We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cornwall lover . Great Hotel”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our first visit to Sandy Lodge hotel, came with Welshes coaches, the staff were very wecoming and friendly,
nothing too much trouble, all public areas spotless, facilities were very good, as was the entertainment . Our
twin bedded room was large with own balcony and seating area . Very clean, fresh towels every day ,good tea
making facilities in room. The meals were excellant ,varied and well cooked food, all you could eat and more !
no need to go hungry at the Sandy Lodge, thats for sure. The menus were displayed in the reception area daily
as was the entertainment programme for the length of our stay. We stayed from Sun 15th April-20th April ,Brill !
Will definately come again.

Room Tip: The second floor we found to be good, not too much noise where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DOTTYTHORNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Went on a Diamond holidays coach holiday. First impressions as the coach drew up were great, clean white net curtains, lovely. My single room was very very clean, lovely crisp, clean white cotton sheets and lovely white towels, love the bathroom behind the sliding doors, a very good size for a single.
Meals were excellent, great range of choices at both breakfast and dinner.
Michael the singer/ comedian was brilliant, good voice and very very funny, was in tears laughed so much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I've just returned from a very pleasant mini-weekend at the Sandy Lodge courtesy of Leisuretime (Cardiff).My room on the first level had a comfortable double bed, adequate washroom/toilet facilities, a modern flat screen tv with Freeview channels and the usual tea/coffee making facilities. My one minor gripe was the abscence of a bedside table and chair.Meals at the hotel were excellent with breakfast being served buffet style, I appreciated the availability of a fresh fruit salad whilst the full English was hot and fresh. Evening meals were well presented and very tasty whilst the waiting staff were very efficient (although I could have done without one constantly whistling waiter,perhaps I'm becoming a grumpy old man!!). The lounge was convivial whilst the beer prices were reasonable. The entertainment was the norm for these types of hotels, not brilliant but adequate). I must mention our lady coach driver, Caroline of Laser Travel whose friendly personality and super efficiency made the weekend a very enjoyable experience. I would have no hesitation in staying at the Sandy Lodge again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first time at the Sandy Lodge as it was part of a coach trip organised by Diamond Holidays. The hotel was a bit of a worry before we went, not knowing what to expect etc. A very nice surprise we are glad to say, the room was on the small side, but was in good condition (first floor) and everything worked! The shower lacked power but was quite adequate. Sleeping was a bit of a problem, not the Hotels fault, it was other guests who came in late and slammed the room doors with no thought for people who had already retired for the evening. Another slight irritant was that the floor boards above us were very creaky and at times it seemed as if a football match was taking place!!
The staff were very friendly especially in the dining room and nothing seemed too be to much trouble for them. We stayed on a B&B + Dinner basis and found the food to be of a good standard especially the fried eggs at breakfast! normally our experience of mass produced fried eggs in a lot of Hotels is that they would be better employed as door stops!! not here, they looked and tasted just as they should. Overall an excellent experience and without doubt value for money

Room Tip: A room on the top floor may be ideal if you want to get a decent nights sleep?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel after booking a self drive holiday through Majestic. The staff were very welcoming and all public areas, and our room were spotless. The sheets and towels were pure white. Entertainment was really good. I used the small gym a couple of times and the pool, although small, was as warm as bath water and the jaccuzi even warmer - lovely. The floor boards were a bit creaky but didn't really cause us a problem (we were on the 1st floor). It's quite central - we walked to Newquay Zoo, less than 10 minutes walk away. The beaches and town were also near enough to walk. The food in the pleasant restaurant was excellent and waiting staff very friendly and obliging. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I booked for Monday pm to Friday am via Majestic Tours self-drive.

We visited the Eden Project on the way and it (and the fine weather) made a very good start to our break.

At the hotel there are a number of parking spaces available, although several were used up by the two coaches based there for the five days.

Reception staff in general were smiling and accommodating.

Our room (111) was a good size and well decorated. The view out both windows was onto the building next door - not a problem for us. The bathroom had no bath, but did have a shower - again not a problem for us. The standard of cleanliness in the room was good and the cleaning staff were friendly.

The entertainment lounge was large and comfortable. During our stay the entertainment was good (based around 1960s music) and two singer / comedians appeared. One in particular
Freddy Zap was excellent! Drinks prices were reasonable for a hotel bar. There is also large comfortable TV lounge.

The restaurant is well decorated, spacious and the furnishings looked good. The menu is posted each day and lists a range of tasty food for the evening meal. A wide choice of help-yourself puddings were available too. Unusually for hotels, coffee was provided after the meal, which made a nice change - the coffee tasted good quality. The staff waiting on tables were friendly and eager to please. Our particular waitress, Christine, was a smiling, jolly soul and very efficient. Breakfast was self-service, well cooked and plentiful.

The hotel has a small gym, small indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The gym equipment looked somewhat tired, but worked, and the pool was a good temperature.

In summary the five days were very good value for money (special offer, £89 each) and we would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our first time to this hotel with a coach company, - Majestic.
From past experience we expect mediocre accomodation. But what a pleasant experience at the Sandy Lodge, everything was perfect: our room, dining, recreation facilities, comfortable public rooms, and entertainment if we wanted it, or quiet rooms if we did not. And another plus point - no Bingo!

Room Tip: We had a family room which was bigger that our friends' rooms, but none of our group of ten in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eiddew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £74 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing