We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green House Surf Lodge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Green House for 3 nights. Our room for two was small but very comfortable.Very relaxed atmosphere and felt at home. There is plenty of room to park in the surrounding residential streets and its only a five minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Newquay. We will definitely consider staying again if we return to Newquay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was just a coincidence that we stayed at Marks place, a lucky coincidence!! When we arrived at the Green House we immediately felt home! Mark is a great person, who makes you feel very comfortable and who even takes time for a nice talk! We had a great barbecue and our night was calm and relaxing! And the price: unbeatable (and even negotiable)!!
Thank you Mark!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

over the years i have stayed at plenty of surf lodges in cornwall, this places tops them all. good clean friendly atmosphere. it does everything it says on the tin. Mark there couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. and also very understanding with our wayward ways.

i will be now using this as our base from here on out. i know it sounds cheasy but i have tried the rest and i do think this place is by far the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

From word go the experience was really positive. Mark who runs the surf lodge is great, he answered any questions I had before booking and had a solution to every amendment to the booking I made and even catered to our 1am arrival! The facilities themselves were great, the rooms were really clean as were the communal bathrooms, and the beds were super comfy! The location can't be beat, and as other reviews have said it really just felt like you were at home. I stayed at the surf lodge with a group of mates (3 young couples) Mark provides everything you need from breakfast to surfboards and wetsuits at a fee that is a pittance compared the what is charged in town, the boys were also particularly pleased that sky tv was available to keep up to date with the sport. Mark was an exceptional host, no issue was ever to big and he was great craic. Couldn't fault it in any way and would recommend the Green House Surf Lodge to everyone! Cheers for a great weekend Mark!!

Room Tip: We booked a group of 6 and had room number 4 which overlooked the garden, the room was a great size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherinelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great location, impossible to miss. Just a short walk to the high street where you can get whatever you need. Mark set us up with a nearby surf shop where we could rent all the gear we needed and also get some lessons.
The weather had it's ups and downs but we went to the cinema when it rained and there is plenty to do at night. Also there' always golf, airsoft or go carting if you feel like switching it up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justneedaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The first thing I noticed about the lodge its location. The lodge is a 5 minutes walk from the main high street and 15 mins walk from a good surfing beach.The room we stayed in was small, but in no way was a problem and the shower and sink more than makes up for it. The hosts were also very helpful and helped get us discounts and information on a wide range of activities.The main room also has sky, computer and speakers as well as a brilliant pool table. All in all the lodge is great value for money and me and my other 5 party members thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
I would rate it: 5 stars

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacINLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is probably the best surf lodge in newquay. Excellent service from Mark who's happy to help in any situation and give advice on surfing in the area. The place is always nice and clean, even if you made a mess the day before. Amazing value and easy to get to from the coach station. 11/10

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagrid712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 106 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House Surf Lodge

Property: The Green House Surf Lodge
Address: 49 Trenance Road, Newquay TR7 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green House Surf Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for groups as large as 22 people, our bunk style accommodation is newly redecorated. All our rooms boast semi en-suite facilities offering your own shower and sink – a bathroom privacy most other Surf Lodges do not offer. The Green House has a large communal lounge and a south facing garden with a large patio and BBQ area where you can relax and catch some glorious Cornish rays. Alternatively, if you prefer a cold beer in town, a lazy day on the beach or an action packed surf lesson to wash away the cobwebs then it’s all available right on your doorstep with the nearest watering hole 150 meters away. Berties Nightclub and town are an easy 500 meters away and our nearest beach a mere 600 meters away. And with 24hr access you are free to come and go as you please and everybody’s welcome Facilities include Free WIFI, Free Parking, Large Communal Lounge, South Facing Garden and Patio Area, Surf Equipment Hire, Pool table, BBQ Area and Tea and Coffee making facilities. WE WERE VOTED THE MOST SURFER FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION IN THE SUNDAY OBSERVER TRAVEL SUPPLEMENT!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Green House Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing