We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
swansea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed at the Sandy Lodge from 22 march with Majestic, we had a great time, room and bathroom were clean, towels soft and white. The food was first class, best breakfast I have had at one of these breaks. Entertainment was ok could have been better. Staff were great, but the barman with a beard could smile and communicate a little. Overall a great weekend value for money. would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojo75Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    150
    59
    33
    31
See reviews for
48
171
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

we went there in feb2013.
The rooms were clean . bed comftable . towels soft clean and white.
the staff were great , and could not do enough for you. Food was good, plenty of choice. and plenty of it. There were 3 coach company there , we were with liesuretime.
Entertainment was great , and on every night ,
when we were there it was a pound bar all night.
we were on the front of the hotel , on the top floor, lovely big room.
only fault was the floorboards were very creaky.
will go again .

Room Tip: By what was said all the room were fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank audlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Evertime I stay here I cannot be but extremely impressed by the value of this hotel.
The rooms are clean,the reception and dinning room are always manned by competent staff.
If I must nit-pick it would over the rather small television,but this is easily out-weighed by all the good things.
A pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

A lovely hotel, some rooms were only average but the hotel itself is good and run very smoothly. The food and service was excellent and there was entertainment most nights.
It has a heated swimming pool, although rather small it was very warm and together with a spa and gym it is certainly good value.
We were a club, party of 48 arriving by coach and nothing was too much trouble for them and they ere most helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We had our christmas party at the Sandy Lodge and it was great. Everyone of us (40 in all) said how much they enjoyed it.

The sandy lodge management helped us with our specific requests and ensured that we had everything we needed. The food was delicious, and we didnt have to pre-book it, which was great. The service by both the restaurant and bar was first class, and the extra little goodies on the table made a very noisy, but happy party.

Thank you to all involved.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackieC8715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Large rooms, clean but dated in the seventies. Would have been very happy but for the paper thin walls and floors. Could hear all footsteps, and noise from other rooms. Impossible to sleep or even rest in afternoon or evening. Our room was also overlooked by other rooms due to a haphazard building layout.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Takegawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Although the weather was very bad we arrived on time, swiftly given our room keys and the bags followed us to our room. Room clean and tidy, outlook from the window not spectacular (we didn't come to look out of the window) Food very good and served quickly, evening entertainment very good. As we were leaving the owner manager bid us a fond farewell something you don't normally get. All in all an enjoyable weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing