We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for Fistral beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnmarth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnmarth Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent location for Fistral beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Went to Carnmarth hotel for a short getaway with my husband and newborn son and have to say we were very pleased. The hotel is really close to Fistral beach but an easy walk into town, the room was lovely and clean with views of the sea and a real holiday feel, the breakfast was also fantastic. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Only small criticism is there is no food after 9pm and no room service but other than that we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    122
    56
    9
    11
See reviews for
83
180
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Devon Pl9 9wa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just spent a three night break away from it all at the Carnmarth Hotel Newquay Cornwall although our arrival was early (lunchtime)we checked in straight away and went to our room it was spotless and quite obviously newly refurbished. Bed was massive and comfortable, bathroom although a little on the small side was plenty big enough to do what was needed.
We had an evening meal at the hotel on the first night as the sweetener was a bottle of wine if we did this meal was excellent and moderately priced staff were attentive and talkative which does make a nice change nowadays.
Newquay in October is hardly a throbbing metropolis but traveled around the area and thoroughly enjoyed the break and hotel we will return.

Room Tip: Sea views are available as are balconies but MUST check availability upon booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. Just returned from a 2 day break using groupon voucher but upgraded to sea view room with balcony. Well worth the extra, our room had a balcony overlooking the golf course and the sea, with a small table and chairs in the bay window as well as the set on the balcony. The room was very fresh looking and the full wall sea scene was so nice. The staff are relaxed and friendly but also very attentive. Food was good, we only booked bed and breakfast but ended up eating in the restaurant both nights.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Carnmarth in Newquay and had a great time. We have visited this hotel for food and drink many times but this was the first hotel stay. Although our room was rather small everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I would definitely book a larger room with a view next time. Breakfast was superb especially the smoked haddock and the staff were brilliant. We were celebrating a family birthday and there were 12 for breakfast on our last morning. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all breakfasts arrived together, no mean task!. As always the mussels were the best I've eaten. Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: sea view rooms rather than back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwchyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Staff were most accommodating and the bedroom and bathroom were spotless. The highlight of our evening meal, by far, were the delicious mussels we had to start with. A good overnight hotel, well situated.

Room Tip: It may be better to pay for a view and bath if you wish, but we were on a Groupon voucher which obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is a must if you are looking for good food with excellent views in the Newquay area.
We had a two night stay and we were not disappointed, for the evening meal we had mussels and Fish pie with a very nice bottle of wine included, the mussels were cooked to perfection.
The room we had came with a balcony and looked out over the golf course and sea (very nice).
The staff are most helpful with any request you may mention and will do their best to make your say a good one.
Will stay again when we return to Newquay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 11, Great views great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NORMANOLIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed in a few hotels in Newquay, but our experience at the Carnmarth was fabulous.

The food, staff, and location all fantastic.

We were made to feel very special and welcomed.

Couldn't ask for more :-)

Room Tip: We didn't see anything for children but weren't looking - no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnmarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnmarth Hotel

Property: Carnmarth Hotel
Address: 22 Headland Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carnmarth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnmarth Hotel is a family owned and run establishment. It commands a magnificent position with South facing, uninterrupted views over Newquay Golf Links and Fistral Bay. The Hotel currently has 31 bedrooms, all ensuite with TV, tea & coffee, radio, hairdryer. Four of our rooms have private balconies, offering that little extra something for your stay. There is a large bar & terrace serving local food & drink. There is also an indoor luxury marquee suite, ideal for Weddings, functions, parties etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carnmarth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnmarth Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing