We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P Wilkie driver”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 14 April 2013

this hotel has wonderful staff outstanding service you can not fault this hotel if you stay here you will not be disappointed it is so near to the beach and cliffs which is so convenient for all local attractions hope you enjoy your stay
p wilkie

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at Sandy Lodge Hotel. The food was excellent and I put on weight, The beds very comfortable, the staff really helpful and pleasent.
The entertainment very good, and proximity to Tolcarne Beach just a fe.w mintues walk away.
There is a bus stop and train stop very close (Minature train) and a supermarket..
The choice of desserts at the evening meal was fantastic
The swimming pool small but clean and warmish!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welby26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed at the Sandy Lodge from 22 march with Majestic, we had a great time, room and bathroom were clean, towels soft and white. The food was first class, best breakfast I have had at one of these breaks. Entertainment was ok could have been better. Staff were great, but the barman with a beard could smile and communicate a little. Overall a great weekend value for money. would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojo75Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

we went there in feb2013.
The rooms were clean . bed comftable . towels soft clean and white.
the staff were great , and could not do enough for you. Food was good, plenty of choice. and plenty of it. There were 3 coach company there , we were with liesuretime.
Entertainment was great , and on every night ,
when we were there it was a pound bar all night.
we were on the front of the hotel , on the top floor, lovely big room.
only fault was the floorboards were very creaky.
will go again .

Room Tip: By what was said all the room were fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank audlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Evertime I stay here I cannot be but extremely impressed by the value of this hotel.
The rooms are clean,the reception and dinning room are always manned by competent staff.
If I must nit-pick it would over the rather small television,but this is easily out-weighed by all the good things.
A pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A lovely hotel, some rooms were only average but the hotel itself is good and run very smoothly. The food and service was excellent and there was entertainment most nights.
It has a heated swimming pool, although rather small it was very warm and together with a spa and gym it is certainly good value.
We were a club, party of 48 arriving by coach and nothing was too much trouble for them and they ere most helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We had our christmas party at the Sandy Lodge and it was great. Everyone of us (40 in all) said how much they enjoyed it.

The sandy lodge management helped us with our specific requests and ensured that we had everything we needed. The food was delicious, and we didnt have to pre-book it, which was great. The service by both the restaurant and bar was first class, and the extra little goodies on the table made a very noisy, but happy party.

Thank you to all involved.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackieC8715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
319 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £65 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing