We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our first shearings holiday and we would definatley go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beresford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This was our first shearings holiday and we would definatley go again”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Our room was very dusty around the walls and curtain pelmet this was more obvious when the bedside lamp was on.The shower didnt work in the morning and was not very good in the evening.However the food was good as was the service. We were told the bar was inclusive then found it wasn't but this was not really a problem to us.We had two trips out which we enjoyed. One a full day to falmouth and a half day which was extra to Padstow.Overall the trip was very good and we would love to go again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookie029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    356
    149
    43
    34
See reviews for
108
488
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

well it was my first time in Newquay and stopping at the hotel from the pick up to departure nothing was to much for the fantastic staff. the meals were spot on although the room was basic it had a nice double bed and was very clean.

the service at dinner was quick and the waiting staff were very helpful. the clientle were ranging from the 30's to the 80's so there was a social group for all. the entertainment was very good(although asking us to dance on our first night after a 12hr coach journey seemed a bit harsh!!)

my only small niggle would be the shower cubical not being large enough. and the lift being a tad on the small side but the walk up the stairs was much needed exercise!!

but over very good and value for money. would definatley recomend to friends and stop there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bonkersply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My dad read about the Beresford in a brochure and it gave a very positive review about the establishment and claimed it was a four star hotel. The included excursions sounded lovely so we booked to stay for a week. On arrival we were all bitterly disappointed as the hotel looked very run down and once inside the interior decor showed certain signs of neglect and was highly outdated. We discovered the hotel was in fact a two star hotel so the information we had recieved was incorrect. The location was good because across the road you could look out across Tolcarne beach. I'm sure there are some plumbing/structural problems in the hotel, because during our stay the ceiling in the entertainment room sprung a leak. The room was a huge disappointment as we had paid for a family room and were expecting maybe two ajoining rooms considering me and my sister were with our dad and would appreciate some privacy. Instead there was a double bed and a single right next to it so the only privacy we had was the bathroom which had no security lock to stop people coming in. The room itself was dark and dingy with only two accessible plug sockets, and the view was of a flat garage roof where seagulls would congregate on a morning and wake us up. The lamp shades were not fixed together properly and one of them didn't work at all. To be honest i think the furniture in the room was quite cheap and not of the standard we have experienced in other hotels. The hotel itself was very stuffy and hot especially in the dining room. At first i thought the cutlery was dirty but it was just scratched due to wear and tear and badly needed replacing. The food was average but we expected a bit more quality considering the amount we had paid. We have no complaints against the entertainment staff or the coach drivers who were very friendly and tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. The excursions especially were terrific, it was just coming back to the hotel cast a shadow over the holiday. It was obvious that the main clientele was of the older generation who didn't seem to mind the poor quality of the hotel. I think shearings are abusing this fact and don't feel the need to improve the quality of their hotels which is unfair and unacceptable. The Beresford is definitly not value for money and i hope that Shearings recognises its flaws and decides to invest more time and money into bringing the hotel up to today's standards. I think by doing so they would benefit more interest and attract a wider range of clientele.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiej007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Service was very good, the staff were all helpful, cheerful and pleasant. My room was dark with small window looking out onto a brick wall allowing little fresh air into room, and the cleaning could have been better. The shower was old and cubicle needed new sealant, some cracked tiles. Electrical cable from tv trailed across room. The food was good and the waitresses and bar-staff were really good. Bingo every night was OK if you like that sort of thing. Location of hotel was OK, close to beach - about a 5 minute walk down some steps.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggnbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Just got back from an all inclusive holiday with Shearings. No problems with the Hotel. Staff are brilliant, food is excellent, cabaret on the whole is very good. The lift for someone who needs it, is quite the smallest lift in the world. (just going to check with Guinness Book of Records!). The only problem for us was them bloody seagulls! A young one perched itself outside our window, and squawked for its mother nonstop from 4am onwards every morning.Lack of a shower was also a downer.There is a raucous Surfer Hotel next door, which proved a problem for some guests at the front of the Hotel. So I would not recommend going for a sea view.On the whole , excellent value for money,plenty of good excursions, great local bus service(especially if you have a freebie pass).Well worth if you get a deal, but don't forget cotton wool for them ears!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Great Place to stay. Food good, staff friendly and helpful, entertainment excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamtealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

just got back last week from the Beresford hotel. What a lovely holiday we had. The service we had by all members of staff was second to none. The food was very good as was the presentation. Would like to thank Scott who took care of us in the dining room couldnt do enough for us. I would recomend you paid the extra for a sea view as the view over the bay was fantastic and the surfers are out there from dawn until dusk. Plenty of entertainment in the evenings. The lift was a bit small only two people in at one time,but we didnt have a problem with that infact it was quite a talking point among the guests. Would definately have a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tickyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beresford Hotel

Property: Bay Beresford Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beresford is situated in a superb position on the seafront, with marvellous views over Tolcarne Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel is ideally positioned for taking the short walk into Newquay’s bustling town centre or for taking in the stunning views of Cornwall’s rugged coastline. Many of the front facing rooms have superb views from the hotel’s cliff top position. The bar and ballroom provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy the entertainment and there are two comfortable lounges and a dedicated games area to enjoy. When the Atlantic swells roll in, our seafront conservatory is the perfect place to sit and watch the surfers take on the amazingly powerful waves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel Newquay
Bay Beresford Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing