We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Britain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Went to this hotel as a solo traveller ,in May 2013 , as other members of my party were in an alternate hotel along the road . Single room was hardly spacious but was clean , tidy and more than appropriate for my needs - a place to rest while enjoying an adventurous weekend . Views really are spectacular and it's well worth a 5 minute stroll after breakfast just to take in the magnificence of the beach , the bay and the surroundings .
My falling asleep with the tv on proved too much for the guests next door and they awoke me from my reverie - obviously the soundproofing either isn't up to much (or the other guests lived in a library because the tv was set below the level preset by the hotel ) . Staff were fun and welcoming even though the "C-bar" (geddit?) was always empty on my late return . Breakfast was not a belly-buster but again utterly appropriate for my needs .
The staff more than made up for the intolerance of other guests and I'd definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conti1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    127
    59
    10
    12
See reviews for
91
200
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Six of us stayed here for the Easter holiday. What a lovely hotel, clean, lovely helpful staff. Amazing breakfast servied piping hot. Extra coffee, tea and toast no problem. Was a lot of diffrent age groups staying. There was a wedding on the Saturday and the noise from the band was a bit loud but hey hoo it was Saturday night!! The views were magnificent. We were in Room 11 and talk about a 360 degree - visual of Fistral Bay, the Golf Course and the spires of the town all from our room. The walk to the town is about 10 minutes with small shops and cafes on the way down the road. There is a large Sainsburys where you can get your fav wine from! No problem getting a filled ice bucket from the bar.

All in all would recommend the hotel to you and the town itself is lovely (this my first visit to Newquay and Cornwall) - although like other British seaside resorts it's a little bit tired they have not given up. Lovely welcome where every you go and cornish pasties galore! We wil be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel (for the view) on the second floor not above the function room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhelper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

There is a beautiful view- I'm afraid it ends there. Poor service. Very unwelcome feeling overall from the staff. I watched the bartender tamper with a drink he was serving in an effort to disrupt the customers' mood. I saw the same bartender behave in an aggressive and abusive manner towards a customer.
Literally the most unprofessional hotel I have encountered. Due to my work I stay every week-end in a different hotel and in cities all across the world, so I rate this the worst out of nearly 1000 hotels in the past few years. Really, just shocked at how negative this hotel experience was. I have not written a review before, but then i have never had such motivation.
There are many other hotels in the area with the same view. I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UlrikePoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We chose this Hotel for our Anniversary weekend. Location is lovely a 2 minute walk from Fistral Beach and close to town. The entrance to the hotel looks modern as does the bar/restaurant and the breakfast room, however the room we stayed in was disappointing in comparison (room 12). The room was quite small for a double but adequate for the 2 of us, the bed was a small double I'd say and the mattress could do with replacing as seemed quite uneven and lumpy although all bedding was spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a half bath with shower over, shower was fine but only a child would have managed a bath. There was quite alot of dark damp patches on the ceiling but other than that was very clean. Have to agree with other reviews on the thinness of the walls as on our second night the room next to our was occupied and you could hear every word uttered as if they were in the same room as us. Overall the room was a bit tired and in need of updating and let down the modern feel you got from front of house areas. We know there is continuing work being done after speaking to the owner. The breakfast was superb and all the staff friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again but would request a room that had already been upgraded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been modernised
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been going to the carnmarth hotel for that past 7 years every New Years for 3 day . The staff is very friendly and helpful rooms are very clean and located in an excellent part of newquay overlooking firstal beach and the golf course. The breakfast is the best around and plenty of it. And the bar is very modern and friendly make u feel like part of a family not forgetting pat the security guard who sit and chats to us many a nights when we are sat in the bar. Overall I can not fault this hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Carnmarth hotel in Newquay is in an excellent location near Fistral beach and has one of the nicest restaurants and bar areas in that area. I have stayed here a couple of times as a solo traveler and most recently stayed in a single room. The rooms of the hotel were in upgrade when I first stayed there and I actually stayed in one of the older rooms (pre-upgrade) Whilst it was a little dated it had everything I needed and I can only imagine the new rooms are really nice. The staff are really friendly and look after guests well. Its a surfer friendly hotel with a surf school to the side but it manages to be surf friendly with a bit of class as its a hotle experience you get. The Carnmarth has a great bar area, function room at the back and a good breakfast too - so its one of my favorite places to stay in Newquay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel in early December, hotel had nice feel to it and rooms were clean and comfortable. However, be aware that they do a lot of large functions here and when we arrived were told no food available as kitchens were overrun catering for functions.

Locations is convenient for town and Fistral beach and pleasant enough walk into town for food. Bar was lively with guests for a business Christmas party.

Room Tip: Check if any large functions on during your stay and decide if you can handle the inconvenience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vurrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing