We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best surf lodges in Newquay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green House Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green House Surf Lodge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best surf lodges in Newquay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This place is clean and tidy. Nice communal room with a pool table, TV and sofas for chilling and chatting. Hosts Freddie and Mark are super friendly and helpful. And the toilet paper was quilted - touch of class!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for two nights in a clean bedroom with 6 bunkbeds (but if you book early enough you can get also 2, 4 & even 8 bunks beds per room). Shower & sink were in room, toilets in hallway. Good communal facilities where breakfast (coffee, cereal and toast) was provided - nice surprise.

It is a surf lodge - with sqeeky beds and other people sharing the room - and I had a great time there. Staying there saved the great experience of my first surf weekend :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the trip. Clean and tidy bedroom, 6 bunks in the room, shower and sink. Squeaky beds and squeaky door so you might be woken if you're a light sleeper! Good communal facilities. Cereal and toast for breakfast, bonus as I didn't think a hostel would provide stuff like that. Chilled out atmosphere. Nice people staying there. Freddie was a great host, very friendly and approachable. Would recommend it as it's close to town but quiet enough not to be disturbed by the hoards of stag and hens. Safe parking on the road round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Jewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We are just about to leave the green house and we are SAD!! The boys looked after us SOOOO well - organised surfing and coasteering lessons with massive discounts and even came out with us on a night and in town and introduced us to all of their sexy surfer mates!! Shaun Wragg I LOVE YOU!!! xxxxx

Great trip great people great place GREAT HOSTEL!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a shower and sink in so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEmily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

we booked to stay here last minute as a group of 3..and had an AMAZING time..the rooms were all really nice..freddie n mark were both really good & friendly..felt quite at home..has a really nice morning room which you can help yourself to breakfast/ hot drinks..and chill threw the day. all over chilled out friendly atmosphere..we LOVED it..will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danik_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the greenhouse and had a lovely time. Our room (the twin) was a little pokey but apparently is the only small room. Mark did offer the room of 4 to us as it was unoccupied over that weekend as he saw that we thought it was maybe a bit small but in the end we stuck with the twin as we thought is was cosy. The staff were great and could not do enough for us. The sun shone and we spent most of the weekend on the patio sunbathing. We have stayed in hostels in Newquay before and have found most of them noisey and some dirty, this hostel was the most relaxing and clean so far.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I have just stayed at The Green House with a large group for a long weekend and our stay was made perfect by our smiling hosts, mark and freddy. Not only did the brothers organise surfing lessons and a heavily discounted coasteering lesson :) But they managed to get us a discount at a very good restaurant on one of Newquay's fine beaches!! The hostel itself was clean, quiet and relaxing-perfect for people wanting a quieter break interested in activities as opposed to getting hammered and lazing about all day...

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesKromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
4.8 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House Surf Lodge

Property: The Green House Surf Lodge
Address: 49 Trenance Road, Newquay TR7 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green House Surf Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for groups as large as 22 people, our bunk style accommodation is newly redecorated. All our rooms boast semi en-suite facilities offering your own shower and sink – a bathroom privacy most other Surf Lodges do not offer. The Green House has a large communal lounge and a south facing garden with a large patio and BBQ area where you can relax and catch some glorious Cornish rays. Alternatively, if you prefer a cold beer in town, a lazy day on the beach or an action packed surf lesson to wash away the cobwebs then it’s all available right on your doorstep with the nearest watering hole 150 meters away. Berties Nightclub and town are an easy 500 meters away and our nearest beach a mere 600 meters away. And with 24hr access you are free to come and go as you please and everybody’s welcome Facilities include Free WIFI, Free Parking, Large Communal Lounge, South Facing Garden and Patio Area, Surf Equipment Hire, Pool table, BBQ Area and Tea and Coffee making facilities. WE WERE VOTED THE MOST SURFER FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION IN THE SUNDAY OBSERVER TRAVEL SUPPLEMENT!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Green House Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing