We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and the staff could not do enough to help.”
Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere and the staff could not do enough to help.”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I recently stayed at Sandy Lodge for a weekend with friends. The Hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the service we received was first class. The food was good which included breakfast and evening meal, with a good choice including starters, mains and sweets. I had chance to use the leisure facilities including the swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym. The location was ideal as it was a short walk to the beach and likewise to the night life meaning when we did eventually sleep we were not kept awake by music and the hussle and bussle of the thriving clubs and pubs. We thouroughly enjoyed the break and would not hesitate returning.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dib5788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    157
    67
    33
    32
See reviews for
49
182
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at the Sand Lodge Hotel for a weekend in July. The hotel has a great locatioin with super friedly staff who go out of their way to ensure you have a quality break. The food is plentiful and of a high standard. Could't fault the place and particularly enjoyed the Jaccuzi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace6922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed over the 6 weeks holiday and it was the best ever hotel!!! when we went we had lovely staff and the most comfy room ! to be honest i could have stayed forever!!! I love going to cornwall and have been going for 10 years (not to sandy lodge) but honestly out of all the hotels we've been too i recomend sandy lodge is one of the best! i have made lots of new friends (including the staff who are very nice!) and i wish that everyone who reads this can go to cornwall and visit sandy lodge hotel. Everything is just perfect!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed for a week at the Sandy Lodge.The hotel was clean and the room adequate but the whole place requires to be decorated and refurbished.Although the breakfast was tasty with plenty of it, there could have been more variety e.g. rolls, boiled eggs, mushrooms and black pudding for a change instead of the same items every day. The dining room and cleaning staff were all friendly but I feel the staff on reception could have been friendlier and after all they are the first point of contact with the guests. Overall the entertainment was good and the location of the hotel was fine.The hotel does appear to cater for coach parties but in my opinion this is preferable to the parents with young children who appeared on our last day and allowed their children to play on the dance floor which stopped us from dancing and enjoying the entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2010

That bad that we decided to leave without sleeping in there


We have booked this place though lastminute.com and have checked the reviews and photos prior to reservation. As it was meant to be just for one night, we weren’t looking for a 5* accommodation and were fully aware that a lodge is of a lower standard than a hotel but this didn’t bother us.

That was meant to be a beginning to our great Cornwall weekend. We have travelled for 5 hours from Oxfordshire and when we eventually arrived at the Lodge, there was no one at the reception. We were met by a strange odour and that kind of music playing in the lobby that your gran would enjoy while line-dancing (first impression counts).

We have been waiting for someone to turn up at the reception for a good 5 minutes, in the meantime we have tried finding another member of staff but there was no one in the vicinity and the place looked abandoned (except for an odd pensioner here and there). After a while and an agonising wait a coach with more pensioners have pulled up and about 30 of them strolled into the reception area. We were all waiting and unable to check in / get room keys. Eventually a young receptionist turned up and greeted everyone with a friendly ‘’Who’s first?’’ – amazing!! My partner and I said we have been here waiting for a while and for someone to turn up as we have a reservation and would like to check in, instead of an apology we heard ‘’well I’m alone here and there are things to be done at the back of the hotel’’! Coming from a catering background myself (I used to worked as a front of house manager in a hotel), I could not believe my ears! I was absolutely shocked with the rudeness of the receptionist!

We were given a form to fill in and a room key and a very brief description of how to the room. No information on the parking, breakfast or check out times – these we had to ask for and got a snazzy reply! Having taken the key we have attempted finding the room, which turned out to be more difficult than we thought. It was on a second floor somewhere in the middle of the lodge and the narrow corridors with no clear indications of where the room could be, didn’t make it easy to find. Eventually we have found a room 222 with a scrapped door and a door knob hanging loosely, by that time my partner was already agitated with the whole experience. We got into the room and I could not believe my eyes – hostels provide better accommodation than what we have been given at the Sandy Lodge!
The room was tiny; every piece of furniture was in an appalling condition, not matching and filthy. You could see human hair on the carpet – can’t even imagine when the room was last cleaned, it was disgusting! No duvet, just a blanket and 2 pillows. There was a small ‘’terrace’’ if you can call it that way, which overlooked the courtyard with some broken plastic furniture here and there. Windows were filthy and the entire room just stank!

It was just unimaginable to stay there!

We have been passing some other rooms on the same floor and some of the doors were open with guests coming in and out and we could briefly see that the standard was a lot better. I do not know whether we have been given, what seemed like the worse room in the lodge, because the remark we have made about having to wait for the receptionist or was it because we have booked through lastminute? I know that some places allocate lastminute guests in the second standard accommodation but what we have been given is beyond shameful!

The management of the Lodge should seriously consider a refurbishment and getting a new receptionist!

We have decided not to stay at the Lodge and went to the reception to inform ever so helpful young lady who in fact seemed pleased that we were not staying. When I have told her that unfortunately we will not be staying overnight, she didn’t even bother to ask as to why, if there was a problem with a room or if there was anything she could do to help – she simply didn’t care.

We have lost the money for the stay but I do not regret leaving that dump! We have managed to get a sea view room at the Best Western Hotel just around the corner for twice the price of the Sandy Lodge accommodation but at least we had a pleasant stay, clean room, comfortable beds and friendly staff.

If you ever think of staying at Sandy Lodge – please, please DO NOT DO IT!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Stayed 3 nights. Location is a bit out of town but easy to walk and probably quieter. Nice room, good food, good swim. Staff seemed friendly. Even had a balcony! Tesco Express very close by. Nice walks overlooking the sea very close by. The owner's son even came onto the coach and said goodbye to us. Close to Eden Project.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

my wife and i stayed here for a week in august 2009 and had no complaints whatever, the meals were excellent, the room was great, the staff were friendly, all in all we had a great holiday here, well done the sandy lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing