We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Roche, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

For the perfect summer marquee wedding without the worry of bad weather this is the perfect location. My son's wedding on June 30th was absolutely perfect in every way, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, it was almost like we had our own 'wedding planners'! The indoor marquee was beautifully decorated and with its own dance floor and bar ensured that all the guests were 'wedding' guests, something not found at other hotel locations. The food was excellent, both for the wedding and for the guests who travelled to Newquay and chose to eat in the hotel rather than venture out. My son and his wife really couldn't have chosen a better venue so all our thanks to the Carnmarth Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, spectacular views of Newquay's premier surfing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    130
    61
    10
    12
See reviews for
96
206
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, really close to the beach, town centre, shops and eating facilties. The room that we had was fantastic, there was a loarge bay in the room which over looked the beach. Couldnt find any faults.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as part of a 'Glenton' Coach Trip to Newquay and Torquay. The Carnmarth is a very short walk to Fistral Beach and local shops. The hotel was always very clean and tidy and the facilites were all to a very high standard. We were travelling in a party of 5, staying in 1 double room and 1 family room. The original double room which we were allocated at check-in was very small, but the family room was exceptional, bright and spacious with large windows prividing great views to the beach. We immediately approached reception about the standard of the assigned double room and the Manager (and I think owner) named Will, allocated an alternative room and was very keen to please, he promised that we would be happy with this one. He was correct; the new room was much bigger, brighter and had a balcony with great views to the beach. The staff were ALL wonderful, helpful, polite, friendly and keen to ensure your enjoyment of this fantastic establishent. The food was to a very high standard and overall we had a thouroughly exceptional time staying at this hotel. A special mention to Pat & his wife Viv. Viv was in charge of houskeeping and I must say did a fantastic job presenting and maintaining the rooms. Pat was always present at night in the bar, doing bar duties and 'anything' else that the customers needed and he always made himself available to help out and assist with our needs always with a huge, friendly smile on his face. They are a real credit to the hotel. We will be recommending this hotel to all of our friends and will no doubt be staying here again in the near future. Thanks and very well done to the whole Carnmarth team!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, or pay extra for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We only visited the bar and restaurant this time. It has a pleasant terrace overlooking the golf course and road to Fistral. Since the demise of Fistral Blu this is the best place to eat at this end of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momosdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I attended a wedding here recently so can't comment on the accomodation but the guests that stayed said it was good.
For me the wedding experience was good and the food was excellent with good sized portions. The staff here are really good and very friendly and clearly well trained. The hotel did put some efort into it to make it special and the reception troom is very well laid out.
So if your getting married you could do a lot worse!
Great views when you first arrive and opportunity to get some pictures with a sea view too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2nights in old style room, which was perfectly adequate for the price. Breakfast was promptly served and well cooked. Dinner was very good from a limited menu. Terrace overlooking golf course and Fistral beach fabulous. Bedrooms being gradually improved.
Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our extended family all met up here and stayed for three nights. The hotel has a great location, walking distance to the mayhem that is Newquay on a weekend evening, and everything inside is clean tidy modern and professional. The rooms are decorated nicely, the beds comfortable.

Breakfast is great, choice of fish or cooked breakfast plus eggs, cereal, fruit - all tasty and not at all greasy. We also ate one night in the bar/restaurant - perfectly ok without being amazing. The bar area is nice and big with a pool table and tv.

There is a fair bit of noise from creaky floorboards from people walking above your rooms, and on the weekend we stayed there was noise from a wedding until 2am, not to mention someone knocking on our door in the middle of the night, but we were warned about the wedding beforehand and this isn't the hotel's fault. The lift is positively steam powered, and the corridors a bit thin, but as I said, the rooms themselves are fine.

Good value as well, especially the single rooms, excellent staff, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing