We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just been away for a weekend with the...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just been away for a weekend with the...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just been away for a weekend with the lads and had a brilliant time. The hotel is in the perfect place only 10 mins from the main town although it seemed to take longer on the way home for some reason...... The staff are all really friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. There are also great facilities at the hotel including a jacuzzi spa which we had some good fun in all in all thanks Pete and all the staff for a memorable weekend and hope to be back soon

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fadsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    150
    59
    33
    31
See reviews for
48
171
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I had to tink about writing this review. There was good and a little bad. The hotel is mainly for coaching holidays so of course the age group tends to be older although there was a groupf of men early 30s. I am a man aged 38 who likes peace and quiet and good lively pubs. I found both. Anyway, the hotel. I paid £140 for 4 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. It was amazing value for money. I am vegetarian and so had to have a special meal every night. The chef put some very expensive London restaurants to shame to feed me. You could argue I was the only vegetarian in the place but, they made the effort thats what counts. A bottle of house red £10, cant be bad. The only bad thing was noise in the room if people outside in the corridor were noisy, but having said that I had a small room. It had a double bed, tv, kettle, hot shower etc, was cleaned every day and tea, coffee replenished. Ok its not 4 star but for the sort of money you will pay its adequate.
5 mins from the town centre and beaches. You get what you pay for, and there you certainly got your moneys worth.
I nearly didnt go after reading some reviews, I am very glad I did now.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

My friends and I stayed at Sandy Lodge from Friday to Sunday and feel this is an extremely well run establishment that cannot be faulted. The staff were friendly and polite and always made time for us. The manager even greeted us on arrival.
The rooms were spacious and fairly modern.
The Breakfast included a choice of full english or continental and the evening meal was also very nice.
Newquay town centre is about a ten minute walk away and the beach is on the door step
There is a good size indoor pool with jacuzzi and sauna.
Evening entertainment is provided by the hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed before heading into town.
This hotel is excellent value for money and we would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I recently stayed at Sandy Lodge for a weekend with friends. The Hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the service we received was first class. The food was good which included breakfast and evening meal, with a good choice including starters, mains and sweets. I had chance to use the leisure facilities including the swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym. The location was ideal as it was a short walk to the beach and likewise to the night life meaning when we did eventually sleep we were not kept awake by music and the hussle and bussle of the thriving clubs and pubs. We thouroughly enjoyed the break and would not hesitate returning.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dib5788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at the Sand Lodge Hotel for a weekend in July. The hotel has a great locatioin with super friedly staff who go out of their way to ensure you have a quality break. The food is plentiful and of a high standard. Could't fault the place and particularly enjoyed the Jaccuzi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace6922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed over the 6 weeks holiday and it was the best ever hotel!!! when we went we had lovely staff and the most comfy room ! to be honest i could have stayed forever!!! I love going to cornwall and have been going for 10 years (not to sandy lodge) but honestly out of all the hotels we've been too i recomend sandy lodge is one of the best! i have made lots of new friends (including the staff who are very nice!) and i wish that everyone who reads this can go to cornwall and visit sandy lodge hotel. Everything is just perfect!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed for a week at the Sandy Lodge.The hotel was clean and the room adequate but the whole place requires to be decorated and refurbished.Although the breakfast was tasty with plenty of it, there could have been more variety e.g. rolls, boiled eggs, mushrooms and black pudding for a change instead of the same items every day. The dining room and cleaning staff were all friendly but I feel the staff on reception could have been friendlier and after all they are the first point of contact with the guests. Overall the entertainment was good and the location of the hotel was fine.The hotel does appear to cater for coach parties but in my opinion this is preferable to the parents with young children who appeared on our last day and allowed their children to play on the dance floor which stopped us from dancing and enjoying the entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lodge Hotel

Property: Sandy Lodge Hotel
Address: 6-12 Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Lodge Hotel in Newquay is a great family run hotel based in Cornwall's premier resort. Situated close to the seafront, the hotel features en-suite bedrooms with Freeview TV & Tea & Coffee making faciities. The Hotel offers excellent cuisine including our "all you can eat," Breakfast Buffet with friendly, informal service. Entertainment is provided most evenings and the public areas of the hotel have ramped access to facilitate wheelchair users. Free Parking is also available for hotel guests for up to 50 vehicles.Our ideal location means that you will only be a 150 yards away from the beautiful seafront of Newquay Bay and the local shops and town centre only a short walk away. We deliver high quality service and our rates are very competitive if you are looking for a great value hotel in Newquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Newquay
Sandy Lodge Newquay
Sandy Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing