We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time with shearings but definately not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
halifax
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“first time with shearings but definately not the last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

our driver from start to finish was dennis he was brilliant very friendly and caring he gave us full history on each area of cornwall that he took us .the hotel was really nice the room was very clean food very good and no matter what time we went in for our meal we always got what we asked for the staff were very friendly very quick service in the bar and entertainment very good. we cant wait for our next trip with shearings very good value for money and very good hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyous60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    347
    146
    42
    33
See reviews for
108
477
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

we paid extra for a sea view room and it was worth it very clean we got a free newspaper every morning a packed lunch and free drinks at the bar 7.30pm-10.30pm my husband has to have a gluten free diet the chef was excellent he invited us into the kitchen and asked my husband what food he liked he also got him some gluten free sausages and told us where we could buy them at home their was entertainment every night and plenty of trips out excellant value

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

You hear so many things about coach holidays usually from people who have never been, well this is mine and I have.Coach pick up 7.21am on time someone forgot their handbag and the driver went to great lengths to comfort the lady good impression so far.Trip to coach park then one hour wait, went very quick,very well organized with the amount of coaches turning up.Driver then was Terry, a local man who lived in Newquay, very good guy helpful and knowledgeable.On arriving at hotel first impression from outside not the best but on getting in no problem, yes somethings are dated but you can not do everything at once so very acceptable.Good choice of food did not run out of anything like some said, but then we were first in and personally that does not bother me by running out of things at least it shows turnover.Some have moaned about quiz and bingo but it was full for that and we won so I wont complain.Entertainment ok but I must admit I preferred Choice Hotels for that,but then again that is Blackpool and if they got it wrong then things would be bad.Loved the trips out no need to think for yourself all done for you,therefore no pressure.Just like to say from one persons comment, Polperro is ok coach just stops outside with 2 minute work to centre all flat no problem.Again organization for return very good.Would I go again on another Shearings coach holiday? Its a no brainer for money, travel ,food and entertainment you will struggle to beat it,well done Shearings.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipKBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We travelled with shearing for the easter break. We paid extra for a sea view which was well worth it. The hotel is on the cliff road and we could see the surfers and had a view over the bay. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. We had plenty of room and the bathroom though small was adequate. The tea making facilities were a welcome addtion. We found the staff very helpfull although some of the waiting staff did not have a great deal of English. They tried very hard to make our stay enjoyable. The evening entertainment was not to our liking but there are pleanty of places to sit where you can read or just chat. The food was basic but in the most part acceptable (especially if you consider the very low price we were paying). The hotel is outside the main town area but within easy walking distance. Away from all the clubs where the younger people congregate. Even though our room was at the front of the hotel we were able to get a good nights sleep. We had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensal Rise, London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and I went here for a 5 day coach break with Shearings, Excellent value for money all round - the hotel was old fashioned with a "scary" lift but clean in all aspects. The bedroom was a bit small but not terrible (only one of us could walk past the end of the bed at the same time); the mirror in the bathroom was way too high with me only being able to see the top 1" of my hair. The food was brilliant with tons of choice and the included bar from 7. 30 - 10.30pm was appreciated; good choice of drinks. Istvan, our Hungarian waiter was top class both in effieciency and appearance. The coach was top rate only being one year old and the driver, Brian, pleasant enough. Many good bus routes to other towns and villages run from 1 minute away from the hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Stayed at The Beresford on a Shearings all inclusive 4 night/5day trip 22/2-26/2/2010.
We found the hotel to be comfortable albeit a little dated. Cleanliness was good.Room with sea view was nice.Bed comfortable & clean.Meals were adequate portionwise but a little more on your plate would be a bonus-though we were never hungry!.Meals were nicely cooked so clean plates every time. Restaurant staff were very pleasant and VERY efficient.All other staff were also pleasant and helpful.The lift was an experience each time but it got us up to the top floor.Entertainment was good if you like Bingo & quizzes.Other entertainment was great.Free bar GREAT.First time we have stayed in Newquay and we would stay at The Beresford again should we return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithincheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Just got back from a 5 day stay with Shearings at the Beresford, cannot praise this hotel highly enough.

All the staff were clean and tidy, well turned out friendly and efficient, the food was very good, the soup was quite watery and sometimes you had trouble telling what it was supposed to be but the rest of the food was very good I did find though that as I have with other Shearings hotels they tended to run out of things for example on one evening a gentleman on our table asked for the Lamb Curry and there was none left and on the last evening there was a Gala Dinner which basically meant an extra course which was Prawn Cocktail, again the waitress came to us and told us there was none left! and I mean it wasn't late, it seems to me that if you don't get in first for dinner you are limited with the choices.

We were on an all inclusive holiday and although this does not include a packed lunch anymore and the bar times have altered from 6.30pm-11pm to 7.30pm-10.30pm I had no complaints and plenty of people took advantage of the free bar and a good time was had by all!!.

Lunch was included on the Tuesday Afternoon which again was three courses and very enjoyable.

Entertainment was ok bingo a quiz and visiting cabaret Tues through to Thurs, Monday evening was bingo and quiz no cabaret, the cabaret was ok a couple of the acts were quite poor but they certainly saved the best for last, the last night the cabaret was excellent a top rate singer and saxophone player, superb!!.

The excursions were very good especially Flambards, we also visited a cornish cyder farm and we had a half day to Portreaths Treasure Park, but I would say if you are going to this hotel with Shearings in Jan/Feb/March think twice about the optional excursion to Looe, it was supposed to be to Looe and Polperro but there was no way they could get a coach into Polperro and no way of getting us down to the village so it was cut, We went to Kernow MIll for a coffee stop and then onto Looe we had 2 hrs there and there was basically nothing open except a few cafes and it cost us £10 each so I would think twice about this excursion.

The driver John was ok but not being a local man(Usually does the continental runs to Italy) was not really able to tell us anything about the area what to look for etc although he was friendly enough to the passengers and an ok driver.

All in all a good enjoyable holiday would go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckoutChick37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing