We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Weekends”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This is a great hotel although in need of some updating. Our room was clean and well presented but the en-suite bathroom could do with an update. The food is excellent at this hotel and the staff are extremely friendly. Avoid weekends because Newquay seems to be a popular place for stag do's, we had a brief problem with noise but another guest had to change rooms because there was a party in the next room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed at Sandy Lodge for 3 nights in March with my 84 year old mum. She feels uneasy in 'posh' hotels and after reading the previous reviews I settled on this hotel. I booked 2 single rooms at the B&B rate through Laterooms.com. On arrival we had each been upgraded to a good sized double bedded room central to the lift and stairs. The furniture and fittings were a bit tatty, but the bedding and towels were clean. We both slept soundly on the comfortable beds. My room had a shower cubicle in the ensuite, and my Mum had a low bath which she preferred. The general cleanliness of both rooms was adequate. Tea making supplies and toiletries were replenished daily.
We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and some evening meals and both found the breakfast plentiful, well cooked and hot, especially the porridge! The evening meals offered a good choice with good sized portions, and again everything was well cooked and hot. Christine the waitress was friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed quiet drinks in the bar after our meal.
One downside was that there was a birthday party in the function room on the first night with ear splittingly loud music until 12.00, not welcome after a tiring day's drive. The hotel was also used by youth football/rugby teams, and the teenagers did run around the hotel noisily at times, but not after 10.30.
My mum thoroughly enjoyed her break, and wants to go back to the same hotel next year.
Sandy Lodge offers good value in a friendly atmosphere.
We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanaPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Arriving with a large tour group I was allocated the worst single room it has ever been my misfortune to stay in.

It was small, dirty, dilapidated and scruffy. The so called ensuite (I use the term loosely) was a dirty old shower cubicle plonked on to the worn old carpet in the bedroom. The toilet was also in the bedroom, screened from view by being boxed in with plywood.

Other people in the group seemed to have fared better and not all rooms were of this abysmally low standard. They were the lucky ones as we were all here for the entire week. Needless to say I spent as little time as possible in this dump.

I do however have one positive comment. The food was lovely -the desserts were out of this world and the restaurant itself was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coral55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Just stayed for a four night bargain break with B&B and EM, with entertainment, and it's all been brilliant! The rooms are adequate, clean, warm, and with plenty of hot water. The meals are just amazing...help yourself breakfast with numerous choices, and all beautifully done. The four course evening meal was better by far than we've had in more expensive hotels, and always a wonderful choice of desserts! The evening entertainment was inventive and very enjoyable, and all the staff were pleasant, smiling and helpful. In all a thoroughly good place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had one night at this hotel and found nothing to be sorry for. The room was nice, clean and had a very spacious en-suite. We were there for an evening function which went off in a very successful manner. 85 people attended the dinner and I was amazed as to how efficient the small number of staff were with the serving. The food was first class. Breakfast the following morning was very good and the waiter more than cheerful - it was a real pleasure to stay here. It was quiet but it was January and Newquay is not buzzing at that time of year and our room was at the rear of the hotel. There is limited parking but we were there early so had no problem. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Have just returned from a 4 night stay what a hotel. Management bar staff waiters waitresses and cleaners take a bow you could not have done any more to make our stay any better. Food top class bedroom clean and big enough, large shower cubicle and plenty of hot water. Paticularly enjoyed swimming pool and hot tub lovely. Drinks £1 for pints and shorts what more does anyone want. A big thank you once again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dominoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Just got back from the Sandy Lodge - I've tried hard to find fault with this hotel but I can't. For the money we paid - £179 for 4 nights bed breakfast and evening meal, including coaching from South Wales and return plus £1.00 per pint/short from 6 till eleven each night - it was sheer good value for money. Whilst some of the rooms were reported on the small side, we actually had a very large room with a large double bed and a single bed, situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the carpark. Hot water was always available, also a walkin electric shower. Staff were very friendly, at reception, bar, and restaurant. Entertainment was of reasonable quality, at least for our crowd consisting of ages ranging from 20 something to 70 something, and was different every night. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone - The manager/owner even came onto our coach to say goodbye and wish us all the best.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthWalesNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
318 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £65 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing