liked — the excellent staff
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We have just come back from an all inclusive break with Shearings staying at the Beresford. I had some misgivings before going, but they were all unfounded. You get exactly what it says on the tin, and shopuld expect to pay for drinks, meals etc which are not listed on your booking form.
We found the room clean and more than adequate, it was exactly what we asked for, with an excellent view of Tolcarne beach. The food was adequate and good with plenty of choice, the entertainment wasn't to our own taste, but there are plenty of other lounges to use if you are not into what is provided. The drinks are free from 6 -11 pm, as stated and there was no queuing at the bar.
We were told amount the tiny lifts before arriving, but never found them to be a problem (I suppose if you are claustrophobic, they might be though)
All in all it was an excellent autumn break, well done Shearings

  • Liked — The all inclusive offer
  • Disliked — the lift
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shibboleth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing