We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
154
177
81
37
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
177
81
37
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquhartmajestic tourssweet tableself drivecoach triptesco expressbreakfast was buffet stylesmall gymturkey and tinselthe dining room staffevening entertainmenttea and coffeebudget hotelplenty of hot waterwalk in showertown centreweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Outdated by at least 25 years!
If you want a green stained bathroom suite try room 122,
The view from the room balcony was much to be desired if you like to look at a dirty old blanket and stained patio furniature!
The staff were lovely. X
The owners need to retire as it's another rip off Britain!!!!




  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Sandy Lodge for one night with a group of friends.

The hotel is very dated and need of some
TLC. Our room was very small with a very cramped bathroom. The bed was small and hard and the pillows were like sand bags. The room itself didn't look like it had been updated for years. There were numerous large cracks in the walls and the decor was dated. The walls are also quite thin and we struggled to sleep due to the other guests moving around the building.

The hotel is in a very good location and the staff were very friendly. We only had breakfast, but it was very good and the choice was excellent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Boxie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Without a room number it is always difficult to respond, I'm sorry that the room decor was not to your taste. Unfortunately we cannot change the fabric of the building and noise does travel further in certain areas of the hotel. Tank you for your comments on our staff and your breakfast experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We paid £55 for our room and this included a very comprehensive breakfast which was the best part. It was also easy to get into town (10 min walk).
The room was very small and the bed, a small double, not ideal for me and my boyfriend as both of us are over 6ft2. The room was right above reception, and very noisy, with cars from the main road, people coming and going and people stood outside smoking into the early hours of the morning. There were also a lot of coach parties coming and going, and the coaches turning and guest with luggage made a racket. Also the sign that runs across the hotel front was lit up all noght and pur curtains were paper thin so it was like daylight in our room all night. Neither of us slept well and we wish we had gone for somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel - not saying the back is any better but 231 was noisy and very lit up all night
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I'm sorry for the number of disturbances you experienced during your stay with us. Our bedrooms have double glazed windows to try ad minimise the noise from outside. We have 24 hour reception cover and our staff are trained to deal with disturbances during anti-social hours if they are contacted at the time. Once again I am sorry you was disturbed during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Sandy lodge about 4 years ago, and had a good time. Hotel was a bit worn round the edges, food and entertainment was very good, so were the STAFF. Hotel has been repainted, and upgraded some what down stairs. All the people that came down to the Sandy Lodge about 35 of us were very pleased with the 4 days we spent there. To all the staff thank you. ..............Mrs C. Barnes........we stayed with them on 28/04/2014-----02/05/2014

Room Tip: all seemed ok.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B, General Manager at Sandy Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted all 35 of your group had as pleasant stay with us and hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A group of us stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. It is a bit dated and could do with a spruce up, but our room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was rather small, with nowhere to toiletries and to our horror......there wasn't any loo roll! Just a dispenser on the wall, that delivered very minute pieces of tissue paper. Fortunately there is a Tesco Express around the corner from the hotel and we were able to buy some "proper" loo paper!
The breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice, but we didn't think much of the evening meals. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially as we had some elderly and disabled friends in our party.
Probably would go back again as the hotel is good value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotteryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews