We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good basic hotel and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good basic hotel and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed here three times - always good value, but the hotel has upgraded its rooms and our last one was of a good standard - roomy, quiet and a newly upgraded shower room. The bed was a little hard with the suspicion of a sneaky spring, but that was the only small gripe.

The food was basic and good. Staff friendly and helpful.

The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk from the cliffs and walks and stunning sccenery. A Tesco Express just round the corner. All very convenient. The hotel also has a decent sized car park and there is on street parking very near.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    148
    59
    33
    31
See reviews for
48
171
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed there last Aug and was great, we returned on 21May for 5 days, nice to see the same staff and also in the dining room. We had the same room (301) as was quiet and overlooking the side road and the hills, the Sun comes into room from daybreak to late afternoon.
Food was still very good nothing had changed really.... BUT I was diagnosed as a Coeliac in Late Feb this year !!! That was a pain, all that lovely food to eat - well the sweets are nearly off limits..
Had a word with the Chef once we were there, told him that I could not eat food which has Gluten in, no problem... all sauces etc are gluten free, they make it themselves, with the fried bread and toast at breakfast - no problem they will have the gluten free bread and will be "cooked" separately. One day, the mains were breaded or similar they asked me what do you want.. the fish without the batter, so he cooked (Pan fried) me two pieces of Cod, that was just great. The Chef said he would cook something
else if the menu was not suitable if he knows in advance, Menus are on the notice board by noon.
There were four Coaches in during that week, many people have been staying there many times before - So, can't be too bad then.... YES, we will be back......

Room Tip: Rooms 301 302 303 on the ground floor are well away from any noise we never heard anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

my husband and myself went with the ulsterbus on 13/5/12 to 18/5/12to this hotel. the staff and all who worked here were fantastic people and always willing to help. it was a delight to stay in this hotel. many thanks for a wonderful holiday to all the staff.
alan and jennifer zebedee

Room Tip: our room had a balcony, fantastic to sit there when the weather is warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Sandy Lodge Hotel. Food remains excellent & all staff extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel room could do with an update, especially the bathroom, but comfy enough. Tea/coffee making facilities are included in the room but would recommend taking some extra tea bags as only 2 provided each day.
Weekends in Newquay can be very busy with stag/hen parties.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break at Sandy Lodge, not going to bore everyone with loads of crap
1.Hotel 5 min walk to the shops , and a handy little tesco extra 2 min away .
2.Food FANTASTIC , all home cooked , and dont miss the soup best i have ever tasted.
3.Staff all very very nice
4.My room 222 was lovely , no problems at all .
Give this hotel a try you wont be sorry .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lesleylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from the Sandy Lodge Hotel after a 5 day stay. What a smashing hotel and as a ex tour guide I have stayed in a few!
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food could not be faulted and the evening entertainment was first class.
The hotel was kept spotlessly clean throughout
They could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Did not hear of any complaints from fellow passengers (40)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our first visit to Sandy Lodge hotel, came with Welshes coaches, the staff were very wecoming and friendly,
nothing too much trouble, all public areas spotless, facilities were very good, as was the entertainment . Our
twin bedded room was large with own balcony and seating area . Very clean, fresh towels every day ,good tea
making facilities in room. The meals were excellant ,varied and well cooked food, all you could eat and more !
no need to go hungry at the Sandy Lodge, thats for sure. The menus were displayed in the reception area daily
as was the entertainment programme for the length of our stay. We stayed from Sun 15th April-20th April ,Brill !
Will definately come again.

Room Tip: The second floor we found to be good, not too much noise where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DOTTYTHORNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing