We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Sandy Lodge”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just got back from my first visit to the Sandy Lodge and can't wait to go again. We had a lovely modernised room with good shower room which was spotless. The staff were really friendly and helpfull from the cleaners to the owner. My only complaint if you can call it that was the weight I put on due to the food being so good especially the desserts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we take pride in our food, I just hope you've managed to shed the few pounds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a David Urquhart tour to Newquay and the Isles of Scilly. The friendly staff service was excellent, The food excellent, always tasty, good portions and well cooked. The accommodation was comfortable and clean, although like many buildings of this age with wooden floors, there are lots of squeaky noises during busy periods.

The Hotel is situated less than one minute from the cliff tops, and within five to ten minutes walk to the main beaches and town centre.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room on the second floor, facing south with pleasant views and all the days sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at the sandy lodge mon to friday self drive we had a lovely room very clean bed linen and towels spotless,food excellent always hot, self service breakfast always plenty of food replenished all the time, evening meal 3 courses choice of 3 main courses and a hot sweet or make your own choice from the cold sweet table 8 different choices every night there is a lovely indoor pool entertainment on 3nights was very good,the staff all very pleasant and polite. I have read some of the reviews and they are not very good who worries about a crack on the outside wall has long as you have a clean room and beds and good food thats all you need if people require 5 star treatment they must pay top prices i would reccomend this hotel Patricia from the rhondda valley

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks Patricia, I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just got back from a w/e break, didnt really know what to expect after reading the reviews, but my room was large for two people nice clean bathroom only problem there was only a shower but could live with that, the rooms could be updated and the bed was very hard so did find difficulty in sleeping......The staff i thought were great and so was the food, my daughter made a few complaints about her room and they were sorted straight away, i would stay there again but unless they sorted the bed out would only manage a w/e.The one thing they should sort is the noise level as the floor boards were very squeaky, and passing customers were quite loud at times but on the whole it wasnt as bad as i was thinking...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although the food was good and the towels & bed linen were clean (sent to contractors) the rest of the hotel left very much to be desired! The shabby entrance was a giveaway! Cracked outer wall to main lounge with peeling paint, cheap look-a-like wooden floor covering in foyer, no master keys held at reception for emergencies, broken en-suite light held together with cellotape, broken basin taps, dirty surround to shower cubicle, dirty edges to window, torn bed bases, walls were scratched and dirty in places, timber fire escape which could have been rotten in places-in respect of lack of maintenance to rest of hotel, scruffy various patterned carpets in all areas, very old and tied paintwork, the pool area was unsafe in places as the blue plastic was broken with holes in parts, also the switches on the jacussi were also broken. Although the staff were friendly I do not know how they could have worked in such a poor hotel. It need knocking down and rebuilt to a good standard like the other hotels in the town especially the one right opposite!

Room Tip: Have no idea which rooms were better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel was comfortable, Food there was plenty of choices, Staff friendly . The shower in our room was an attachment in the bath, cold tap on the hand basin came out as a drizzle.
Bed side lamp did not work, after speaking to reception it was replaced by a new unit then one of the bulbs went out, it was replaced on telling reception of the problem,
We did not think the floor had been cleaned during our stay of four nights. Our big grievance was there was no hand rails on the stairs

Room Tip: This the first time staying here. Yes we would stay again same room 131 if the stairs had rails fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Bower_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

In the Majestic Tours brochure it was stated that this hotel was "back by popular demand". We would seriously question this statement. When we arrived two schoolboys took our luggage to our room (health and safety issues?). Our so-called "room" was so small that we had to use a dressing table footstool as a bedside table. Next we discovered that the shower and bathroom were so small that, after a shower, we had to dry ourselves in the bedroom! We then discovered that the TV wasn't working. Eventually a maintenance person came and discovered that the set had been turned off from the mains manually by a switch hidden from view at the back of the set. As the set was wall-mounted we had no chance of finding it. We then discovered that there were no light meals or bar drinks available during the day, apart from tea or coffee from a machine. How customer friendly was that? The entertainment area was not too bad, apart from the fact that the toilets were adjoining the dance floor ("We no where you've Been!"). Perhaps the final ignominy was that, on departure day, we had to take our luggage to the coach ourselves! On a lighter note: Food was good, well prepared and served, and plentiful--the only saving grace for this hotel. We discussed these various problems among our coach group and found that many were in agreement. Verdict: Avoid like the plague!

Eileen and Doug Batten, Exeter.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
988 reviews
1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £41 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing